navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources
Last revised: August 1, 2008


Psychology--Specific Disciplines:

Basic Disciplines

Scope: This is one of four guides to important print and electronic reference sources in the field of psychology. These guides are as follows:
  • Psychology--General Psychology Resources
    (Includes general works, history, and research methodology and statistics. Provides good links to electronic indexes to journals and to Internet sites in psychology.)
  • Psychology--Specific Disciplines: Basic Disciplines
    (Includes biological/physiological psychology, basic mental processes, developmental psychology, neuropsychology and psychophysiology, and social pscychology).
  • Psychology--Specific Disciplines: Applied Disciplines
    (Includes clinical psychology and counseling, educational psychology, and industrial/organizational psychology.
  • Tests and Measurements
    (This guide provides access to specific psychological/educational tests and measurements. It also lists books that deal generally with the field of psychometrics.)

Table of Contents


Basic Mental Processes

    Basic Mental Processes--Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Thesauruses

    • Byrne, John H. Learning and memory. New York, NY: MacMillan Reference USA/Thompson/Galel, 2003.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF318.E53 2003
      189 essays that cover all aspects of learning and memory. Includes bibliographies.

    • Carskadon, Mary A., ed. in chief. Encyclopedia of sleep and dreaming. New York, NY: MacMillan International, 1993.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF1078.E63 1993
      Encyclopedia that looks at the biological, medical, and psychological aspects of sleep and dreaming.

    • Fink, George, ed. Encyclopedia of stress. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 2000.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: QP82.2.S8 E53 2000
      Comprehensive three-volume encyclopedia comprised of approximately 400 articles that deal with stress. These essays deal with stress from the perspective of more a dozen specific subject areas, including animal studies, drugs, human cognition and emotion, human psychopathology, immunology and inflammation, laboratory studies and tests, physiological aspects, and psychological therapy.

    • Houde, Olivier, ed. Dictionary of cognitive science: neuroscience, psychology, artificial intelligence, linguistics, and philosophy. New York, NY: Psychology Press, 2004.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF311 .V56713 2004
      Dictionary that encompasses the interdisciplinary nature of contemporary cognitive science. Compiled by experts in each of the five disciplines indicated in the title.

    • Levinson, David, James J. Ponzetti, Jr., and Peter F. Jorgensen, eds. Encyclopedia of human emotions. New York, NY: Macmillan, 1999.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF531.E55 1999 v. 1 & 2
      Comprehensive information about nature, causes, expression, and role of human emotions in society. A multi-disciplinary work comprised of 146 scholarly essays.

    • McGuigan, F.J. Encyclopedia of stress. Boston, MA: Allyn & Bacon 1999.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF575.S75 M235 1999
      One-volume encyclopedia comprised of succinct descriptions of terms related to stress and stress-related disorders. Has good cross-references between terms.

    • Runco, Mark A., and Steven R. Pritzker, eds. The encyclopedia of creativity. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1999.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF408.E53 1999 v. 1 & 2
      Directed at all levels of readers, this reference tool is the first of its kind that deals specifically with creativity.

    • Squire, Larry R., ed. in chief. Encyclopedia of learning and memory. New York, NY: MacMillan International, 1992.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF318.E53 1992
      189 essays that cover all aspects of learning and memory. Includes bibliographies.

    • Sternberg, Robert J., ed. Encyclopedia of human intelligence. New York, NY: Macmillan, 1994.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF431.E59 v.1-2
      This work, comprised of 250 articles, deals with all aspects of human intelligence.

    • Stuart-Hamilton, Ian. Dictionary of cognitive psychology. London, UK: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, Ltd., 1996.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER:BF201.S78 1995
      A dictionary of more than 2500 comprehensible definitions of key terms in cognition.

    • Thorpy, Michael J., and Jan Yager. Encyclopedia of sleep and sleep disorders. New York, NY: Facts on File, 1991.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: RC547.Y34 1991
      Comprised of articles that discuss theories and concepts associated with sleep and sleep research.

    • Turkington, Carol, and Joseph R. Harris. Encyclopedia of memory and memory disorders. New York, NY: Facts on File, 1991.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF371 .N55 2001
      Encyclopedia of more than 700 entries comprised of key terms, researchers, and theories that deal with memory, and causes, treatments, and symptoms of memory disorders.

