Last revised: August 27, 2009
Psychology:
General Psychology Resources
Scope: This is one of five guides to print and electronic reference sources in the field of psychology. These guides are as
follows:
- Psychology: General Psychology Resources
(Includes general works including dictionaries and encyclopedias, biography and history resources, career guides, and style manuals/writing guides. Also provides links to electronic indexes to journals and to Internet sites in psychology.)
- Psychology: Brain, Mind, & Behavior
(Includes basic processes, comparative psychology and ethology, developmental psychology, neuropsychology and psychophysiology.)
- Psychology: Mental Health
(Includes clinical psychology and counseling.)
- Psychology: Social, Group, and Cultural Processes
(Includes social psychology, industrial/organizational psychology, and those fields of psychology –e.g. cross-cultural psychology, international psychology, multicultural psychology—that deal with cultural influences.)
- Tests and Measurements
(This guide provides access to specific psychological/educational tests and measurements. It also lists books that deal generally with the field of pychometrics.)
This guide, "Psychology--General Psychology Resources," lists materials that deal broadly with the general field of psychology, rather than with specific psychology disciplines.
Table of Contents
- A history of psychology in autobiography. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press,
1930-.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF105.H5
Each volume contains profiles of more than a dozen psychologists, each of whom discusses the
evolution of their work during the span of their careers, influences on their work, and their contributions
to the profession. A key reference to the history of psychology.
- Kimble, Gregory A., Michael Wertheimer, and Charlotte White, eds. Portraits of pioneers in
psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 1991- 2000.
LOCATION:McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF109.A1P67 1991 v.1-4
Lengthy, personal, essays on pioneers and founders of the field of psychology.
- O'Connell, Agnes N., and Nancy Felipe Russo, eds. Women in psychology. New
York, NY: Greenwood, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF109.A1W65
1990
Essays about important women in the field, including discussions of the role of women in the profession.
- Sahakian, William S. The history and systems of psychology. New York, NY:
Schenkman, 1975.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF81.S23
Major psychological theorists and schools of thought throughout history in these seven categories:
antiquity through the Renaissance, British psychology, German psychology, schools of Paris and
Vienna, the American tradition, Soviet psychology, and the Orient and Latin America.
- Sheehy, Noel, and Antony J. Chapman, Wendy A. Conroy, eds. Biographical dictionary of psychology. London; New York: Routledge Reference, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF109.A1B56 1997
Beginning with Flourens (1796-1867) and continuing through the present day, this work cites persons
whose work is significant in the field of psychology. This dictionary provides basic information about
the person's life and an analysis of individual's accomplishments and contributions. Also includes a list
of the person's principal published work, and a bibliography for further reading about the person.
- Stevens, Gwendolyn, and Gardner, Sheldon. The women of psychology. Cambridge,
MA: Schenkman Publishing, 1982.
LOCATION: MCKSTACKS
CALL NUMBER: BF95.S73 1982
Sketches of women who contributed to the field of psychology, including persons who might not be
easy to locate in other biographical resources.
- Watson, Robert Irving. The great psychologists: a history of psychological thought. New
York, NY: HarperCollins, 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF81.W35 1991
Not merely a biographical work, this is a summary of the various philosophies and
methodologies in psychology, discussed through the lives and works of more than 50 great
psychologists.
- Zusne, Leonard. Biographical dictionary of psychology. Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press, 1984.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF109.A1Z85
1984
Source of biographical summaries of each of approximately 600 deceased persons whose work
contributed to the development of psychology. Cites additional biographical sources for each person.
Time frame begins with the ancient world and continues to current times.
- Davis, Stephen f., Peter J. Giodano, and Carolyn A. Licht, eds. Your career in psychology: putting your graduate degree to work. Chichester, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2009.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Index Table CALL NUMBER: BF76 .Y68 2009
Practical advice provided by seasoned psychologists. Particulary useful for psychology graduate students getting ready to start their careers, but also helpful for undergraduates considering psychology as a major.
- Getting in: a step-by-step plan for gaining admission to graduate school in psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, c. 2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Index Table CALL NUMBER: BF80.7.U6G47 2007
Guide with a wealth of helpful information on how students can improve their chances to get accepted by the graduate program of their choice. Includes information on criteria that admissions committees seek, on interview skills, writing of essays, and getting good recommendations.
- Graduate Programs in Psychology, 2001. Lawrenceville, NJ: Peterson's, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Index Table CALL NUMBER: BF80.7.U6G7 2001
Profiles of U.S. master's and doctoral programs programs in psychology. Also has helpful chapters on
choosing a program, taking entrance exams, applying for a degree, paying for a graduate degree,
etc.
