Last revised: August 20, 2009
Psychology:
Brain, Mind, & Behavior
Scope: This is one of five guides to print and electronic reference sources in the field of psychology. These guides are as
follows:
- Psychology: General Psychology Resources
(Includes general works including dictionaries and encyclopedias, biography and history resources, career guides, and style manuals/writing guides. Also provides links to electronic indexes to journals and to Internet sites in psychology.)
- Psychology: Brain, Mind, & Behavior
(Includes basic processes, comparative psychology and ethology, developmental psychology, neuropsychology and psychophysiology.)
- Psychology: Mental Health
(Includes clinical psychology and counseling.)
- Psychology: Social, Group, and Cultural Processes
(Includes social psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, and those fields of psychology-–e.g. cross-cultural psychology, international psychology multicultural psychology—that deal with cultural influences.)
- Tests and Measurements
(This guide provides access to specific psychological/educational tests and measurements. It also lists books that deal generally with the field of psychometrics.)
Basic Processes
Basic Processes--Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Byrne, John H. Learning and memory. New York, NY: MacMillan Reference USA/Thompson/Galel, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF318.E53 2003
189 essays that cover all aspects of learning and memory. Includes bibliographies.
- Fink, George, ed. Encyclopedia of stress. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP82.2.S8 E53 2000
Comprehensive three-volume encyclopedia comprised of approximately 400 articles that deal with stress. These essays deal with stress from the perspective of more a dozen specific subject areas, including animal studies, drugs, human cognition and emotion, human psychopathology, immunology and inflammation, laboratory studies and tests, physiological aspects, and psychological therapy.
- Houde, Olivier, ed. Dictionary of cognitive science: neuroscience, psychology, artificial intelligence, linguistics, and philosophy. New York, NY: Psychology Press, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF311 .V56713 2004
Dictionary that encompasses the interdisciplinary nature of contemporary cognitive science. Compiled by experts in each of the five disciplines indicated in the title.
- Ramachandran, V.S., ed. Encyclopedia of human behavior. San Diego, CA: Academic
Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.E51994
A series of 250 signed articles which focus on physiological, abnormal, and clinical psychology and on
cognition.
- Runco, Mark A., and Steven R. Pritzker, eds. The encyclopedia of creativity. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF408.E53 1999 v. 1 & 2
Directed at all levels of readers, this reference tool is the first of its kind that deals specifically with creativity.
- Stuart-Hamilton, Ian. Dictionary of cognitive psychology. London, UK: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, Ltd., 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:BF201.S78 1995
A dictionary of more than 2500 comprehensible definitions of key terms in cognition.
- Thorpy, Michael J., and Jan Yager. Encyclopedia of sleep and sleep disorders. New York, NY: Facts on File, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC547.Y34 2001
Comprised of articles that discuss theories and concepts associated with sleep and sleep research.
- Wilson, Robert A., and Frank C. Keil, eds. The MIT encyclopedia of the cognitive sciences. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF311.M556 1999
471 articles in the following cognitive sciences: philosophy, psychology, neurosciences, computational intelligence, linguistics and language, and culture, cognition, and evolution. Most articles have bibliographies .
Basic Processes--Handbooks
- Atkinson, Richard C., et al. Steven's handbook of experimental
psychology. New York, NY: John Wiley, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF181.H336 2002 v. 1-4
Directed to professionals and graduate students, this well-written handbook covers all aspects of human perception, memory, learning, and cognition. The fourth of the four-volume set focuses on experimental psychology methodology.
- Dalgleish, Tim, and Mick J. Power. Handbook of cognition and
emotion. New York, NY: John Wiley, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF531.H314 1999
Handbook comprised of essays which look at cognition, emotion, and
their interaction.
- Durso, Francis T., et al., eds. Handbook of applied cognition.
New York, NY: John Wiley & Sons, 1999
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF201.H36 1999
This handbook looks at applied research in cognition. This work begins
with chapters that provide overviews to such topics as knowledge,
memory, judgement and decision making, human error, and social cognition.
The book concludes with chapters that deal with specific applied milieus:
business and industry, computers and technology, information and instruction,
and health and law.
- Handbook of perception and cognition. San Diego : Academic
Press, 1994-2000
LOCATION: Most located in McKeldin Library Stacks.
CALL NUMBER: Each volume is cataloged separately and thus assigned
an individual call number. To see a list of the entire series, do
a series browse search in the Libraries'
Catalog, under the series title, Handbook of Perception
and Cognition.
An on-going (20 individual volumes thus far) monographic series on
these respective topics: Animal Learning and Cognition; Cognitive
Ecology; Cognitive Science; Hearing; Human Performance and Ergonomics;
Measurement, Judgment, and Decision Making; Memory; Neuropsychology;
Speech, Language, and Communication; Pain and Touch; Perception and
Cognition at Century's End; Perception of Space and Motion; Perceptual
and Cognitive Development; Seeing; Tasting and Smelling; Thinking
and Problem Solving.