    • Wilson, Robert A., and Frank C. Keil, eds. The MIT encyclopedia of the cognitive sciences. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1999.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF311.M556 1999
      471 articles in the following cognitive sciences: philosophy, psychology, neurosciences, computational intelligence, linguistics and language, and culture, cognition, and evolution. Most articles have bibliographies .

    Basic Mental Processes--Guides, Handbooks, and Yearbooks

    • Atkinson, Richard C., et al. Steven's handbook of experimental psychology. New York, NY: John Wiley, 1988.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF181.H336 2002 v. 1-4
      Directed to professionals and graduate students, this well-written handbook covers all aspects of human perception, memory, learning, and cognition. The fourth of the four-volume set focuses on experimental psychology methodology.

    • Dalgleish, Tim, and Mick J. Power. Handbook of cognition and emotion. New York, NY: John Wiley, 1999.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF531.H314 1999
      Handbook comprised of essays which look at cognition, emotion, and their interaction.

    • Durso, Francis T., et al., eds. Handbook of applied cognition. New York, NY: John Wiley & Sons, 1999
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF201.H36 1999
      This handbook looks at applied research in cognition. This work begins with chapters that provide overviews to such topics as knowledge, memory, judgement and decision making, human error, and social cognition. The book concludes with chapters that deal with specific applied milieus: business and industry, computers and technology, information and instruction, and health and law.

    • Handbook of perception and cognition. San Diego : Academic Press, 1994-2000
      LOCATION: Most located in McKeldin Library Stacks.
      CALL NUMBER: Each volume is cataloged separately and thus assigned an individual call number. To see a list of the entire series, do a series browse search in the Libraries' Catalog, under the series title, Handbook of Perception and Cognition.
      An on-going (20 individual volumes thus far) monographic series on these respective topics: Animal Learning and Cognition; Cognitive Ecology; Cognitive Science; Hearing; Human Performance and Ergonomics; Measurement, Judgment, and Decision Making; Memory; Neuropsychology; Speech, Language, and Communication; Pain and Touch; Perception and Cognition at Century's End; Perception of Space and Motion; Perceptual and Cognitive Development; Seeing; Tasting and Smelling; Thinking and Problem Solving.

    • Lewis, Michael, and Jeannette M. Haviland-Jones, eds. Handbook of emotions. New York, NY: Guilford Press, 2000
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks and McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF561.H35 2000
      This handbook is a multi-disciplinary work comprised of essays and bibliographies that discuss emotions from a range of perspectives: interdisciplinary aspects, biological and neurophysiological approaches, social perspectives, etc. Also several chapters discuss specific emotions and categories of emotions. Also has chapter on recent research.

    • Stemmer, Brigitte, and Harry A. Whitaker, eds. Handbook of neurolinguistics. San Diego: Academic Press, 1998
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: QP399.H36 1998
      This handbook describes current research and theory of many of the subfields of neurolinguistics.

    • Sternberg, Robert J. Handbook of intelligence. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 2000.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks and Hornbake Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF431.H31865 2000
      This work provides an introduction and extensive review of issues that pertain to all aspects of human intelligence.

    • Tulving, Endel, and Fergus I.M. Craik, eds. The Oxford handbook of memory. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2000.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF371.O84 2000
      Handbook of research and theory of memory.

    • Wolman, Benjamin B. And Montague Ullman, eds. Handbook of states of consciousness. New York, NY: Van Norstrand Reinhold, 1986.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF311.H335 1986
      This handbook dealing with consciousness, is comprised of 20 chapters arranged in the following three categories: theory (i.e. history of research into the conscious or unconscious states), manisfestations (i.e. altered states), and accessibility of altered states and the unconscious to outside stimuli and investigation.

Comparative Psychology and Ethology

  • Animal behavior abstracts. Bethesda, MD: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 1982-1995.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QL750.B541 v. 10-23.
  • Animal behavior abstracts. Bethesda, MD: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 1982-current.
    (Access through the "database name" option of Research Port and then type "Biological & Medical Sciences" in the "database name" box. After selecting that database from the resulting menu, click on the Biological Sciences "Search Subfiles" option to find the specific link to Animal Behavior Abstracts.)
    Unique, easy to use, index to ethology, with coverage of such subjects as biochemical and neurological aspects of behavior, learning and memory, reproductive behavior, migration and evolution, and behavioral ecology.

