Last revised: August 19, 2009
Psychology:
Mental Health
Scope: This is one of five guides to print and electronic reference sources in the field of psychology. These guides are as
follows:
- Psychology: General Psychology Resources
(Includes general works including dictionaries and encyclopedias, biography and history resources, career guides, and style manuals/writing guides. Also provides links to electronic indexes to journals and to Internet sites in psychology.)
- Psychology: Brain, Mind, & Behavior
(Includes basic processes, comparative psychology and ethology, developmental psychology, neuropsychology and psychophysiology.)
- Psychology: Mental Health
(Includes clinical psychology and counseling.)
- Psychology: Social, Group, and Cultural Processes
(Includes social psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, and those fields of psychology—e.g. cross-cultural psychology, international psychology, multicultural psychology—that deal with cultural influences.)
- Tests and Measurements
(This guide provides access to specific psychological/educational tests and measurements. It also lists books that deal generally with the field of pychometrics.)
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Biggs, Donald A., and Gerald Porter. Dictionary of counseling. Albany, NY: SUNY,
1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF431.C6B444 1994
This is a dictionary of terms that apply to counseling in the U.S. in this century.
- Campbell, Robert Jean. Campbell's psychiatric dictionary. New York, NY: Oxford
University Press, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC437.H5 2004
Comprehensive dictionary which attempts to keep abreast of the expansion and changes in the
terminology used in the social sciences.
- Doctor, Ronald M., and Ada P. Kahn. The encyclopedia of phobias, fears, and anxieties.
New York, NY: Facts on File, c2008.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC535.D63 2008
Encyclopedia which gives clinical names, causes, and treatments of phobias.
- Erwin, Edward, ed. The Freud encyclopedia: theory, therapy, and culture. New York : Routledge, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF173 .F6176 2002
A one-volume encyclopedia that presents a wide-range of information about Freud, his theories, his advocates, and critics.
- Fink, George, ed. Encyclopedia of stress. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP82.2.S8 E53 2000
Comprehensive three-volume encyclopedia comprised of approximately 400 articles that deal with stress. These essays deal with stress from the perspective of more a dozen specific subject areas, including animal studies, drugs, human cognition and emotion, human psychopathology, immunology and inflammation, laboratory studies and tests, physiological aspects, and psychological therapy.
- Fisher, Celia. B., and Richard M. Learner. Encylopedia of applied developmental science. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c2005
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ767.84.E52 2005
Authoritative encyclopedia in the relatively new interdisciplinary field of applied developmental science, that combines numerous disciplines (psychology, sociology, human development, social work medicine, criminology, economics, etc.) with the goal of enhancing the development of individuals, families and communities.
- Freeman, Arthur. Encyclopedia of cognitive behavior therapy.
New York : Springer, c2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC489.C63 E537 2004
Also available online through NetLibrary eBooks at http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=118363 .
Encyclopedia that gives a thorough overview of all aspects of cognitive therapy.
- Gladding, Samuel T. The counseling dictionary: conscise definitions of frequently used
terms. Upper Saddle, NJ: Merrill Prentice Hall, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF637.C6G5332 2000
This dictionary is one of only few dictionaries that focuses on
counseling, and it also meets the need of providing "concise" definitions rather that essays.
- Hersen, Michel, editor-in-chief. Encyclopedia of behavior modification and cognitive behavior therapy. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2005.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC489.B4 E485 2005
This encyclopedia describes models, strategies and techniques of behavior modification and cognitive behavior therapies. Comprised of three volumes that cover "Adult Clinical Applications," "Child Clinical Applications," and "Educational Applications" respectively.
- Kahn, Ada P. The encyclopedia of mental health. New York, NY: Facts on File,
2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC437.K34 2001
Easy-to-use encyclopedia for both general readers and mental health professionals. Has more than
1,000 succinct entries.
- Kahn, Ada P. The encyclopedia of stress and stress-related diseases. New York, NY: Facts on File, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QP82.2.S8K34 2006
Encyclopedia with more than 800 succinct entries that detail cultural, social, and technological causes of stress, human reactions to these stresses, and ways to deal with them.
- Kellerman, Henry. The dictionary of psychopathology. New York : Columbia University Press, c2009.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC437 .D53 2009
Dictionary of more than two thousand entries that deal exclusively with psychopathology. Follows DSM nomenclature.
- Leong, Frederick T.L., editor-in-chief. Encyclopedia of counseling: changes and challenges for counseling in the 21st century. Los Angeles, CA: SAGE Publications, c2008.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF636.54.E53 2008
An extensive (600 entries) resource of up-to-date information in the field of counseling psychology.
- Levinson, David, James J. Ponzetti, Jr., and Peter F. Jorgensen, eds. Encyclopedia of human emotions. New York, NY: Macmillan, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF531.E55 1999 v. 1 & 2
Comprehensive information about nature, causes, expression, and role of human emotions in society. A multi-disciplinary work comprised of 146 scholarly essays.
