|
PLANT DISEASES
Scope: This guide was created to help students
find journal articles on particular plant diseases. Therefore, no attempt
has been made to present an exhaustive list of reference materials in the
field. Several handbooks have been included as aids in identifying hosts
and pathogens and their common and scientific names.
For more information, refer to Subject Guides on Agriculture,
Horticulture,
Integrated Pest
Management, and Soil Science. Email
the subject area specialist at daustin (@umd.edu) or call (301)405-9666
for more information.
Table of Contents
Finding books on a topicTo locate books, search the Catalog. Keyword searches will
locate words and terms when they appear in the title, subject headings or
notes of a database record. Examples of terms and phrases you may wish to
use -- along with the phrase, plant diseases -- to retrieve books or
articles are:
agricultural pests
bacterial diseases
biological control
communicable plant diseases
crop diseases
crop losses
dieback
disease resistance
dieased plants
fungal diseases
insect pests
insects as carriers of diseases
microbial diseases |
nematode diseases
pathological botany
plant disease pathogens
plant parasites
plant pathology
plant protection
plant quarantine
plant viruses
phytopathogenic microorganisms
phytopathology
vectors
vegetable pathology
viral plant diseases |
Try a sample Catalog search on plant diseases.
These terms can also be used to locate materials in other database
files, such as BIOSIS
Previews, which is a periodical index that can be searched in
the same manner as the online catalog. Other index databases are available
through ResearchPort. For more assistance with this,
please Ask
Us!
return to
top
Handbooks, Dictionaries and BibliographiesAgrios, George N.
Plant Pathology. Fifth ed. Amsterdam: Elsevier,
2005. Location: McKeldin Folio Call Number: SB731 .A35
2005 In-depth coverage of the general aspects of plant pathology and
specific plant diseases.
Beale, Helen Purdy. Bibliography of Plant Viruses, and Index to
Research. New York: Columbia University Press, 1976. Location:
McKeldin Reference Stacks Call Number: SB736.B46 Journal articles
and other publications arranged by author, with a subject index.
Bradbury, J. F. Guide to Plant Pathogenic Bacteria.
Farnham Royal, England: CAB International, 1986. Location: McKeldin
Reference Stacks Call Number: SB734.B72 1986 Alphabetically lists
names of bacteria pathogenic to plants and describes synonymy,
bacteriological characteristics, symptoms, type strains, host ranges, and
geographical distributions. Host-pathogen index provides access to
information using the host plant name.
Browne, F. G. Pests and Diseases of Forest Plantation Trees: An
Annotated List of the Principal Species Occurring in the British
Commonwealth. Oxford, England: Clarendon Press, 1968.
Location: McKeldin Reference Stacks Call Number:
SB761.B77 Divided into three parts alphabetically arranged by Latin
names: 1) animals as pests, 2) pathogenic viruses, bacteria, fungi, and
higher plants, and 3) list of trees. Includes excellent glossary with
common names of trees, pests and diseases followed by their scientific
names.
Holliday, Paul. A Dictionary of Plant Pathology.
Cambridge, England: Cambridge University Press, 1998. Location:
McKeldin Reference Stacks Call Number: SB728.H65 1998 Includes
bibliographical list of authoritative names of plant pathogens, brief
biographical sketches, and terminology.
Maloy, Otis C. and Timothy D. Murray. Encyclopedia of Plant
Pathology. 2 vols. New York: J. Wiley, 2001. Location:
McKeldin Reference Stacks Call Number: SB728 .E53 2001 Covers the
nature and control of plant disease.
Matthews, R. E. Diagnosis of Plant Virus Diseases.
Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 1993. Location: McKeldin
Stacks Call Number: SB736 .D53 1993 Contains a virus classification
and material on diagnostic techniques.
Nyvall, Robert F. Field Crop Diseases Handbook. Ames,
IA : Iowa State University Press, 1999. Location: McKeldin
Stacks Call Number: SB731.N94 1999 Covers approximately 1,200 crop
diseases for 25 economically important field crops. Arranged by crop name.
References provided at the conclusion of each section.
Streets, Rubert B. The Diagnosis of Plant Diseases: A Field and
Laboratory Manual Emphasizing the Most Practical Methods for Rapid
Identification. Tucson: University of Arizona Press, 1972.
Location: McKeldin Folio Call Number: SB731 .S85 1972 "Diagnosis
of plant ailments is an art." (From the Preface.)
Vidhyasekaran, P. Concise Encyclopedia of Plant
Pathology. New York: Food Products Press, 2004. Location:
McKeldin Reference Stacks Call Number: SB728 .V525 2004 Provides
nomenclature and classification of bacterial, fungal, viral and
phytoplasma pathogens including the systematic positions of crop pathogens
and describes models and systems for analyzing pathogenic outbreaks.
