Last revised: September 2008
Criminology/Criminal Justice
Scope: This guide has been prepared to aid students and
faculty of the University of Maryland College Park B.A. Program in Criminology and Criminal Justice,
being
offered at The Universities at Shady Grove.
Criminology and criminal justice involves studying individual, group,
and mass behavior, as well as the institutions, professions, and laws that
exist to detect, control, and ameliorate the effects of crime. As a
discipline, criminology & criminal justice is situated at the nexus of
other social science disciplines such as sociology, psychology, and
government, in addition to public policy and legal studies. This guide lists resources found
in the Shady Grove Library, in
print, and other media, such as videos. It also contains related print and
online resources from the UM Libraries, as well as resources
from the World Wide Web.
For assistance, you may send inquiries to shadylib@umd.edu, or call
301-738-6120 for more information.
Use the University of Maryland Library Catalog to
search for books, journal titles, goverment reports and other materials owned by the University of Maryland Libraries. The field of criminal justice encompasses a wide range of topics. Here are just a few suggested subject terms relevant to this field:
- child abuse
- substance abuse
- police administration
- criminal procedure
- juvenile delinquency
This box will open the catalog and launch your catalog search in a new window.
If you need further assistance in conducting your search, accessing the catalog, or information on how to order books, please contact our staff at the Shady Grove Library (301-738-6020).
return to top
Finding Books & Journals:
The print resources listed here are available at the Shady
Grove Library. The print reference sources (REF) are
non-circulating items and can not be borrowed from the library. Use the UM
Libraries' catalog to search for books and journal (serial) titles.
"Serials" include magazines, journals and periodicals. The catalog will
give you listings for titles in the USM system libraries, including the
Shady Grove Library.
Anderson, James F. Criminal justice and criminology: a
career
guide to local, state, federal and academic positions. Dallas: University Press of America, 2003.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV9950 .A54 2003
Description: Criminal justice, Administration
of; Vocational guidance; United States.
Harr, J. Scott. Seeking employment in criminal justice and related fields. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth/Thomson Learning,
2003. Location: Shady Grove REF HV8143 .H327 2003 Description: Law enforcement, Vocational guidance- United States.
Morgan, Marilyn. Careers in criminology. Los Angeles,
Calif.: Lowell House, 2000.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV9950 .M674
2000
Description: Criminology - Vocational guidance
- United States.
Peat, Barbara.
From college to career: a guide for criminal justice
majors. Boston: Allyn and Bacon, 2004.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV9950 .P44
2004
Description: Criminal justice, Administration
of; Vocational guidance-United States.
return to top
Prince’s dictionary of legal citations: a reference guide for attorneys, legal secretaries, paralegals, and law students. 7th ed/ ed. Prince, Mary Miles. Buffalo, NY: William S. Hein, 2006. Location: Shady Grove REF KF246 .P73 2006 Description: Law-
United States Abbreviations.
Black's Law
Dictionary. 8th ed./ ed. Bryan A. Garner.
St. Paul, Minn.: Thomson/West, 2004.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF156 .B53
2004
Description: Law dictionary.
Burton, William. Burton's Legal Thesaurus. 4th ed revised New York:
Macmillan Library Reference. Location: Shady Grove REF KF 156. B856 2007
Description: Book provides words commonly used in the legal profession as well as corresponding synonyms.
Corpus juris
secundum: a complete restatement of the entire
American law as developed by all reported cases. St. Paul, Minn.:
West Pub. Co., [1936- Location: Shady Grove REF KF154 .C56
Description: Law - US, Law reports, digests.
Index to v. 22-24 issued as separate unnumbered volume with title: Index
to criminal law. Kept to date by cumulative annual pocket parts,
replacement volumes, and additional, extra numbered and lettered
volumes.
Encyclopedia of crime and justice. 2nd ed./
ed.
Joshua Dressler. New York: Macmillan Reference USA,
c2002. Location: Shady Grove REF HV6017.E52
2002 Description: 4 volumes: v. 1. Abortion to
Cruel & unusual punishment -- v. 2. Delinquent & criminal
subcultures to Juvenile justice: Institutions -- v. 3. Juvenile justice:
Juvenile court to Rural crime -- v. 4. Schools & crime to Wiretapping
& eavesdropping.