  • Barrows, Edward M. Animal behavior desk reference. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2001.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QL750.3.B37 2001
    Dictionary that covers fields of animal behavior, evolution, ecology, and related branches of biology.

  • Beaver, Bonnie V.G. The veterinarian's encyclopedia of animal behavior. Ames, IA: Iowa State University Press, 1994.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: SF756.7.B43 1994
    This encyclopedia arranges hundreds of animal behaviors alphabetically, provides definitions, discussions, and cross-references.

  • Bekoff, Marc, ed.Encyclopedia of animal behavior. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press., 2004.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QL750.3.E53 2004
    This comprehensive encyclopedia is the key reference work in the field of animal behavior. Attractive, well-illustrated, with useful bibliographies and appendices.

  • Greenberg, Gary, and Maury M. Haraway, eds. Comparative psychology. New York, NY: Garland Pub., 1998.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: BF671.C615 1998
    Handbook which covers both history and current developments in animal behavior studies.

  • Grzimek, Bernhard, ed. Encyclopedia of ethology. New York, NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold Co., 1977.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QL751.G8945
    Prior to Bekoff's Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior this was THE authoritative encyclopedia of animal behavior.

  • Harre, Rom, and Roger Lamb, eds. The dictionary of ethology and animal learning. Oxford, UK: Blackwell Reference, 1986.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QL750.3.D5
    Ethology/animal learning dictionary, with brief bibliographies and detailed subject index.

  • Hurnik, J.F., A.B. Bebster, and P. B. Siegel. Dictionary of farm animal behavior. Ames, IA: Iowa State University Press, 1995.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: SF756.7.H87 1995
    Dictionary with 4000 terms that refer to behavior of domestic animals.

  • Immelmann, Klaus. A dictionary of ethology. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1989.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QL750.3.I4513 1989
    Key terms and concepts in field of animal behavior. Explains importance of respective terms in relation to history of ethological research.

  • Lehner, Philip N. Handbook of ethological methods. New York, NY: Cambridge University Press, 1996.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QL751.L398 1996
    Good, clear overview of ethology with detailed descriptions of methods used to study animal behavior.

  • McFarland, David, ed. The Oxford companion to animal behavior. Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 1981.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QL751.L398 1996
    Since volume encyclopedia of more than 200 articles that will be of interest to scholars and general readers alike.

Developmental Psychology

    Developmental Psychology--General

    • Harre, Rom, and Roger Lamb, eds. The dictionary of developmental and educational psychology. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1986
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF712.7.D53 1986
      Material derived from the editors' Encyclopedic Dictionary of Psychology, with entries and lists expanded to provide focus on developmental psychology.

    • Salkind, Neil J., ed. Encyclopedia of human development. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2006.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM626.E53 2006
      This encyclopedia examines human development over the lifespan. With the multidisciplinary nature of human development, this reference links the fields of developmental psychology, sociology, and medicine. Each of the approximately six hundred entries conclude with reading lists, many of which include both scholarly publications and Internet citations.

    • Stuart-Hamilton, Ian. Dictionary of developmental psychology. London: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, 1995.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF712.7.S78 1985
      Alphabetically arranged, easily-read definitions of psychological terms--particularly terms frequently used in textbooks. Avoids use of technical terms.

    Developmental Psychology--Infancy, Childhood, & Adolescence

    • Child development abstracts and bibliography. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 1928-.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ750.A1C47, v.2-
      Indexes over 200 journals in psychology, sociology, social work, education, and pediatrics. Also each volume provides lengthy reviews of recent books. (Note: The first volume in 1927 was published under the title Selected Child Development Abstracts.)

    • Clement, Priscilla Ferguson, and Jacqueline S. Reinier, eds. Boyhood in America: an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
      LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
      CALL NUMBER:HQ775.B635 2001 v.1-2
      Forman-Brunell, Miriam, ed. Girlhood in America: an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
      LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
      CALL NUMBER:HQ777.G5745 2001 v.1-2
      Honig, Alice Sterling, Hiram E. Fitzgerald, and Holly Brophy-Herb, eds. Infancy in America: an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
      LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
      CALL NUMBER:HQ774.I528 2001
      Lerner, Jacqueline V., and Richard M. Lerner, eds. Adolescence in America: an encyclopedia. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001.
      LOCATION: MCKREF STACKS
      CALL NUMBER:HQ796.A33247 2001 v. 1-2
      These "American Family Series" of encyclopedias are comprised of numerous entries that pertain to the respective age populations named in the titles, and cover a wide range of subject areas, from history, economic, and social and social welfare issues, to biological, health and psychological topics, and even sports, arts, and literature. Entries include bibliographies.