- Lewis, Michael, and Jeannette M. Haviland-Jones, eds. Handbook
of emotions. New York, NY: Guilford Press, 2000
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks and McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF561.H35 2000
This handbook is a multi-disciplinary work comprised of essays and
bibliographies that discuss emotions from a range of perspectives:
interdisciplinary aspects, biological and neurophysiological approaches,
social perspectives, etc. Also several chapters discuss specific emotions
and categories of emotions. Also has chapter on recent research.
- Sternberg, Robert J. Handbook of intelligence. New York,
NY: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks and Hornbake Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF431.H31865 2000
This work provides an introduction and extensive review of issues
that pertain to all aspects of human intelligence.
- Tulving, Endel, and Fergus I.M. Craik, eds. The Oxford handbook
of memory. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF371.O84 2000
Handbook of research and theory of memory.
Comparative Psychology and Ethology
- Animal behavior abstracts. Bethesda, MD: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 1982-current.
Unique, easy to use, index to ethology, with coverage of such subjects as biochemical and neurological aspects of behavior, learning and memory, reproductive behavior, migration and evolution, and behavioral ecology.
- Barrows, Edward M. Animal behavior desk reference. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QL750.3.B37 2001
Dictionary that covers fields of animal behavior, evolution, ecology, and related branches of biology.
- Bekoff, Marc, ed. Encyclopedia of animal behavior. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press., 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QL750.3.E53 2004
This comprehensive encyclopedia is the key reference work in the field of animal behavior. Attractive, well-illustrated, with useful bibliographies and appendices.
- Greenberg, Gary, and Maury M. Haraway, eds. Comparative psychology. New York, NY: Garland Pub., 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF671.C615 1998
Handbook which covers both history and current developments in animal behavior studies.
- Lehner, Philip N. Handbook of ethological methods. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QL751.L398 1996
Good, clear overview of ethology with detailed descriptions of methods used to study animal behavior.
Developmental Psychology
- Bengtson, Vern L., and K. Warner Schaie, eds. Handbook of theories of aging. New York, NY: Springer Pub. Co., 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1061.H3366 1999
This multi-disciplinary work examines current theories of aging.
- Damon, William, ed. Handbook of child psychology. NY: J. Wiley, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF721.H242 1998
Prepared by leaders in the field, this four-volume set is considered the most important handbook in child psychology.
- Hopkins, Brian, ed., and Ronald G. Barr, George F. Michel, Philippe Rochat, associate eds. The Cambridge encyclopedia of child development. Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ767.9.C32 2005
Child development encyclopedia comprised of succinct yet detailed entires presented by experts in the field. The work has a biological/neurological emphasis.
- Fisher, Celia. B., and Richard M. Learner. Encylopedia of applied developmental science. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c2005
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ767.84.E52 2005
Authoritative encyclopedia in the relatively new interdisciplinary field of applied developmental science, that combines numerous disciplines (psychology, sociology, human development, social work medicine, criminology, economics, etc.) with the goal of enhancing the development of individuals, families and communities.
- Ollendick, Thomas H., and Carolyn S. Schroeder, eds. Encyclopedia of clinical child and pediatric psychology. New York, NY: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RJ503.3 .E53 2003
One-volume encyclopedia that covers a "broad array of problems and issues related to children, adolescents, and their families as defined by the fields of clinical child and pediatric psychology."
- Osofsky, Joy Doniger, ed. Handbook of infant development. New York, NY: John Wiley, 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF719.H36 1987
Twenty-seven chapters that cover research in all aspects of human development during the first two years of life.
- Salkind, Neil J., ed. Encyclopedia of human development. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HM626.E53 2006
This encyclopedia examines human development over the lifespan. With the multidisciplinary nature of human development, this reference links the fields of developmental psychology, sociology, and medicine. Each of the approximately six hundred entries conclude with reading lists, many of which include both scholarly publications and Internet citations.
- Shweder, Richard A., ed. The child : an encyclopedic companion. Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 2009.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ767.84 .C55 2009
One-volume encyclopedia comprised of more than 500 essays that present accessible but comprehensive information derived from contemporary research in all aspects of child studies.
- Stuart-Hamilton, Ian. Dictionary of developmental psychology. London: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF712.7.S78 1985
Alphabetically arranged, easily-read definitions of psychological terms--particularly terms frequently used in textbooks. Avoids use of technical terms.
Neuropsychology and Psychophysiology
This guide deals primarily with those neuroscience reference books that have an obvious psychology or behavioral emphasis (note: an exception is the inclusion of several books that deal with neuroanatomy and the human brain). In many instances, researchers may wish to consult materials that are more directly and broadly focused on the neurosciences. One may wish to refer to the "Neuroscience & Cognitive Science" guide.