Encyclopedia of
crime and punishment. ed. David
Levinson. Thousand Oaks, Ca.: Sage Publications, 2002.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV6017 .E524 2002
Description: 4 volumes & Index. Criminal
justice and administration of criminal justice.
Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime. ed. Eric Hickey. Thousand
Oaks, California: Sage Publications, 2003.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV 6515.E5323
Description: Provides detailed excerpts of notable and infamous
homicides
over the course of recorded history.
Encyclopedia of
the American Constitution. 2nd
ed., editors: Leonard W. Levy, Kenneth L. Karst, Adam Winkler. New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF4548 .E53 2000
Description: 6 volumes; Constitutional law - United
States. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
Combs, Cindy. Encyclopedia of Terrorism. New
York: Facts on File, 2007.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV6431.C65 2007
Description: Encyclopedia provides detailed discussions of the who,
what, where, when, and why of terrorism.
Jost, Kenneth. The Supreme Court A to Z. Washington, D.C.: CQ Press, 2007.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF8742.A35 S8 2007
Description: Encyclopedia examines the court, its history, and the men and women who have served on it.
Jack R. Greene, editor. The encyclopedia of police science. New York: Routledge, 2007.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV7901 .E53 2007
Description: Covers all the major sectors of policing in the US.
U.S. Department of Justice. National criminal justice thesaurus. National Institute of Justice, 1998.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF 9223.A15U56 1998
Description: Book contains descriptors or terms used to index
literature in the National Criminal Justice Reference Service.
return to top
2007-
2008 NALP Directory of Law Schools. National
Association for Law Placement, 2007. Location: Shady Grove REF KF 266.N38 2007/2008 Description: A directory of law schools in the United
States.
ABA-LSAC Official Guide
to ABA-Approved Law Schools 2008. Editors:
Wendy Margolis, et al. Law School Admissions Council,2007. Location: Shady
Grove REF KF273.O33 2008 Description: Contains information about law schools in the
United States that are accredited by the American Bar Association (ABA) as well as information on
admission to the bar upon graduation.
Cracking the LSAT with DVD, 2008 Edition. Editors:
the Princeton Review Staff. Random House Information Group,
2007. Location: Shady Grove REF KF 285.Z9C74 2008 Description: Features full-legnth practice tests, video instruction, test prep techniques and question-answering strategies to help students succeed on the Law School Admissions Test examination.
Miller, Robert H. Law school confidential: the complete
law school survival guide : by students, for students. New
York: St. Martin's Griffin, 2000. Location: Shady Grove REF
KF283.M55 2000 Description:
Law-Study and teaching, United States; Law students, United States Handbooks, manuals,
etc.
return to top
Bannon, E. Mark. A Quick Reference Guide to Contemporary
Criminal Procedure
for Law Enforcement Officers. Springfield, Illinois: Charles C Thomas
Publisher.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF 9619.8.P65B36 2003
Description: Guide for law enforcement officers to understanding the
nature and impact of Supreme Court decisions.
Cane, Peter, Tushnet Mark. The Oxford Handbook of Legal
Studies. New
York: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Location: Shady Grove REF K 230.094 2003
Description: Book focuses on academics regarding law, legal rules, and
legal institutions.
Crime State Rankings. Lawrence, KS : Morgan Quitno Corp., c1994-
Location: Shady Grove REF KF8742.A35 S8 2007
Description: United States criminal statistics.
Edwards, Adam, Gill, Peter. Transnational Organised Crime: perspectives
on global security. New York, New York: Routledge, 2003.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV 6252. T748 2003
Description: This book considers the origins of
"transnational
organized crime," how it has been defined and measured, and the
appropriateness of governments' policy responses.
Feinman, Jay M. Law 101: everything you need to know about
the
American legal system. Oxford; New York: Oxford
University Press, 2000. Location: Shady Grove REF
KF387 .F45 2000 Description: Law, United States.
Gordon, Stacey L. Online Legal Research: A Guide to
Legal Research Services and Other Internet Tools. William S. Hein & Company, Inc., 2003.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF242 .A1G67 2003
Description: Information on how to conduct legal research online as
well as on major legal information databases such as WestLaw and LexisNexis.
Hall, L., Kermit. The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions. New York, New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF 4548.094 1999
Description: Landmark decisions made by the Supreme Court are examined.
Note: 2009 edition on order.