    • Damon, William, ed. Handbook of child psychology. NY: J. Wiley, 1998.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF721.H242 1998
      Prepared by leaders in the field, this four-volume set is considered the most important handbook in child psychology.

    • Haag, Enid E.. Research guide for studies in infancy and childhood. NY: Greenwood, 1988.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ676.85.H253 1988
      When used with Woodbury's Childhood Information Resources, this guide offers a comprehensive guide to research literature on children from birth to age 13. Provides information on research, general bibliographies, and special subject area bibliographies.

    • Kagan, Jerome, ed., and Susan B. Gall, managing ed. The Gale encyclopedia of childhood and adolescence. Detroit, MI: Gale, 1998.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ722.G27 1998
      Comprised of signed entries by child development experts; entries followed by bibliographies for future study. Covers period from birth through adolescence. Directed to child psychologists, health care providers, teachers and educators, and parents.

    • Lerner, Richard M, Anne C. Petersen, and Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, eds. Encyclopedia of adolescence. New York, NY: Garland, 1991.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HB796.E58 1991 v.1
      Has approximately 200 short essays on all aspects of adolescence.

    • Ollendick, Thomas H., and Michel Hersen, eds. Handbook of child psychopathology. New York, NY: Plenum Press, 1998.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: RJ499.3.H36 1998
      A handbook comprised of essays that detail a wide range of psychopathological issues that pertain to children.

    • Ollendick, Thomas H., and Carolyn S. Schroeder, eds. Encyclopedia of clinical child and pediatric psychology. New York, NY: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, 12003.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: RJ503.3 .E53 2003
      One-volume encyclopedia that covers a "broad array of problems and issues related to children, adolescents, and their families as defined by the fields of clinical child and pediatric psychology."

    • Osofsky, Joy Doniger, ed. Handbook of infant development. New York, NY: John Wiley, 1987.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF719.H36 1987
      Twenty-seven chapters that cover research in all aspects of human development during the first two years of life.

    • Zeanah, Charles H. Jr., ed. Handbook of infant mental health. New York, NY: The Guilford Press, 2000.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: RJ502.5.H36 2000
      Comprehensive handbook of the developmental, clinical, and social aspects of infant mental health.

    Developmental Psychology--Adulthood

    • Kastenbaum, Robert, ed. Encyclopedia of Adult Development. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1993.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF724.5.E53 1993
      This work stands out as one of the few reference books on adult development. It is comprised of 106 articles written by specialists.

    • Thesaurus on aging terminology: AgeLine database on middle age and aging. Washington, DC: National Gerontology Resource Center, American Association of Retired Persons, 1994.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ1061.T5 1994
      Thesaurus of more than 2,000 cross-referenced terms used to produce AgeLine database.

    Developmental Psychology--Aging and Elderly Populations

    • Bengtson, Vern L., and K. Warner Schaie, eds. Handbook of theories of aging. New York, NY: Springer Pub. Co., 1999.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ1061.H3366 1999
      This multi-disciplinary work examines current theories of aging.

    • Birren, James E., and K. Warner Schaie. Handbook of the psychology of aging. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1996.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF724.55.A35H36 1996
      Considered a classic, providing comprehensive and authoritative information to the numerous, expanding range of issues in this field.

    • Birren, James E., R. Bruce Sloane, and Gene D. Cohen. Handbook of mental health and aging. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1992.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: RC451.4.A5H38 1992
      A comprehensive (thirty-three chapters) handbook for mental health professionals, researchers, and advanced students. Cover broad range of topics, including psychopathology and psychological assessment.

    • Blank, Thomas O., ed. Topics in gerontology: selected annotated bibliographies. Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1993.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ1061. T66 1993
      A bibliography for both students and professionals, it deals with social, behavioral, and biological areas of gerontology.

    • Edwards, Willie, M. and Frances Flynn, comps. Gerontology: a cross-national core list of significant works. Ann Arbor, MI: Institute of Gerontology, University of Michigan, 1982.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: RC92.E39 1982
      This work covers topics in social gerontology, including the psychological aspects of aging.