- Ayd, Frank, J. Lexicon of psychiatry, neurology, and the neurosciences. Baltimore, MD: Williams & Williams, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC334.A96 1995
This reference tool provides definitions of words used in the fields of psychiatry and neurosciences, includes descriptions of psychiatric/neurological disorders, and gives comprehensive yet concise information on psychoactive drugs. It also contains references to articles and books for more information
- Beaumont, J. Graham, Pamela M. Kenealy, and Marcus J.C. Rogers, eds. The Blackwell dictionary of neuropsychology. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP360.B577 1996
A comprehensive dictionary/encyclopedia of contemporary neuropsychological knowledge and practice. Terms defined by relatively lengthy essays written by experts in the field, and in most cases, concluded with bibliographies.
- Cacioppo, John T., Louis G. Tassinary, Gary G. Bernston, eds. Handbook of psychophysiology. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP360.P7515 2000
Looking at physiological systems (e.g. gastrointestinal, sexual, electrodermal, skeletalmuscular, etc.), this comprehensive handbook examines biological basis of psychological processes (e.g. motor preparation, cognition, autonomic nervous processes, language development, emotion, motivation, etc.). Also has chapters which discuss applications of psychophysiology research. Useful for students, researchers and professionals.
- Denes, Gianfranco and Luigi Pizzamiglio, eds. Handbook of clinical and experimental neuropsychology. Hove, East Sussex, UK: Psychology Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC386.2.H365 1999
Comprehensive handbook comprised of 38 chapters, each with extensive bibliographies, and each of which provides in-depth overviews of specific experimental and applied neuropsychology topics.
- Greenfield, Susan A. The human mind explained. New York, NY: Henry Holt, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF431.H748 1996
An absorbing overview of neuroscience, comprised of vivid illustrations and straightforward text, this book is designed to appeal to all levels of readers.
- Hendelman, Walter J. Atlas of funcional neuroanatomy. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 200o.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and McKeldin Library Reference Media Cabinet
CALL NUMBER: QM451 .H388 2000
Book and CD-Rom that offer photos and illustrations of the human brain and nervious system.
- Horton, Arthur MacNeill, Jr., Danny Wedding, and Jeffrey Webster, eds. The neuropsychology handbook. New York, NY: Springer, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC386.6.N48N49 v. 1-2
A basic reference for neuropsychologists and graduate students, this handbook presents essays on the foundations of neuropsychology and information on neuropsychological assessment instruments.
- Houde, Olivier, ed. Dictionary of cognitive science: neuroscience, psychology, artificial intelligence, linguistics, and philosophy. New York, NY: Psychology Press, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF311 .V56713 2004
Dictionary that encompasses the interdisciplinary nature of contemporary cognitive science. Compiled by experts in each of the five disciplines indicated in the title.
- Loring, David W., ed. INS dictionary of neuropsychology. New York : Oxford University Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP360.I55 1999
Sponsored by the International Neuropsychological Society (INS), this dictionary (from the cover:) "provides concise definitions of neurobehavioral abnormalities, diseases affecting the nervous system, clinical syndromes, neuropsychological tests, rehabilitation methods, medical procedures, basic neuroscience, and other important terms."
- Nolte, John, and Jay B. Angevine, Jr. The human brain in photographs and diagrams. ASt. Louis, MO: Mosby, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QM455 .N65 2000
Heavily illustrated textbook that covers the anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and brainstem.
- Ramachandran, V.S., ed. Encyclopedia of the human brain. Ansterdam, Netherlands; Boston, MA: Academic Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP376.E586 2002, vol. 1-4
Four-volume encyclopedia that covers all aspects of the human brain and the nervous system.
- Spreen, Otfried. A compendium of neuropsychological tests: administration, norms, and commentary. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1998
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC386.6.N48S67 1998
Source of thorough information on a broad range of neuropsychological tests.
- Stemmer, Brigitte, and Harry A. Whitaker, eds. Handbook of neurolinguistics.
San Diego: Academic Press, 1998
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP399.H36 1998
This handbook describes current research and theory of many of the
subfields of neurolinguistics.
- Sutherland, N.S. The international dictionary of psychology. New York, NY:
Crossroad, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.S83
1996
This tool focuses on terms in psychology, while excluding terms more commonly used in other fields.
Strongest subject area is neuropsycholphysiology and psychopharmacology. Has no biographical
entries.
- Turkington, Carol, and Joseph R. Harris. Encyclopedia of the brain and brain disorders. New York, NY: Facts on File, 2009.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP376 .T87 2009
Encyclopedia of more than 1000 accessible (suited to the general public and undergraduate students) concise entries comprised of key terms pertaining to normal brain anatomy and function and to brain disorders and treatments.
- Winn, Phillip, ed. Dictionary of biological psychology. London, UK; New York, NY: Routledge, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP360.D52 2001
Comprised of technical terms and definitions in biological psychology, this dictionary is designed for both students and researchers.
return to top
|