- McGuigan.F.J. Encyclopedia of stress. Boston, MA: Allyn & Bacon, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF575.S75 M235 1999
Short encyclopedic entries that describe different types, causes, and effects of stress.
- Miermont, Jacques. Edited, expanded, and revised by Hugh Jenkins; translated by Chris
Turner. A dictionary of family therapy. Oxford, UK; Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Reference,
1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC488.5.M5313 1995
Fully international in scope, this dictionary is comprised of articles that define the field of family
therapy of related therapies, with many English-language sources cited.
- Moore, Burness E., and Bernard D. Fine, eds. Psychoanalytic terms and concepts.
New Haven, CT.: Yale University Press, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks/CALL NUMBER: RC501.4.P79 1990
Moore, Burness E., and Bernard D. Fine, eds. Psychoanalysis : the major concepts. New
Haven, CT.: Yale University Press, 1995.
- Noll, Richard. The encyclopedia of schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders.
New York, NY: Facts on File, 2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC514.N63 2007
Encyclopedia that deals with historical, biographical, and clinical aspects of psychotic illnesses, though
the primary focus is schizophrenia. For general library users.
- Ramachandran, V.S., ed. Encyclopedia of human behavior. San Diego, CA: Academic
Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.E51994
A series of 250 signed articles which focus on physiological, abnormal, and clinical psychology and on
cognition.
- Roesch, Roberta. The encyclopedia of depression. New York, NY: Facts on File,
2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC537.R63 2001
Encyclopedia of more than 500 entries that provide a wide range of information about depression.
.
- Scott, Jeffery. Key words in multicultural interventions. Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:BF637.C6K493 1999
Dictionary of words used frequently in the field of multicultural counseling and psychotherapy. A typical
entry begins with a definition, followed by information about the origin and usage of the respective term.
- Skelton, Ross M., general editor. The Edinburgh international encyclopaedia of psychoanalysis. Edinburgh : Edinburgh University Press, c2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC501.4 .E35 2006
An encyclopedia that presents objective information on all schools of psychoanalysis.
- Thackery, Ellen, and Madeline Harris, eds. The Gale encyclopedia of mental
disorders. Detroit, MI: Gale Group, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC437.G35 2003, v. 1-2
Directed to the general population, this attractive two-volume encyclopedia is a source of jargon-free,
easy-to-understand information about mental disorders and their treatment.
- Tudor, Keith, Tony Merry, and Windy Dryden. Dictionary of person-centered
psychology. London; Philadelphia: Whurr Publishers, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC481.T83 2002
A dictionary to key concepts in person-centered therapy, this reference also summarizes debates within
this approach, and the relationship between person-centered and other approaches to psychology.
Guides and Handbooks
Note: The University of Maryland Libraries collections contain numerous so-called "handbooks" that
actually are large compilations of essays on a given subject. These types of books are not included in
the following list. Instead, the following guides and handbooks generally provide more concise,
reference information:
- American Psychiatric Association. American Psychiatric Association practice guidelines for the treatment of psychiatric disorders. Compendium 2006. Arlington, VA: The Association, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC480 .A528 2006
Practice guidelines to assist psychiatrists in their clinical decision making.
- American Psychiatric Association. Handbook of psychiatric measures.
Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Reference Media Cabinet (for
accompanying CD-ROM)
CALL NUMBER: RC473.P78 A46 2000
Compendium of rating scales, tests, and measures that assist in the caring for mentally ill patients. Each
tool is described in detail, including the respective reliability, validity, and strength and weakness of
each. Supplemental CD-ROM includes complete copies of the 108 measures discussed in the
handbook.
- American Psychiatric Association. Quick reference to the American Psychiatric Association practice guidelines for the treatment of psychiatric disorders. Compendium 2006. Arlington, VA: The Association, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC480 .A528 2006 Suppl.
Just what the title says: a "quick reference" to the Guidelines.
- Allen, Thomas E., et al. A primer on mental disorders: a guide for educators, families, and
students. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC454.P684 2001
Provides descriptions and treatments for mental disorders, and resources for further information.
Arranged according to the DSM-IV-TR.
- Baldwin, David S., and Jon Birtwistle. An atlas of depression. Boca Raton:
Parthenon Pub. Group, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF537.B337 2002
Heavily illustrated reference for students and professionals, that provides a concise and enlightening
overview of treatment of patients with depression.
- Bauer, Mark S. Field guide to psychiatric assessment and treatment. Philadelphia : Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, c2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: RC469 .B384 2003 Pocket size "quick reference" book designed for clinicians. Comprised of four sections: "Biopsyhosocial Assessment," "Symptom-Driven Interivewing," "Disorders" (which follow DSM-IV criteria), and "Treatment."
.
- Brown, Steven D., and Robert W. Lent. Handbook of counseling psychology. New
York, NY: John Wiley & Sons, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF637.C6H315
2000
A handbook for researchers in the profession of counseling psychology.
- Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders: DSM-IV-TR Washington,
DC: American Psychiatric Association, c2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Reference Desk, McKeldin
Library Ready Reference CALL NUMBER: RC455.2.C4D536 2000
The standard resource for classification of mental disorders.