    • Folts, W. Edward, et. al. Aging well: a selected, annotated bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1995.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ1061.A53 1995
      A bibliography of literature and research based on the concept of "aging well"-- i.e., literature about normal aging--and thus based on the positive aspects of growing old as opposed to the more usual negative perception of aging being comprised of problems. "Psychological Aging" is one of the general topics covered.

    • Harris, Diana K. The dictionary of gerontology. New York, NY: Greenwood, 1988.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ1061.H338 1988
      Statistical and research terms used in gerontology.

    • Hersen, Michel and Vincent B. Van Hasselt, eds. Handbook of clinical geropsychology. New York, NY : Plenum Press, 1998.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: RC451.4.A5H356 1998
      A handbook comprised of essays that detail a wide range of psychological issues that pertain to older adults.

    • Maddox, George L, ed. The encyclopedia of aging. New York, NY: Springer, 1995.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ1061.E53 1995
      Outstanding multi-disciplinary one-volume encyclopedia on aging. Comprised of authoritative signed articles, and concludes with a 130 page bibliography.

    • Roy, Frederick Hampton. The encyclopedia of aging and the elderly. New York, NY: Facts on File, 1992
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ1061.R69 1992
      Another multidisciplinary one-volume encyclopedia on aging.

    • Swanson, Jenifer,ed. Physical and mental issues in aging sourcebook. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics, 1999. LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: RC952.5.P48 1999 Part of a health series that provides basic consumer information, this is a guide to a wide range of information and resources related to aging.
    • Wheeler, Helen Rippier. Women and aging; a guide to the literature. Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 1997.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ1064.U5W54 1997
      This bibliographic tool cites social sciences and humanities works, including dissertations, which deal with those aging issues that uniquely affect women.

    • Zito, Dorothea R., and George V. Zito. A guide to research in gerontology: strategies and resources. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1988.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HQ1061.Z57 1988
      A guide to resources and research in the various disciplines, including psychology, that comprise gerontology.

Neuropsychology and Psychophysiology

  • Adelman, George, ed. Encyclopedia of neuroscience. Amsterdam: Elsevier Science, 1999.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: RC334.E53 1999 v.1 & 2
    A general encyclopedia for all fields of neuroscience.

  • Ayd, Frank, J. Lexicon of psychiatry, neurology, and the neurosciences. Baltimore, MD: Williams & Williams, 1995.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: RC334.A96 1995
    This reference tool provides definitions of words used in the fields of psychiatry and neurosciences, includes descriptions of psychiatric/neurological disorders, and gives comprehensive yet concise information on psychoactive drugs. It also contains references to articles and books for more information

  • Beaumont, J. Graham, Pamela M. Kenealy, and Marcus J.C. Rogers, eds. The Blackwell dictionary of neuropsychology. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1996.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QP360.B577 1996
    A comprehensive dictionary/encyclopedia of contemporary neuropsychological knowledge and practice. Terms defined by relatively lengthy essays written by experts in the field, and in most cases, concluded with bibliographies.

  • Cacioppo, John T., Louis G. Tassinary, Gary G. Bernston, eds. Handbook of psychophysiology. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2000.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QP360.P7515 2000
    Looking at physiological systems (e.g. gastrointestinal, sexual, electrodermal, skeletalmuscular, etc.), this comprehensive handbook examines biological basis of psychological processes (e.g. motor preparation, cognition, autonomic nervous processes, language development, emotion, motivation, etc.). Also has chapters which discuss applications of psychophysiology research. Useful for students, researchers and professionals.

  • Denes, Gianfranco and Luigi Pizzamiglio, eds. Handbook of clinical and experimental neuropsychology. Hove, East Sussex, UK: Psychology Press, 1999.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: RC386.2.H365 1999
    Comprehensive handbook comprised of 38 chapters, each with extensive bibliographies, and each of which provides in-depth overviews of specific experimental and applied neuropsychology topics.

  • Greenfield, Susan A. The human mind explained. New York, NY: Henry Holt, 1996.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: BF431.H748 1996
    An absorbing overview of neuroscience, comprised of vivid illustrations and straightforward text, this book is designed to appeal to all levels of readers.

  • Hendelman, Walter J. Atlas of funcional neuroanatomy. Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 200o.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and McKeldin Library Reference Media Cabinet
    CALL NUMBER: QM451 .H388 2000
    Book and CD-Rom that offer photos and illustrations of the human brain and nervious system.

