|
Last revised: July 2008
Plant Biology
Scope: The purpose of this guide is to provide quick access to print and electronic resources covering Plant Biology. Parts of this guide are derived from "Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide" by Diane Schmidt, Elisabeth B. Davis, and Pamela F. Jacobs (2002). Email the subject area specialist at tharrod@umd.edu or call 301-405-7253 for more information.
Please fill out the survey at the bottom of the page.
Click here to learn more about the Plant Biology specialization within the CBMG department.
To find books about cell and developmental biology in our catalog try searching for the following subject terms: Plant Genomes, Plant Viruses, Plant Molecular Biology, Plant Biotechnology, Crops - - Genetics, etc.
- Arabidopsis: An Atlas of Morphology and Development - Bowman, J. (ed.)
New York : Springer-Verlag, c1994. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Folio Call Number: QK495.C9 A69 1994
- Stearn, W.T. Botanical Latin: History, Grammar, Syntax, Terminology, & Vocabulary
Newton Abbot, Devon : David & Charles, 1992. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks Call Number: QK10 .S7 1992
- Hickey, M. & King, C. The Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical Terms
Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2000. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks Call Number: QK10 .H53 2000
- Miglani, G.S. Dictionary of Plant Genetics and Molecular Biology
New York : Food Products Press, c1998. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Reference Call Number: QK981 .M54 1998
- A Dictionary of Plant Sciences - Allaby, M. (ed.)
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks Call Number: QK9 .C67 2006
- Watts, D. Elsevier's Dictionary of Plant Names and Their Origins
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier Science B.V., 2000. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks Call Number: QK13 .E565 2000
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
http://www.els.net Online Resource
- Handbook of Plant Science - Roberts, K. (ed.)
Chichester, West Sussex, England ; Hoboken, NJ : John Wiley, c2007. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks Call Number: QK45.2 .H36 2007
- Ulloa, M., Hanlin, R.T., et al Illustrated Dictionary of Mycology
St. Paul, Minn. : APS Press, c2000. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Folio Call Number: QK600.35 .U4313 2000
- Everett, T.H. New York Botanical Garden Illustrated Encyclopedia of Horticulture
New York : Garland Pub., c1980-c1982. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks Call Number: SB317.58 .E94
(These are ranked by impact factor, also please note that our coverage of these journals is not always to the present)
- Annual Review of Plant Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002673253 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK711 .A512
- Annual Review of Phytopathology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000461433 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: SB599 .A68
- Plant Cell
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001655670 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK725 .P5518
- Trends in Plant Science
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002278174 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK1 .T74
- Plant Journal
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001911444 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK728 .P525
- Plant Physiology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000492764 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK1 .P65
- New Phytologist
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000511559 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK1 .N45
- Plant, Cell, and Environment
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000778585 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK710 .P55
- Critical Reviews in Plant Sciences (Available Online Only: Most Recent Year Not Available)
- Journal of Ecology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000510711 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH540 .J6
- Molecular Plant Microbe Interactions (Available to Date in Print Only)
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001535143 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: SB732.6 .M654
- Journal of Experimental Botany
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000514775 Print Location: UMCP
McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK1 .J6
- Plant Molecular Biology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001062148 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH433 .P5
- Plant and Cell Physiology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000511973 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK710 .P54
- Plant Biotechnology Journal (Available Online Only: Most Recent Year Not Available)
- Molecular Plant Pathology (Available Online Only)
- BMC Plant Biology (Available Online Only)
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=003332812
- Theoretical and Applied Genetics
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000831187 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: SB123 .T3
- Planta
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000723359 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK1 .P73
- Advances in Botanical Research (Available in Print Only)
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000457466 Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK1 .A353
This list represents only a portion of the Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics journals available from the University of Maryland, to search for more electronic journals accessible through our library, check the E-Journals list in Research Port - to search for print journals, check our Catalog.
return to top
- Agricola
This database indexes journals, books, and other scholarly works covering a variety of fields within agriculture - it contains over 3.5 millions records.
- Biological and Medical Sciences
Covers a range of biological subjects including: biomedical sciences and biotechnology as well as other areas of biology - this database is comprised of records from 6000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and other scholarly sources.
- BIOSIS Previews
Database covering the biological sciences including interdisciplinary areas such as medicine and biochemistry - made up of 5500 journals, books, conference proceedings, and other scholarly sources.
- CAB Abstracts
Indexes scholarly works covering a broad range of disciplines within agriculture.
- Faculty of 1000
Listing of critical papers in biology as selected by 1600 international scientists, subdivided into various disciplines within biology.
- Papers First
Listing of over 2 million papers that have been presented at conferences from around the world.
- Plant Science Abstracts
Database covering a broad range of scholarly plant biology literature
- PubMed (Medline)
Database indexing articles from over 4500 journals from around the world - covers medical literature in a variety of fields as well as biomedical research.
- Science Direct
Indexing articles from 1800 journals (800 of which have full-text access), this database covers a range of sciences including biology.
- Web of Science
This database indexes articles from over 17000 journals including 5700 from across the sciences - in addition this database makes it possible to track citations (i.e. who has cited whom and who was cited by whom).
These are just some of the databases that the University of Maryland College Park offers in Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics - to see more databases covering these areas of study, click on Biology and/or Cell Biology
return to top
return to top
return to top
|