Research Port
SCOPE: Research Port allows students, faculty, and others connected with the University of Maryland to access databases and e-journals from on and off campus. This guide explains some of the basic steps for using Research Port. Please contact User Education Services (libues at umd.edu) for more information.
What is Research Port?
Research Port is an electronic resource that allows you to:
- Search for journal articles and books in databases, e-journals, and library catalogs.
- Access databases and e-journals from on and off campus.
- Search an individual database OR search several simultaneously.
- Search databases and the UM Libraries' catalog simultaneously.
- Find full-text articles.
- Save lists of databases, e-journals, searches and articles in My Research Port.
- E-mail or save citations.
return to top
Login to Research Port
- Research Port works best with Internet Explorer 5.1 (or higher) or Netscape 6.1 (or higher).
- Start at the UM Libraries' home page [http://www.lib.umd.edu].
- Click on Research Port.
- OFF CAMPUS or to use My Research Port:
- Choose campus affiliation: University of Maryland, College Park.
- On the next screen, log in with your directory ID and password.
- Click Login.
return to top
Find Databases
You can use Research Port to search individual databases. Access databases
| By Subject Category |
| OR |
| By Database Name |
- You will retrieve a list of databases.
- Click the underlined name of a database to search it.
- Click the yellow "I" for more information about the database.
return to top
Cross Search
You can use Research Port's Cross Search to search several databases simultaneously.
return to top
Interpret Your Cross Search Results
- Results are organized by database. To see results from a specific database, click on view. To see all results, choose combined results.
- View results by selecting Results List, Brief view, or Details.
- Click
to access full text, locate the item in the library, or save/e-mail the citation information of the item.
return to top
Find E-journals
If you know a specific journal title, you might be able to access it directly:
- Click on the E-journals tab at the top of the page.
- Find e-journals by Name or ISSN.
- Click on the title or
to access the journal.
return to top
My Research Port
- Log in to Research Port with your directory ID and password.
- Click on the My Lists tab to customize Research Port.
- Create lists of databases and e-journals, save specific articles, or save search strategies.
- For detailed instructions: Click help in the upper left corner of the Research Port screen. Click index and scroll down the page to My Lists.
return to top
E-mail or Save Results
- To e-mail items from your Research Port search results, click
.
- To save items to a disk or the hard drive of your computer, click
. Choose the citation format and click save.
return to top
Need More Help?
return to top
|