- Electronic DSM-IV-TR plus. Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association
c2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Desk CALL NUMBER: RC455.2.C4E44
2000
CD-Rom version of DSM-IV-TR (Loaded on computers located behind McKeldin Reference
Desk).
- Gabbard, Glen O., editor-in-chief. Treatments of psychiatric disorders.
Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Press, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:RC480.T69 2001, vol. 1-2
This important, comprehensive, painstakingly compiled handbook was mandated by the American
Psychiatric Association. It is leading reference book on treatment in American psychiatry. Each
section describes all of the optimal treatment modalities for a given psychiatric disorder.
- The ICD-10 classification of mental and behavioural disorders: clinical descriptions and
diagnostic guidelines. Geneva: World Health Organization, 1992.
LOCATION: Government Documents LC Stacks, McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC455.2.C4 I34
The result of 3 decades of development, this is a cross-culturally applicable, reliable manual of
diagnostic criteria for the assessment of mental disorders.
- Kendall, Philip C., James N. Butcher, and Grayson N. Hombeck, eds. Handbook of
research methods in clinical psychology. New York, NY: John Wiley & Sons, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC467.2.H36
Handbook which provides overview of current research methodologies and clinical services.
- Koocher, Gerald P., John C. Norcross, Sam S. Hill III, eds. Psychologists' desk
reference. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC467.2.P78 1998
This guide presents a wide variety of information that is essential and/or useful to all levels of clinicians.
Included is such data as "diagnostic codes, test information , report checklists, practice guidelines,
treatment principles, ethics refreshers, legal regulations," etc.
- Meyer, Robert G. The clinician's handbook: integrated diagnostic, assessment, and
intervention in adult and adolescent psychopathology. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: RC469.M457
1996
Reference for mental health clinicians that attempts to serve as a complete reference in diagnosing
psychopathology. Attempts to attain this comprehensiveness by linking diagnostic categories (per the
DSM-IV) with behavioral observations, psychological test correlates, and treatment options.
- Moore, David P., and James W. Jefferson. Handbook of medical psychiatry. St.
Louis, MO: Mosby, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: RC455.4.B5M64
Self-described as a textbook, this work also effectively serves an encyclopedic function, with 279
chapters that correlate with mental disorders as identified in the DSM-IV. A typical chapter
provides a succinct description of a given disorder, followed by sections describing "Onset," "Clinical
Features," "Course," "Complications," "Etiology," "Differential Diagnosis," and "Treatment," then
followed by a brief bibliography.
- Morrison, M. Robert. The DSM-IV internet companion. New York, NY: W. W.
Norton, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: RC437.2.M67
1998
Guide to web sites related to DSM-IV disorders.
- Nathan, Peter E., and Jack M. Gorman. A guide to treatments that work. New
York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:RC480.5.G85 1998
This guide provides detailed information on treatments currently used for virtually every recognized
mental disorder. Written by experts; contains bibliographies.
- Stewart, William. An A-Z of counseling theory and practice. Cheltenham, UK:
Nelson Thornes, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:RC466.S74 2001
Reference guide and text to theories of counseling.
Indexes to Journal Articles and Abstracts
The most comprehensive sources of citations to articles in clinical psychology and counseling are:
- PsycARTICLES
Searchable database of full-text articles from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
- PsycINFO
PsycINFO indexes more than two million items in nearly two thousand journals, technical report series, and selected dissertations. Covering materials from 1872 to the present, PsycINFO is the single most comprehensive file for coverage of all areas of psychology, including clinical psychology and counseling.
An additional index to articles in this subject field, particularly those that deal with family therapy is:
- Family & society studies worldwide
A compilaton of four databases, including Inventory of Marriage and Family Literature the Australian Family Database, the National Clearinghouse on Family Violence, Health Canada, and the U.S. Military Family Resource Center Documents Database. Abstracts from 2000+ journals, books, conference papers and government reports from 1970 to the present.
A further index to articles in this subject field, particularly those that have a psychiatric focus, is:
- MEDLINE
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information. Created by the National Library of Medicine of Health (NIH).
Other
Resources
- Directory of counseling services. Washington, DC: International Association of
Counseling Services, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF637.C6D5
2002
In addition to being a directory of approved counseling agencies, this tool gives a history, overview,
and objectives of the Association of Counseling Services, and details criteria and standards for
accreditation by the Association.
- Fisher, Joel, and Kevin Corcoran. Measures for clinical practice: a sourcebook.
New York, NY: Free Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF176.C66 1994 v. 1-2
Extensive collection of available quantitative tools for measuring treatment outcomes. This book
describes and actually contains instruments to be used in a clinical setting.
- Simonian, Susan J., and Kenneth J. Tarnowski. Directory of internship and post-doctoral
fellowships in clinical child/pediatric psychology, 1999-2000. Mahwah, N.J., Lawrence Erlbaum,
1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RJ5033.D57 1997
Directory to specific training programs in clinical child psychology and pediatric psychology.
return to top
|