Click the link above to go to the Finding Music Scores Guide.
Writing good quality program notes can be very difficult, because information about pieces (particularly more modern ones) tends to be hard to find in one place.
There are many sources that you can use to find accurate information about the works you choose to perform on a recital or concert. You just have to know where to look!
STEP 4: Filling in the Details
Questions to Ask:
- What are the movement names?
- What form or musical structure is being used in this piece or movement? (e.g. sonata, ABA form, etc.)
- Is there any terminology or lingo that needs to be explained? (e.g. definition of passacaglia or scherzo)
- What should the audience member listen for in the piece or movement?
Sources to Use to Find the Answers:
-
Oxford Music Online
If the work you are performing is a major work for a particular composer, then Oxford Music may have specific information about the piece.
*Oxford Music is a great source for looking up music terminology.
- Journal Articles
Is there a journal written specifically for your instrument/discipline? (e.g. The Horn Call, Journal of Singing, etc.) These journals may have specific information about your piece, written by professionals working in the field.
TIPS: Many of the journals are searchable in RILM, but you will only get results from 1976 onward.
Some professional societies have searchable archives of their journals on their websites.
For all others, you will need to search the contents of the physical copies. The library has these journals in the stacks/folio, and on microfilm.
- A recording of the piece
The liner notes are often a valuable place to find information about specific pieces that you may not be able to find online.
- Classical Music Library
Contains thousands of pieces by hundreds of composers. This database is especially useful for more traditional, classical works.
- Naxos Music Library
A database of tracks from thousands of CDs recorded on the Naxos label. You will often find newer works not found in Classical Music Library in the database.
OFF-CAMPUS USERS: To access these databases, go to www.researchport.umd.edu, and type "Classical Music Library" or "Naxos Music Library in the box that says "by database name."
- A score of the piece
Looking at the score is the most reliable way to find the movement names.
(Amazon.com is not always accurate!)
Study the score. Are you able to tell what the form is? Can you identify specific sections?
return to top
STEP 5: Making it Personal
You are the performer, and have therefore chosen a specific interpretation of the work. If it seems appropriate, add some remarks about your personal experience with the piece.
Sources to Use:
- Your Personal Practice Sessions
While you are practicing, think about and write down your personal ideas about the work. (e.g. what you think of when you perform it, how you think of the structure, etc.)
- Listening
If you haven't yet, listen to the piece, as this can give you a more objective view of the work.
return to top
STEP 6: Citing your sources
Anytime you use something that is not your own, original thought, you must cite it.
Most program notes for musical performances generally use Chicago/Turabian style for citation. See the Citing Sources Using Chicago/Turabian Style for more information.
A Few Rules of Thumb for Citing Sources in Program Notes:
- Program notes found on the Web
First, assess the authority of the person who wrote the program notes. If the person is some one you know you can trust for accurate information, then:
Look for a "terms of use" statement or copyright statement. This may tell you whether you may use or reproduce the information.
TIP: Check "fair use guidelines" (below) to determine whether your use is acceptable, regardless of what the "terms of use" or copyright states.
If you can't tell, don't know, or have no way to determine either of the above, you may want to find another more reliable source to use!
- Oxford Music Online
If you use any quoted material, whether a phrase, full sentence, block of text, or definition from Oxford Music Online or similar database, you must cite the article from which the material comes.
TIP: Look for a small, orange rectangle at the top right of each article. Clicking on it will give you the formatted citation. (both MLA and Chicago/Turabian styles)
- Composer Bios found on the Web
If you find a composer's bio on the web, you may use it if copyright permits. You must cite the website from which you obtained it. (Be sure that it is an authoritative website about that composer first!)
TIP: Check "fair use guidelines" (below) to determine whether your use is acceptable, regardless of what the "terms of use" or copyright states.
- Liner Notes
You must cite the author of the liner notes. If it is not given, cite the recording and indicate that the information was taken from the liner notes.
- Program notes in a score you purchased or checked out from the library
You must cite the author of the program notes, whether the composer or someone else. If a name is not given, cite the score and indicate that the information was taken from the program notes.
Fair Use Guidelines
...the fair use of a copyrighted work...for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching (including multiple
copies for classroom use), scholarship, or research, is
not an infringement of copyright. In determining whether
the use made of a work in any particular case is a fair use the factors to be considered shall include:
(1) the purpose and character of the use, including
whether such use is of a commercial nature or is for nonprofit
educational purposes;
(2) the nature of the copyrighted work;
(3) the amount and substantiality of the portion used in
relation to the copyrighted work as a whole;
(4) the effect of the use upon the potential market for or
value of the copyrighted work.
The fact that a work is unpublished shall not itself bar a
finding of fair use if such finding is made upon consideration
of all the above factors.*
*US Copyright Office. Circular 92, "Copyright Law of the United States of America and Related Laws Contained in Title 17 of the United States Code," Chapter 1, Section 107, Washington, DC: US Copyright Office, 2008. 6 March 2009. http://www.copyright.gov/title17/92chap1.html#107
return to top
return to top