Westcott, Cynthia, revised by R. K. Horst. Westcott's Plant
Disease Handbook. Boston : Kluwer Academic Publishers, c2001.
Location: McKeldin Stacks Call Number: SB731.W47 2001 Dual
approach: by disease and by host plant. Index gives common and Latin names
of host plants, common names of diseases and Latin names of their
pathogens. Selected bibliography may be useful.
Waller, J. M., Lenn'e, J. M. and Waller, S. J. Plant Pathologist’s Pocketbook. 3rd edition. Wallingford, England :
CABI Publishing, c2002. Location: McKeldin Stacks Call Number:
SB601 .P57 2002 A handbook for advanced student and practicing plant
pathologists.
return to
top
Article Indexes (Databases)
Many resources are only available to UM faculty, staff and students or
affiliates. To use these resources from off-campus, please log in using Research Port
AGRICOLA Print version: Bibliography of
Agriculture Location: Government Documents Call Number: SuDoc A
17.18: (1942-1999) Covers every major agricultural subject, including
entomology, environmental pollution, farm management, pesticides, plant
pathology, and water resources.
Biological Sciences An
interdisciplinary database that offers a wide range of research citations
in biology and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Searched
through the "Biological and Medical Sciences" database grouping.
Biology Digest Provides access to
abstracts of articles in the life sciences. Coverage is both U.S. and
international.
BIOSIS Previews Print version: Biological
Abstracts Location: UMCP McKeldin Periodical Stacks Call Number:
Z5321.B51 (1926-present) Comprehensive abstracting and indexing
publication of the world's literature in theoretical and applied biology.
Go to cumulative indexes of each volume. Prior to 1974, look for disease
in the subject index. In volumes after 1974, look also in the generic
index. The number to the right is the abstract number which refers to the
full citation, which is found in an earlier, separately bound section of
the same volume number.
Biotechnology and Bioengineering
Abstracts This database provides bibliographic coverage of
ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new
patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including
agriculture and the environment.
CAB Abstracts Information about
articles from international agriculture journals and related fields from
the Center for Agriculture and Biosciences International (CABI). Coverage
of agricultural subdisciplines includes animal and poultry science, crop
science, agricultural engineering, human and animal nutrition, forestry
and veterinary medicine.
Dictionary Catalog of the National Agricultural
Library Location: UMCP McKeldin Library Folio Call Number:
Z881.U584 (1862-1965) Provides comprehensive retrospective coverage of
agriculture.
Ecology Abstracts Provides access to
the scientific journal literature in ecology and environmental sciences.
Forestry Abstracts Location: McKeldin Periodical
Stacks Call Number: SD1.F656 (1939/40-1998) Contains sizable
sections on mycology, pathology, insects, and other invertebrates.
Nematological Abstracts Location: McKeldin
Periodical Stacks Call Number: SB998.N4H451 (1990-1995) Contains
much material on parasites and predators. Continues Helminthological
Abstracts - Series B: Plant Nematology.
Plant Science Abstracts Indexes plant
science literature, focussing on all plant scientific aspects, especially
on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques
and environmental biology.
Review of Applied Entomology - Series A:
Agricultural Location: McKeldin Periodical Stacks Call
Number: SB599.R38 (1913-1989)
Review of Plant Pathology Location: McKeldin
Reference Stacks Call Number: SB599.R4 (1922-present) Each annual
volume has a cumulated annual index covering the year. Look-up is by
disease, host or pathogen in these annual indexes. (Continues Review
of Applied Mycology 1922-1970).
Periodicals
All journals listed are peer reviewed and research oriented. Because
this topic is often in the news, it may be appropriate to include
news-oriented and popular periodicals in your research.
Advances in Botanical Research. Location: McKeldin Periodical
Stacks Call Number: QK1 .A353 In-depth, up-to-date reviews on topics
in plant sciences including plant pathology, physiology and ecology. Tables of contents available online.
American Journal of Botany. Location: McKeldin
Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK1 .B345 Internationally recognized
journal covering all aspects of botany.
Annual Review of Phytopathology. Location:
McKeldin Periodical Stacks Call Number: SB599 .A68 Analytic reviews
covering significant developments in the field of phytopathology,
including plant disease diagnosis, pathogens, breeding for resistance and
plant disease management.
Annual Review of Plant Biology. Location:
McKeldin Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK711 .A512 Highly-respected
source of scholarly communication on plant biology, including topic
searches for plant diseases, disease and pest resistance, and
phytopathogenic microorganisms.
Annals of Botany. Location: McKeldin Periodical
Stacks Call Number: QK1 .A47 An international plant science journal
with at least one extra issue each year that focuses on a particular theme
in plant biology.
