Navigation Bar
Guides to Information Resources

Self-Guided McKeldin Library Tour

The purpose of this self-guided tour is to help you learn how to find your way around McKeldin Library. The library houses collections in the humanities, social sciences (including business), and life sciences.

Research libraries can be complex and challenging places for new students. An orientation to how the University of Maryland Libraries are organized is essential for academic success. This self-guided tour is a first step to help you get comfortable using the main campus library.

ANSWERS TO THE EXERCISES/FALL 2006:

Exercise 1 | Exercise 2 | Exercise 3| Exercise 4

Exercise 5 | Exercise 6| Exercise 7 | Exercise 8




EXERCISE 1 - Academic Integrity

  • Cheating: B
  • Fabrication: D
  • Facilitating Academic Dishonesty: A
  • Plagiarism: C

    When paraphrasing (restating ideas in your own words) it is necessary to:

  • Use quotation marks: FALSE
  • Introduce the material: TRUE
  • Provide an in-text citation: TRUE
  • Document sources in the works cited list: TRUE

return to top

EXERCISE 2 - Books in the Stacks

  • The library location is UMCP McKeldin Library Folio and the call number is NA 7205.W36 1987.
  • The collection is Folio.
  • The book is located on the 6th floor.
  • The Pink House is illustrated on page 75.
  • The number on the bookcase is 8.
  • The complete citation for this book is:
    Walker, Lester. Tiny Tiny Houses.
           Woodstock (NY):Overlook Press, 1987.

return to top

EXERCISE 3 - Reference Books

  • The Encyclopedia of American Television is located in the McKeldin Library Reference Stacks. The call number is PN1992.18.L3.
  • The item status of the reference book is Non-Circulating/On Shelf.
  • The reference collection is located on the 1st floor of McKeldin Library.
  • Jim Henson and the Muppets are pictured on page 246.
  • The number at the end of the bookcase is 24R.

return to top

EXERCISE 4 - Books placed on Course Reserve

  • The number of books placed on course reserve will vary each semester
  • The Course Name is Library Safari.
  • The location is UMCP McKeldin Library.
  • The call number of Working in France... is HF5382.75.F8P55 1991, and the loan period is two hours.
  • The Course Reserves desk is on the first floor of McKeldin Library.
  • There is an organizational chart of the French Educational System on p. 85.

return to top

EXERCISE 5 - Government Documents

  • McKeldin Library also houses the East Asia Collection and the Government Documents and Maps Unit and the Gordon W. Prange Collection.
  • The Web address is www.lib.umd.edu/GOV/.
  • General Publication of the Week is: Answers will vary.
  • Yes, you can obtain Maryland tax forms via the Government Documents Web page.
  • The Government Documents and Maps Unit is located on the 4th floor of McKeldin Library.
  • Four of the fastest growing occupations, according to Section 13 of the 1997 edition of the Statistical Abstract, are:
    • personal and home care aids
    • home health aids
    • systems anaylsts
    • computer engineers

return to top

EXERCISE 6 - Current Periodicals

  • Health Communication is to the right of the Harvard Business Review.
  • Answers will vary.
  • Yes, the library has vol. 73 (1995)
  • The collection is Periodical Stacks.
  • The call number is HF5001.H3.
  • The item status is non-circulating/on shelf.
  • Non-circulating means that the item can be used in the library but not borrowed or checked out.
  • It is located on the third floor.

return to top

EXERCISE 7 - Interlibrary Loan (or ILL)

  • The Web address is www.lib.umd.edu/ILL/Welcome.html.
  • The Interlibrary Loan Office (ILL) exists to meet the instructional, research, and scholarly needs of UM faculty, staff, students, and Friends of the Library. ILL can obtain many books and articles from journals not held in the University System of Maryland Libraries (USMAI). Books, periodical articles, dissertations, microforms, government documents, and technical reports are just some of the types of materials ILL can obtain for you. ILL services are offered to all UM College Park faculty, staff, students and special borrowers who have a current UM ID.
  • It takes two weeks to get a book using ILL.
  • Borrowing books from ILL is usually FREE.
  • You can either send the request electronically from certain UM databases. Or, use the easy-to-use Research Port, or log in to complete a request form.
  • The ILL office is found on the 1st floor of McKeldin Library.

return to top

EXERCISE 8 - Getting Help with Research

  • There are 4 ways to communicate with us to ask for help:
    1. Live Chat, which enables you to chat with a librarian online.
    2. E-mail your reference question.
    3. Telephone and ask your reference question. Contact General Information at 301-405-0800 or the McKeldin Information Desk at 301-405-9075.
    4. Come in person for walk-in reference or in-depth consultation.
  • The Librarian Specialist for Criminology and Criminal Justice is Barbara Lay. The Librarian Specialist for Aerospace Engineering is Jim Miller, and the Art Librarian is Louise Green.

return to top

 
 

© 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 28, 2007

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search