  • Horton, Arthur MacNeill, Jr., Danny Wedding, and Jeffrey Webster, eds. The neuropsychology handbook. New York, NY: Springer, 1997.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: RC386.6.N48N49 v. 1-2
    A basic reference for neuropsychologists and graduate students, this handbook presents essays on the foundations of neuropsychology and information on neuropsychological assessment instruments.

  • Lockard, Isabel. Desk reference for neuroscience. New York, NY: Springer-Verlag, 1992.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QM451 .L625 1992
    Concise but comprehensive dictionary to terminology used in the vaious neurosciences.

  • Loring, David W., ed. INS dictionary of neuropsychology. New York : Oxford University Press, 1999.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QP360.I55 1999
    Sponsored by the International Neuropsychological Society (INS), this dictionary (from the cover:) "provides concise definitions of neurobehavioral abnormalities, diseases affecting the nervous system, clinical syndromes, neuropsychological tests, rehabilitation methods, medical procedures, basic neuroscience, and other important terms."

  • Nolte, John, and Jay B. Angevine, Jr. The human brain in photographs and diagrams. ASt. Louis, MO: Mosby, 2000.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QM455 .N65 2000
    Heavily illustrated textbook that covers the anatomy of the brain, spinal cord, and brainstem.

  • Ramachandran, V.S., ed. Encyclopedia of the human brain. Ansterdam, Netherlands; Boston, MA: Academic Press, 2002.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QP376.E586 2002, vol. 1-4
    Four-volume encyclopedia that covers all aspects of the human brain and the nervous system.

  • Spreen, Otfried. A compendium of neuropsychological tests: administration, norms, and commentary. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1998
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: RC386.6.N48S67 1998
    Source of thorough information on a broad range of neuropsychological tests.

  • Winn, Phillip, ed. Dictionary of biological psychology. London, UK; New York, NY: Routledge, 2001.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: QP360.D52 2001
    Comprised of technical terms and definitions in biological psychology, this dictionary is designed for both students and researchers.

Social Psychology

    Social Psychology-- Encyclopedias

    • Baumeister, Roy F., and Kathleen D. Vohs, eds. Encyclopedia of social psychology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2007.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM1007.E53 2007
      Up-to-date encyclopedia that focuses on the terms and concepts that are unique to social psychology.

    • Harre, Rom, and Roger Lamb, eds. Dictionary of personality and social psychology. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1986.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF698.D527 1986b
      Articles which focus on personality, self-psychology, and social psychology. Does not include entries on personality disorders or other such clinical psychology topics.

    • Manstead, Antoy S. R., and Miles Hewstone, eds. The Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell, 1995.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM251.B476 1995
      A significant reference tool for students of social psychology, this encyclopedia contains 350 entries that explain terms and concepts.

    • Turner, Jeffrey S. Encyclopedia of relationships across the lifespan. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM132.T83 1996
      A cross-disciplinary encyclopedia on a wide variety of topics, all examined in the context of how relationships change throughout the course of human development.

    Social Psychology--Guides and Handbooks

    • Gilbert, Daniel T., Susan T. Fiske, and Garder Lindzey, eds. Handbook of social psychology. Boston, MA: McGraw-Hill, 1998.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM251.H224 1998 v.1-2
      Considered to be the standard handbook in social psychology, this work is comprehensive and authoritative in its coverage of both theoretical concepts and applied areas. Useful for researchers and students alike.

    • Higgens, Tory, and Arie W. Kruglanski. Social psychology; handbook of basic principles. New York, NY: Guilford Press, 1996.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks and McKeldin Library Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: HM251.S6743 1996
      Provides comprehensive examinations of major social psychology concepts, and reviews of research that support or challenge each concept.
    • Pervin, Lawrence A, ed. Handbook of personality: theory and research. New York, NY: Guilford Press, 1999.
      LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
      CALL NUMBER: BF698.H335 1999
      This guide is a fundamental reference resource on this subject, providing an overview of both historical and current developments in personality theory and research.

    Social Psychology--Internet Resources

    • Social Psychology Network. [WWW site]. Middletown, CN: Psychology Department, Wesleyan University, 1996-
      LOCATION: (Access the following URL address: http://www.socialpsychology.org/.)
      Describes itself as "the largest social psychology database on the Internet it features 3,500 links to psychology-related resources, particularly in the field of social psychology. Maintained by Professor Scott Plous and his students at Wesleyan University.

return to top


© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 01.2008

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search