Hartman, Gary R. Landmark Supreme Court Cases: the most
influential
decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States. New
York: Facts on File, 2003
Location: Shady Grove REF KF8742 .H37 2004
Description: Provides current, concise and thorough
summaries of more than 350 of the most important and influential U.S.
Supreme Court cases.
Levitt, Carole, Rosch, Mark. The Cybersleuth's Guide to the
Internet: Conducting Effective Investigative and Legal Research on the Web. 8th Edition.
IFL Press, 2006.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF242. A1L478 2007
Description: Guide to legal information and research materials
available on the internet and how to locate it.
Melton, B. Gary, Petrila, John. Psychological Evaluations for the
Courts: A Handbook for Mental Professionals and Lawyers. 3rd Edition.
New York, New York: The Guilford Press, 2007.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF 8922.P77 2007
Description: Comprehensive guide to issues the legal system has most commonly asked clinicians to address.
Mersky, Roy M.
Fundamentals of Legal Research. Westbury,
New York: Foundation Press, 2002.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF240 .J32 2002
Description: Book provides a new intellectual framework for legal research, taking into account both traditional and computerized sources of legal info.
Neubauer, David W. America’s courts and the criminal justice system. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, 2008.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF9619 .N4 2008 Description: Highlights the role of the criminal courts within the criminal justice system and the courts' importance and impact on society as a whole.
Ojeda, Auriana.
Juvenile Crime: Opposing Viewpoints. San Diego:
Greenhaven
Press, 2002.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV 9069. J78 2002
Description: Opposing viewpoints are expressed regarding juvenile
crime.
Race, crime and the criminal justice system: a
bibliography. Compiled by Joan Nordquist. Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and
Research Services, 1997. Location: Shady Grove REF HV9950 .N67
1997 Description: Discrimination in criminal justice
administration; United States - Bibliography.
Sears, Jean L. Using government information sources: electronic and print. Phoenix, Ariz.: Oryx Press,
2001. Location: Shady Grove REF J83 .U98 2001 Description: Search strategy and government information sources, Government programs and grants,
Statistics, Foreign policy, Crime and criminal justice statistics, etc.
Schneider, F., James. A Century of Striving for Justice. Baltimore, Maryland: Maryland State Bar Association 1996.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF332. M36M3747 1996
Description: Well-documented history covers the past 100 years of the
Maryland State Bar Association.
Van Geel, Tyll. Understanding Supreme Court opinions,
3rd ed. New York: Longman, c2002.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF8742 .V36 2002
Description: Book provides the legal reasoning by Supreme
Court Justices behind decisions.
return to top
Note: The following is a selected list of electronic databases available through Shady Grove
Library. Please consult Research Port for the full list of available Criminology and Criminal Justice subject databases.
Please also note that registered patrons are required to Login for a remote access to the databases. Please contact a
library staff if you need additional information.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
Criminology database from Sage Publications, Inc. Comprehensive
coverage of international journals, books, reports, dissertations and
unpublished papers on criminology and related disciplines from 1968 to the
present. Prepared in co-operation with the Criminal Justice Collection of
Rutgers University Library, Criminal Justice Abstracts covers crime
trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile
justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. The database contains
indexes and summaries of international journal articles, books, and
governmental and non-governmental reports on virtually any topic in
criminal justice.
Criminal
Justice Periodicals (by Proquest)
Provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 200 U.S. and international
journals covering a broad range of criminal justice issues. Includes
full-text of 45 titles, including American Bar Association Journal,
Corrections Today, Crime & Delinquency, and Journal of Interpersonal
Violence.
Topics include: corrections administration, law enforcement, social
work, industrial security, drug rehabilitation, and criminal and family
law. Coverage: 1981-present.
LexisNexis Academic
Legal Research section has full-text of law reviews and legal
newspapers, newsletters and magazines, federal and state case law,
Shepard's citations for US Supreme Court cases, federal code and
regulations, and state code. "Get a case" section is the quickest way to
find any U.S. published court decision if you know party names or case
citations. It also has mostly full-text access to US and international
newspapers (including the Washington Post and the New York Times),
journals, wire services, and news transcripts.
Current Index
to Statistics (by CIS)
References are drawn from 162 core journals that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which
articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings, edited books, and other sources.
