navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: July 2008

Project Management

Scope: This guide was created to help students and faculty find information resources in the field of Project Management. The University of Maryland Project Management degree was designed by and for engineers and other technical professionals to learn the skills, knowledge, tools and techniques to be effective managers. This program resides in the distinguished A. James Clark School of Engineering. For further assistance, e-mail the Project Manager Director John Cable at jcable(@)umd.edu.


Finding Books


At UM Libraries

To locate books at the library you'll need use the UM Catalog. You can search the catalog in a number of different ways including author, title, keyword, and subject. To narrow your results, use the catalog's advanced search and limit your search by publication year, location, or by adding additional keywords. Choosing the best search method depends on how much you know about the books you're searching for. When looking for a known book, conduct an author or title search. When looking for books on a particular topic, search by keyword or subject. A word/s anywhere search will locate terms and phrases that appear in the title, subject headings, or notes of a catalog record.

At Other Libraries

Occasionally, you may find it necessary to search for resources beyond those held by our libraries. The best tool for locating books and journals beyond holdings of the University of Maryland and its consortium libraries is WorldCat. WorldCat contains records for materials found in research libraries worldwide.

However, in order to obtain materials found outside the university system you will need to request an interlibrary loan. Materials requested through interlibrary loan take approximately two weeks to arrive.

return to top


Reference Works

Codes & Standards

American National Standards Institute, -2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA 368.A4

American Society for Testing and Materials. Annual Book of ASTM Standards.
Philadelphia: ASTM, 2008.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA401.A653

ASTM Fire Standards.
West Conshohocken, PA: ASTM International, 2004.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TH9446.3.A84 2004

Building Officials and Code Administrators International. BOCA National Building Code.
Country Club Hills, Ill.: Building Officials & Code Administrators International, 1999.
LOCATION: Architecture Reference
CALL NUMBER: KF5701.A73 B83

International Code Council. International Building Code.
Falls Church, Va.: International Code Council, 2006.
LOCATION: Architecture Reference
CALL NUMBER: K3538.A15I5

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Harris, Cyril M. Dictionary of Architecture & Construction.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2006.
LOCATION: Architecture Reference
CALL NUMBER: NA31.H32 2006

Webster, Len. Dictionary of Environmental & Civil Engineering.
New York: Parthenon, 2000.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA9.W43 2000

Burden, Ernest. Illustrated Dictionary of Building Design + Construction.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TH9.B87 2005

Handbooks & Manuals

Parmley, Robert O. Civil Engineer’s Illustrated Sourcebook.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA151.P33 2003

Ricketts, Jonathan T. Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers.
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2004.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA151.S8 2004

Grainger : general catalog.
Chicago, Ill. : Grainger.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TJ1175 .G73

Directories

Wilson, Alex. GreenSpec Directory: Product Directory with Guideline Specifications.
Brattleboro, VT: BuildingGreen, 2003.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: TA403.6.G744 2003

ThomasRegister of American Manufacturers.
New York: Thomas Pub. Co., 2005.
LOCATION: EPSL Reference
CALL NUMBER: T12.T6
ELECTRONIC: http://www.thomasnet.com/

return to top


Databases

Engineering Databases

ASCE Database (American Society of Civil Engineers)
Abstracts of ASCE journal articles, conference papers, books, and standards. (Coverage: 1970-present)

Compendex
Large, interdisciplinary engineering database containing abstracts and full text from journals, conference proceedings, and trade publications. (Coverage: 1969-present)

Inspec Archive
Inspec backfile for pre-1969 scientific literature. (Coverage: 1868-1968)

NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
http://www.ntis.gov/products/ntisdb.aspx
Abstracts of government-sponsored research and reports from federal agencies. (Coverage: 1964-present)

Safety Science and Risk Abstracts
Abstracts of literature on public health, safety, industrial hygiene, environmental and occupational risks and hazards.

Science Citation Index
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. (Coverage: 1945-present)

Web of Science
Covers 50 disciplines including anthropology, economics, history, library & info science, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychology, public health, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies.

Business Databases

Business & Company Resource Center
Provides Indexing and full-text information from major business directories, handbooks, encyclopedias and trade publications. Offers both public and private company histories, chronologies, investment reports, brief industry overviews and periodical articles.

Business & Industry
Covers business, finance, strategy, planning, marketing, and international business topics.

Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is an upgraded version of Business Source Premier and replaces ABI/Inform. It is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content.

Business & Mgmt Practices
Covers management, planning, production, finance, marketing, information technology, human resources, and business planning topics.

Factiva
Covers business news articles in a wide range of topic areas: companies, industries, markets, products, brands, and general financial articles.

Mergent Online
Provides company information on U.S. and International public companies. The information includes: business description, executives and directory, current pricing data, company history, joint ventures, subsidiaries with geographic breakdown, properties, long term debt, capital stock, recent financial news, SEC filings, earnings estimates, and financials.

VBIC: Virtual Business Information Center
Include links to Internet resources with substantial free offerings and fee-based commercial services that are available to University of Maryland faculty, students and staff through the University of Maryland libraries as well as pointers to print sources available in the University of Maryland libraries.