Critical Reviews in Plant Sciences. Covers plant
science, including molecular biology-biochemistry, cell biology, plant
physiology, genetics, classical botany, ecology, and practical
agricultural applications.
Molecular Plant Pathology. Provides articles on
molecular plant pathology including research on diseases caused by fungi,
oomycetes, viruses, nematodes, bacteria, insects, parasitic plants and
other organisms.
New Phytologist. Location: McKeldin Periodical
Stacks Call Number: QK1 .A47 Original research on plant science from
intracellular processes to global environmental change.
Plant and Soil. Location: McKeldin Periodical
Stacks Call Number: SB13 .P55 Research papers on the plant-soil
interface, including articles on symbiotic and pathogenic plant-microbe
interactions.
Plant Cell. Location: McKeldin Periodical
Stacks Call Number: QK725 .P5518 Provides research in plant biology.
Covers plant disease material as it may apply to cellular biology,
molecular biology, genetics, development, and evolution.
Plant Journal. Location: McKeldin Periodical
Stacks Call Number: QK728 .P525 Covers plant diseases as they impact
the fundamental processes in plants, plant molecular genetics, and model
and crop species.
Trends in Plant Science. Location: McKeldin
Periodical Stacks Call Number: QK1 .T74 Intends to allow researchers
to follow trends outside their specialist areas. Topics covered include
pathogen resistance and symbiosis (especially mycorrhizae and rhizobia).
Internet Resources
APSNet
(http://www.apsnet.org/), produced by the American Phytopathological
Society, contains information on current research. APSNet maintains the Illustrated Glossary of Plant Pathology and the Common Names of
Plant Diseases, a listing of official names for use with APS
publications.
The Cornell Plant Pathology Herbarium Photograph Collection
(http://odell.mannlib.cornell.edu/cupp/catalog/) "includes about 60,000
historical scientific photographs of mushrooms, agricultural practices,
plant diseases, and portraits."
On-Line Glossary of Technical Terms in Plant Pathology
(http://ppathw3.cals.cornell.edu/glossary/Glossary.htm) is a compiled set
of definitions from cited sources with audio links for pronunciation.
Pests of Agriculture, Floriculture, and Turf: How to Manage
Pests (http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/crops-agriculture.html), from
the University
of California Integrated Pest Management Program, provides guidelines
arranged by crop and including symptoms descriptions and management
suggestions for each disease.
Plant and Insect
Parasitic Nematodes (http://nematode.unl.edu/) is a resource
containing introductory material on the study of nematodes, the "most
numerous multicellular animals on earth."
Plant Facts:
Disease and Insect Image Collection (http://plantfacts.osu.edu/pest/)
is a searchable database of images featuring plant diseases and insects
from Ohio State University.
Plant Pathology
Internet Guidebook (http://www.bspp.org.uk/ppigb/) "is a subject
oriented internet resource guide for plant pathology, applied entomology,
and all related fields."
Plant Viruses
Online (http://image.fs.uidaho.edu/vide/) offers plant virus
descriptions and lists from the VIDE (Virus Identification Data Exchange)
project.
Plants and Crops: Diseases, Pests, and Weeds (http://www.nal.usda.gov)
is maintained by the National Agricultural Library
(NAL) staff and houses a wealth of information resources on plant diseases.
Also search the NAL
Catalog (AGRICOLA) for more material.
State-level Cooperative Extension offices
(http://www.csrees.usda.gov/qlinks/partners/state_partners.html),
supported through land-grant university agricultural departments, may
offer useful, freely-available documents and publications on plant
diseases. As examples, see University of Florida Extension: Plant Pathology Fact
Sheets, University of Nebraska Cooperative Extension Catalog of
Publications: Plant Diseases, Utah State
University Extension: Plant Disease, and Washington State University Extension Publications: Plant
Diseases.
The Systematic Botany and Mycology Laboratory
(http://www.ars.usda.gov/main/site_main.htm?modecode=12-75-39-00), part of
USDA
Agricultural Research Service, performs "research into the systematics
of fungi and vascular plants essential to solving problems in sustainable
and conventional agriculture."
Texas Plant Disease Handbook
(http://plantpathology.tamu.edu/Texlab/index.htm) offers information
arranged by type of crop and a section covering materials and methods
associated with plant disease management.
USDA Plants Database
(http://plants.usda.gov/) "provides standardized information about the
vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S.
and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists,
distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant
links, references, crop information, and automated tools."
Vegetable MD Online
(http://vegetablemdonline.ppath.cornell.edu/cropindex.htm) provides
disease fact sheets listed by crop.
return to
top
|