- Graduate Study in Psychology. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association,
1992-.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Index Table CALL NUMBER: BF77.G73
Information about more than 600 U.S. graduate programs in psychology and related fields in the U.S. and Canada.
- Insider's guide to graduate programs in clinical and counseling psychology.
New York, NY: Guilford Press, c. 1996- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Index Table
CALL NUMBER: RC467.7.I57
Directory comprised of surveys of APA accredited programs in clinical psychology and counseling psychology. Also offers practical helpful advice on all aspects of the application process.
- Kracen, Amanda C. and Ian J. Wallace. Applying to graduate school in psychology: advice from successful students and prominent psychologists
Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, c. 2008.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Index Table
CALL NUMBER: BF77.A67 2008
Tips on each step of the application process. Comprised of essays and inside information from both graduate students and experienced professionals.
- Bringmann, Wolfgang G., Helmut E. Luck, Rudolf Miller, and Charles E. Early, eds. A
pictorial history of psychology. Carol Stream, IL: Quintessence Publishing Co., Inc.
1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER:
BF81.P47 1997
Very attractive work, comprised of generously illustrated brief essays from more than 100 contributors
from 14 countries. Subjects range from history of psychology beginning with the Greeks to current
developments.
- Colman, Andrew M. A dictionary of psychology. Oxford, U.K.: Oxford University
Press, 2009
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.C65
2009
This leading dictionary of psychology fills a niche in that it has extensive coverage of the technical terminology
found in the neuroscience, psychopharmacology, and statistics–all areas not always covered by
comparable dictionaries.
- Corsini, Raymond J. The dictionary of psychology. Philadelphia, PA: Brunner/Mazel,
1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.C72
1999
Extensive (1156 pages) dictionary of psychology. Compiled with assistance of more than one hundred psychologists and other professionals. Contains a number of useful appendices.
- Craighead, W. Edward., and Charles B. Nemeroff, eds. Concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31 .E52 2004
Also available online through NetLibrary eBooks at http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=108610>.
An abridgement of The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science (see below).
- Craighead, W. Edward, and Charles B. Nemeroff, eds. Corsini encyclopedia of psychology
and behavioral science. New York, NY: Wiley, 2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.E52 2001 v.
1-4
One of the best and most comprehensive psychology encyclopedias. Most of the articles are followed
by references and bibliographies.
- Gregory, Richard L., ed. The Oxford companion to the mind. New York, NY: Oxford
University Press, 2004.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.O94
2004
A one-volume encyclopedia that contains a wide range of topics in psychology and related fields,
including art, language, and mythology. Has good number of illustrations and tabular information.
- Hayes, Nicky, and Peter Stratton. A student's dictionary of psychology. New York,
NY: Oxford University Press, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.S69
2003
A dictionary that is designed for persons studying psychology at an introductory level or for anyone
who wants quick access to clear and concise psychology definitions.
- Kazdin, Alan E., ed. Encyclopedia of psychology. Washington,
D.C. : American Psychological Association. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.E52 2000 v.
1-8
Multi-volume encyclopedia that covers a broad range of subjects in 1500 articles and almost 400
bibliographies. Both useful for experts, and interesting and pleasant for college-level
browsers.
- Moore, Burness E., and Bernard D. Fine, eds. Psychoanalytic terms and concepts.
New Haven, CT.: Yale University Press, 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC501.4.P79 1990
Moore, Burness E., and Bernard D. Fine, eds. Psychoanalysis : the major concepts. New
Haven, CT.: Yale University Press, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC504.P754 1995
Psychoanalytic Terms and Concepts contains approximately 1,000 psychoanalytic terms
defined in clear, non-technical language. It is updated and supplemented by the companion volume,
Psychoanalysis: the Major Concepts.
- Piotrowski, Nancy A., ed., and Tracy Irons-Georges, project, ed. Mcgill’s encyclopedia of social science: psychology. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31 .M33 2003, v. 1-4
Consise four-volume encyclopedia that is directed to all levels of readers. Each entry begins with a summary and key concepts and ends with a bibliography. The last volume includes extensive annotated bibliographies, an Internet directory, lists of organizations, brief biographies of psychologists, and descriptions of relevant court cases.
- Reber, Arthur S. and Emily S. Reber. The Penguin dictionary of psychology. London; New York: Penguin, 2009.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.R43 2009
Easy-to-use dictionary for students and professionals alike.