Multidisciplinary Databases
Academic Search Premier
Large multidisciplinary database providing abstracts and full-texts to journals in a wide variety of subject areas. (Coverage: 1965-present)

Digital Dissertations
Abstracts and full-text of dissertations and theses from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. (Coverage: 1861-present; Full-text from 1997)

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included.

return to top


Periodicals

To locate journals in your field of interest conduct a Journal Search in the UM catalog or browse the E-Journal collections in Research Port. The following is a select list of journals useful for project management.

Business Periodicals

Harvard business review. 1922-
HOLDINGS: v.38- (1960- )
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HF5001 .H3
E-journal available via Research Port.

Cost Engineering. 1985-
HOLDINGS: v.27- (1985- )
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA183 .C67
E-journal available via Research Port.

Project Management Journal. 1984-
HOLDINGS: v.15- (1984- )
LOCATION: UMCP EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HD69.P75 P761

Project Manager Today
WEBSITE

The PM net work. 1987-
HOLDINGS: latest two years only
LOCATION: UMCP EPSL Current Periodicals
CALL NUMBER: no call number
E-journal available via Research Port.

Project Management Quarterly. 1980-1983
HOLDINGS: v.11-14 (1980-1983)
LOCATION: UMCP EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HD69.P75 P76

Forbes. 1918-
HOLDINGS: v.37-38,v.41-118 (1936-1976)
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HF5001 .F6
E-journal available via Research Port.

Fortune. 1930-
HOLDINGS: Holdings: v.1- (1930- ) LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HF5001 .F7
E-journal available via Research Port.

Business Week. 1929-
HOLDINGS: 1930-1976
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HF5001 .B89
E-journal available via Research Port.

Engineering Periodicals

Building design & construction. 1970-
HOLDINGS: Holdings: v.11-13,v.15- (1970-1972,1974- )
LOCATION: Architecture Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TH1 .M27
E-journal available via Research Port.

Building research and information. 1991-
HOLDINGS: v.19-22, v.25- (1991-1994, 1997- )
LOCATION: Off-Site Shelving
CALL NUMBER: TH1.B81
E-journal available via Research Port.

Building official and code administrator. 1970-
HOLDINGS: v.23-32 (1989-1998)
LOCATION: Architecture Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TH439.B63

Civil engineering. 1982-
HOLDINGS: v.53- (1983- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA1.C452
E-journal available via Research Port.

Civil engineering and environmental systems. 1998-
HOLDINGS: v.19.4- (2002- )
E-journal available via Research Port.

Industrial Management & Data Systems. 1980-
HOLDINGS: 1980-1994
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HD28 .I441
E-journal available via Research Port.

Journal of computing in civil engineering. 1987-
HOLDINGS: v.1- (1987- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA345.J62
E-journal available via Research Port.

Journal of construction engineering and management. 1983-
HOLDINGS: v.109-121,v.123- (1983-1995,1997- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TH1.A5
E-journal available via Research Port.

Journal of construction research. 2000-
HOLDINGS: v.3 - (2002-)
E-journal available via Research Port.

Journal of management in engineering. 1985-
HOLDINGS: v.1- (1985- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA190.J61

Journal of urban planning and development. 1983-
HOLDINGS: v.109-(1983-)
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: NA9000.A5751
E-journal available via Research Port.

Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers. 1992-
HOLDINGS: v.92- (1992- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA1.I56

Transactions of the American Society of Civil Engineers.
HOLDINGS: v.13,v.15-20,v.22- (1884,1886- )
LOCATION: EPSL Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: TA1.A5

return to top


Professional Organizations

American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
http://www.transportation.org/

American Public Works Association (APWA)
http://www.apwa.net/

American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
http://www.asce.org/

Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE)
http://www.ite.org/

Project Management Institute (PMI)
http://www.pmi.org/

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
http://www.usace.army.mil/

return to top


Internet Resources

Civil Engineering

BUBL: Civil Engineering
http://bubl.ac.uk/link/c/civilengineering.htm
Catalog of Internet resources in civil engineering.

Intute: Science, Engineering & Technology
http://www.intute.ac.uk/sciences/cgi-bin/browse.pl?id=25646
Gateway to online resources in engineering, mathematics and computing. Click on "Civil Engineering" and then search by keyword or browse by subtopic.

iCivilEngineer
http://www.icivilengineer.com/
Directory of civil engineering resources on the web. Also includes industry news and job postings.

Galaxy: Civil and Construction Engineering
http://www.galaxy.com/directory/29558/
Directory of websites related to civil engineering and construction.

Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory
http://www.tenlinks.com/engineering/civil/
Directory of civil engineering resources on the web including reference sources, calculators, image databases, and online publications.

return to top


Departmental Pages

A. James Clark School of Engineering
http://www.eng.umd.edu/

Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE)
http://www.cee.umd.edu/

Project Management Education at the University of Maryland (CEE)
http://www.pm.umd.edu/

Robert H. Smith School of Business
http://www.rhsmith.umd.edu/

return to top

 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800

Authors: Sarah Fay Philips and Robert Kackley, Contributor: Joe Deodato

Last modified: July 24, 2008

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy

University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search