navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources
Last revised: August 26, 2009

Psychology:

Social, Group, and Cultural Processes

Scope: Scope: This is one of five guides to print and electronic reference sources in the field of psychology. These guides are as follows:

  • Psychology: General Psychology Resources
    (Includes general works including dictionaries and encyclopedias, biography and history resources, career guides, and style manuals/writing guides. Also provides links to electronic indexes to journals and to Internet sites in psychology.)
  • Psychology: Brain, Mind, & Behavior
  • (Includes basic processes, comparative psychology and ethology, developmental psychology, neuropsychology and psychophysiology.)
  • Psychology: Mental Health
  • (Includes clinical psychology and counseling.)
  • Psychology: Social, Group, and Cultural Processes
    (Includes social psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, and those fields of psychology –e.g. cross-cultural psychology, international psychology, multicultural psychology—that deal with cultural influences.)
  • Tests and Measurements
    (This guide provides access to specific psychological/educational tests and measurements. It also lists books that deal generally with the field of psychometrics.)

Table of Contents


SOCIAL PSYCHOLOGY

    Social Psychology—Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

    • Baumeister, Roy F., and Kathleen D. Vohs, eds. Encyclopedia of social psychology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2007.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM1007.E53 2007
      Up-to-date encyclopedia that focuses on the terms and concepts that are unique to social psychology.

    • Harre, Rom, and Roger Lamb, eds. Dictionary of personality and social psychology. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1986.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF698.D527 1986b
      Articles which focus on personality, self-psychology, and social psychology. Does not include entries on personality disorders or other such clinical psychology topics.

    • Manstead, Antoy S. R., and Miles Hewstone, eds. The Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1995.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM251.B476 1995
      A significant reference tool for students of social psychology, this encyclopedia contains 350 entries that explain terms and concepts.

    • Turner, Jeffrey S. Encyclopedia of relationships across the lifespan. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM132.T83 1996
      A cross-disciplinary encyclopedia on a wide variety of topics, all examined in the context of how relationships change throughout the course of human development.

    Social Psychology--Guides and Handbooks

    • Gilbert, Daniel T., Susan T. Fiske, and Garder Lindzey, eds. Handbook of social psychology. Boston, MA: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM251.H224 1998 v.1-2
      Considered to be the standard handbook in social psychology, this work is comprehensive and authoritative in its coverage of both theoretical concepts and applied areas. Useful for researchers and students alike.

    • Higgens, Tory, and Arie W. Kruglanski. Social psychology; handbook of basic principles. New York, NY: Guilford Press, 1996.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM251.S6743 1996
      Provides comprehensive examinations of major social psychology concepts, and reviews of research that support or challenge each concept.
    • Pervin, Lawrence A, ed. Handbook of personality: theory and research. New York, NY: Guilford Press, 1999.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF698.H335 1999
      This guide is a fundamental reference resource on this subject, providing an overview of both historical and current developments in personality theory and research.

    Social Psychology--Internet Resources

    • Social Psychology Network. [WWW site]. Middletown, CN: Psychology Department, Wesleyan University, 1996-
      LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.socialpsychology.org/.)
      Describes itself as "the largest social psychology database on the Internet it features 3,500 links to psychology-related resources, particularly in the field of social psychology. Maintained by Professor Scott Plous and his students at Wesleyan University.

Industrial and Organizational Psychology

    Industrial and Organizational Psychology—Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

    • Cooper, Cary L., ed.; Chris Argyris, and William H. Starbuck, advisory eds. The Blackwell encyclopedia of managmement. Maiden, MA: Blackwell Pub., 2005.
      LOCATION: UMCP Online Resources - NetLibrary Books
      CALL NUMBER: HD30.15.B455 2005
      Twelve volume encyclopedia comprised of over 6,500 entries written by approxiamately 1500 business scholars. Each entry concludes with a bibliography. Respective topics of the individual volumes are: Accounting, Business Ethics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Human Resource Management, International Management, Management Information Systems, Mangerial Economics, Marketing, Operations Management, Organizational Behavior and Strategic Management.