- Roeckelein, Jon E. Elsevier’s dictionary of psychological theories. Amsterdam; Boston: Elsevier, 2006.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF31 .E44 2006
Also available online through NetLibrary eBooks at http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=166766 .
Dictionary of theoretical concepts and terms that apply to them.
- Strickland, Bonnie R., executive editor. The Gale encyclopedia of psychology.Detroit, MI : Gale Group, c2001.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF31 .G35 2001
Also available online through NetLibrary eBooks at http://www.netLibrary.com/urlapi.asp?action=summary&v=1&bookid=80439 .
A dictionary that for high school and college students, it is designed to describe terms and topics that are typically covered in introductory psychology classes .
- Sutherland, N.S. The international dictionary of psychology. New York, NY:
Crossroad, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.S83
1996
This tool focuses on terms in psychology, while excluding terms more commonly used in other fields.
Strongest subject area is neuropsycholphysiology and psychopharmacology. Has no biographical
entries.
- VandenBos, Gary R., ed. APA dictionary of psychology. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2007.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31 .A63 2007 Comprehensive (25,000 definitions), high-quality dictionary compiled of entries from a long number of contributors. Directed to both professionals and students
- Zusne, Leonard. Eponyms in psychology: a dictionary and biographic sourcebook.
New York, NY: Greenwood, 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF31.Z87
1987
Lists of numerous terms, complexes, measures, syndromes, theorems, anatomical parts, etc. which are
named after persons or places, followed by information about the person/place. Has references to
biographical works.
The University of Maryland Libraries subscribes to many electronic journals in the field of psychology.
You can find a specific e-journal by going to the Research
Port option on the University of Maryland Libraries' homepage. After you are in Research
Port, select the "e-journals" button. Next type some title data in the "Find an e-journal" search
template. After you see the citation for the e-journal that you wish to view, then click on the "Find It"
button to see the journal.
General Guides, Handbooks, and Yearbooks
- Annual review of psychology. Palo Alto, CA: Annual Reviews, 1950-.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF 30.A56
The most influential of the serial publications that review the research in specialized areas of psychology.
Articles written by experts who summarize and discuss the most influential research and consequent
literature. The University of Maryland Libraries also subscribes to recent editions of the Annual review of psychology in electronic
format.
- Weiner, Irving B., editor-in-chief. Handbook of psychology. New York : Wiley,
2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF121 .H1955
2003
Named a "Best Reference" by Library Journal, this handbook is an exhaustive (12-volumes,
275 chapters, 7897 pages) reference that attempts to cover all aspects of the broad subject of
psychology. The general disciplines covered by each respective volume are: v. 1. History of
psychology, v. 2. Research methods in psychology, v. 3. Biological psychology, v. 4. Experimental
psychology, v. 5. Personality and social psychology, v. 6. Developmental psychology, v. 7. Educational
psychology, v. 8. Clinical psychology , v. 9. Health psychology, v. 10. Assessment psychology, v. 11.
Forensic psychology, and v. 12. Industrial and organizational psychology.
Guides to Journals
- Günther, Armin. Psycline. [WWW site]. Augsburg, Germany, University of Augsburg 1995-
LOCATION: http://www.psycline.org/.) Generally considered the most comprehensive index of psychology and social science journals on the Web. Previously named Links to Psychological Journals.
- Journals in psychology: a resource listing for authors. Washington, DC: American
Psychological Association, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF76.8.J68
Directed to psychologists seeking outlets for publication. Lists approximately 300 American publishers.
- Wang, Alvin Yafu. Author's guide to journals in the behavioral sciences.
Hillsdale, NJ: Erlbaum Associates, 1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF76.8.W36
1989
Similar to Journals in psychology, but broader in scope, both in subject and in the fact that it
covers English language journals throughout the world.
Indexes & Abstracts
- CogNet
The CogNet Library is a small, but growing collection of searchable electronic texts for the cognitive and brain sciences.
- PsycARTICLES
Searchable database of full-text articles from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association.
- PsycCRITIQUES
The primary resource for reviews of books in all areas of psychology.
Replaces the journal Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books.
- PsycINFO
PsycINFO indexes more than two million items in nearly two thousand journals, technical report
series, and selected dissertations. Covering materials from 1872 to the present, PsycINFO is
the single most comprehensive file for coverage of all areas of psychology.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
The Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a full-text database of nearly 470 full text titles.
- Social Science Citation index (Note: This link will take you to a to "Social Science Citation Index link." Clicking on that link will send you to a page that is titled "ISI Web of Knowledge; Web of Science." After going to that page, scroll down to the bottom and select "Science Citation Index" from the short menu.)
These Web of Science database are unique in that they offer citation searches (i.e., they indicate the number and name of other authors who have referenced a given article since its publication).
(Note: There is a numerous, expanding quantity of World Wide Web pages that deal with many
aspects of psychology. Such locations provide a wide range of types of information--e.g., directories
of societies and professional organizations, e-mail lists, directories of academic psychology
departments, APA style guide interpretations, research aids, descriptions of on-going research,
professional news, employment resources, etc., and links to other Web pages. The following list is a random sampling of several of the "mega sites" through which one can find further links to countless psychology-related Internet locations.)
- Athabasca University Psychology Centre. Athabasca, Alberta, Canada:
Psychology Centre, Athabasca University, 1996-
LOCATION: http://server.bmod.athabascau.ca/h
tml/aupr/psycres.shtml.) Highly rated site, created and maintained by a university which
maintains a comphrensive distance-education program, and thus is heavily involved with Internet
resources.
- Degelman, Douglas. AmoebaWeb. Costa Mesa, CA: Vanguard University of Southern California, 1994-/
LOCATION: http://www.vanguard.edu/faculty/ddegelman/amoebaweb.)
Cited as an APA "Website of the Month," this is another conduit to innumerable Internet sites, with links arranged according to areas of psychology as well as into categories of possible visitors.
- Dewey, Russel. Psych Web. Statesboro, GA: Georgia Southern
University.
LOCATION: http://www.psychwww.com/.) One of the
earliest psych Web sites, this source contains of wealth of helpful information, much of which is directed
to students.
- Plous, Scott, ed. Social Psychology Network. Middletown, CN:
Psychology Department, Wesleyan University, 1996-
LOCATION: http://www.socialpsychology.org/.)
Describing itself as "the largest social psychology database on the Internet, it features 3,500 links to
psychology-related resources, including general psychology resources in addition to those that focus on
social psychology.
- PsychNet-UK. United Kingdom,1998-.
LOCATION: http://www.psychnet-uk.com/.) A comprehensive independent, privately owned mega site with the goal of being "the preferred UK information access point of students, professionals or those who want to know more about the psychological sciences."
Research Methodology and Statistics
(Also see Library Guide titled "Tests and Measurements.")
- Miller, Delbert C. Handbook of research design and social measurement. Newbury
Park, CA: Sage Publications, Inc., 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: H62.M44 2002
Aimed at researchers in the social sciences. Serves three functions: (1) serves as a professional
sourcebook, listing core journals and computer resources; (2) is a guide to professional organizations;
and (3) gives step-by-step reviews of research methodologies.
- The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
This is a style manual for manuscript preparation that is used by scholars both in and outside of the field of psychology. For students working on papers and reports, it is particularly important when listing citations in a bibliography. At McKeldin Library, this APA manual(call number: BF76.7.P83 1994)is available at the Service Plus Information and Reference Center and on the Quick Reference shelves, located across from the Service Plus desk.
Many of the Research Port databases offer a new feature: They will create a bibliographic citation in APA format (and other formats) for the individual article that you select. Below is an example of an EBSCO database (i.e. PsycInfo) that offers this feature: 
Clicking on the icon will take you to a page that lists citations for your selected article, e.g.:

Though the manuals are not directly available electronically, one can get much helpful information about them from the following links:
- "Citing Sources Using the APA Style". The Libraries' created this page for your assistance.
- Another useful site is "Assembling a List of Works Cited in Your Paper". Created by Duke University, this site provides quick and easy directions for creating citations for articles and books. This tool shows each citation using each of the popular style guides, including the APA Publication Manual.. Also it gives advice about how to avoid plagiarism.
- Another site that may be helpful is the
"APA Style Resources" page on Psych Web; it provides links to a number of guides and Web pages that provide writing tips and suggestions for its application.
- "Organizing/Citing Tools" page (accessible from the "Reference Shelf" option on the Libraries' home page.
- Sternberg, Robert J., ed. Guide to publishing in psychology journals. Cambridge,
England; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF76.8.G85
2000
Described as "a complete guide to writing psychology articles for publication." Chapters written by
scholars who themselves have served as editors of major psychology journals. Focuses on empirical
articles, but also looks at theoretical articles and literature-review articles.
- Sternberg, Robert J. The psychologist's companion: a guide to scientific writing for students
and researchers. Cambridge, England; New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2003.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF76.8.S73
2003
A step-by-step guide to constructing a research paper.
return to top
|