    • Nicholson, Nigel., ed. The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of organizational behavior. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 1998.
      LOCATION: UMCP Online Resources - NetLibrary Books
      INTERNET LINK: http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=48684
      CALL NUMBER: HD58.7.B57 1995eb
      Provides more than 500 extended definitions/essays written by 180 experts in the fields of business administration, economics, organizational psychology and organization theory.

    • Rogelberg, Steven G., ed. Encyclopedia of industrial and organizational psychology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, c.2007.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HF5548.8.E497 2007
      Comprised of approximately 400 scholarly signed entries averaging three-pages, this two-volume encyclopedia is the likely the most comprehensive reference tool in the fields of industrial and organizational psychology. Also contains useful reading lists and appendices (e.g. listing graduate programs, professional journals, organizations, etc.).

    Industrial and Organizational Psychology—Handbooks

    • Drenth, Pieter J.D., Henk Thierry, and Charles J. De Wolff, eds. Handbook of work and organizational psychology. East Sussex, UK: Psychology Press, c1998.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HF5548.8.H2655 1998 v. 1-4
      Based on the findings of European organizational psychologists, particularly those in Holland, this four-volume set covers a wide variety of topics including selection and hiring, subjective perceptions of work, training and management, socialization to employment, participative management, conflict resolution, and women and work.

    Industrial and Organizational Psychology--Indexes to Journal Articles and Abstracts

      The chief source of citations to articles in industrial and organizational psychology is primarily "PsycINFO" and the other psychology databases indicated in the General Psychology Resources guide.

      Additional indexes to articles in this subject field include the following:

      • Business & Management Practices. More than 600 titles indexed, over 300 in full text, covering a wide range of business topics, including human resources.

      • Business source complete. It is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included.

      • Human resources abstracts. Newbury Park, CA: Sage, 1975-.
        LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
        CALL NUMBER: Z7165.U5P22 v.10-
        A continuation of "Poverty and Human Resources Abstracts" (1966-1974), this is an index to books and more than 200 journals in psychology, sociology, urban and public affairs, law, management, and human services. Relevance to organization/industrial psychology may be found in areas of employee training, work life, unemployment, and workforce performance.

    Cultural Influences

      Cultural Influences—Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

      • Hall, Lena E. Dictionary of of multicultural psychology: issues, terms, and concepts. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, c2005.
        LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
        CALL NUMBER: GN502.H336 2005
        This is a reference book in the field of multicultural psychology, and thus it looks at the effect of cultural/ethnic influences within individuals. This book is a “guick reference” source to concepts and terms in the field of multicultural psychology.


      • Jackson, Yo, ed. Encyclopedia of multicultural psychology. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications, c2006.
        LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
        CALL NUMBER: GN502.E63 2006
        Emphasizing culture rather than race, and covering many different ethnic groups, this encyclopedia looks at the psychological influences of different aspects of ethnicity in the United States. These encyclopedic essays fall into nine categories: conceptual issues, cultural concerns, ethnic groups, indigenous concerns, measurement, professional organizations, psychopathology, sociological issues, and treatment.

      Cultural Influences--Handbooks

      • Stevens, Michael J., and Danny Wedding, eds. The handbook of international psychology. New York, NY: Brunner-Routledge, 2004.
        LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
        CALL NUMBER: BF121.H2115 2004
        Unlike books in multicultural psychology, this reference book deals with international psychology, and thus it looks at the field of psychology across cultures. This handbook is a directory to the status of the profession and study of psychology in different countries around the world. In examining the current development and status of psychology in 27 countries in 9 world regions, this volume attempts to provide a coherent discernment of similarities and differences across cultures.

      return to top


© 2009 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 26, 2009

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland  
Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search