Includes criminology and criminal justice statistics. Access this
database via Reserch Port.
return to top
Web sites:
Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences
http://acjs.org/
The Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences is an international association established in 1963 to foster professional and scholarly activities in the field of criminal justice. ACJS promotes criminal justice education, research, and policy analysis within the discipline of criminal justice for both educators and practitioners.
ALMExperts.com
http://www.almexperts.com/EXPERTWITNESS
A listing of expert witnesses and consultants.
American Academy of Forensic Sciences
(AAFS) http://www.aafs.org/ Career and
educational opportunities, including a special page called the "Young
Forensic Scientists Forum" make this site valuable for aspiring and
practicing forensic scientists.
American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law
(AAPL) http://www.aapl.org This
organization consists of psychiatrists dedicated to practice, teaching and
research in forensic psychiatry, a subspecialty of psychiatry in which
scientific and clinical expertise is applied to legal issues regarding
civil, criminal, and correctional or legislative matters.
Content
includes a code of ethics, table of contents to Journal of the American
Academy of Psychiatry and the Law, and selected articles from the "AAPL
Newsletter."
American Society of Criminology
http://asc41.com/
The American Society of Criminology is an international organization concerned with criminology, embracing scholarly, scientific, and professional knowledge concerning the etiology, prevention, control, and treatment of crime and delinquency. This includes the measurement and detection of crime, legislation, the practice of criminal law, as well as a review of the law enforcement, judicial, and correctional systems.
Bureau of Justice Statistics http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/ This
site provides very good, comprehensive statistical resources for
criminology and criminal justice. Statistics regarding crimes and victims,
drugs, criminal offenders, the justice system and law enforcement are
included.
Federal Bureau of Investigation: Uniform Crime Reports http://www.fbi.gov/ucr/ucr.htm This
site provides official crime statistics for the entire United States. Find
Uniform Crime or Federal inmates, to introduce
professionalism to the prison service and to ensure consistent and
centralized administration of prisons. This site provides current and
historical statistics about the federal prison system. Statistical data
on federal prison populations by gender, race, ethnicity, age and other
demographic is available.
Legal Resource Guide to the Federal Bureau of Prisons
2004 http://www.bop.gov/news/PDFs/legal_guide.pdf This
publication is intended to serve as a guide to legal resources, including
relevant statutes, regulations, program statements (available on the
Internet), and current case law on issues that the BOP is facing today. It
also provides a general overview of the Bureau of Prisons, its services,
and programs.
Justice Studies Association http://justicestudies.org/
The Justice Studies Association (JSA) is a not-for-profit membership association established in 1998 to foster progressive writing, research, practice, and activism in all areas of criminal, social, and restorative justice.
Maryland Justice Analysis Center http://www.mjac.umd.edu/ The MJAC
began operating in 1985 as one of the state level Statistical Analysis
Centers coordinated by the Justice Research and Statistics Association.
This site provides the following: Criminal Victimization and
Attitude Surveys (collected in 1992 and 1993), Maryland Commission on
Criminal Sentencing Policy Sentencing Database; Prison Statistics; Links
to National and Maryland organizations.
Maryland State Law Library http://www.lawlib.state.md.us/ The
Maryland State Law Library Web site is an extremely useful place to find
out legal information for Maryland. There is a free online version of the
Maryland Code available here (full-text search available by Lexis-Nexis).
You can check their online catalog, consult their glossary of legal terms
and legal abbreviations, or consult their reference guides. Especially
useful is the extensive list of links to legal information on the internet
under the Quick Link: http://www.lawlib.state.md.us/Lawtopic.htm
NALP Directory of Law Schools http://www.nalplawschoolsonline.org NALP is an educational association established in 1971 to meet the needs of the participants in the legal employment process – legal employers, law schools, law students and graduates – for information, coordination, and standards. NALP’s membership includes virtually every ABA-accredited law school, several Canadian schools, and more than 800 legal employers across the country.
National Institute of Justice http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/nij/ NIJ is the research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice and is dedicated to researching crime control and justice issues.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
http://ojjdp.ncjrs.org/ The Office
of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) provides national
leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile
delinquency and victimization. OJJDP supports states and communities in
their efforts to develop and implement effective and coordinated
prevention and intervention programs and to improve the juvenile justice
system. The site provides full-text research articles, and bulletins, such
as the "Youth Violence Research Bulletin", and other publications
online. You can also link to the NCJRS site and reference resources.
On the Docket: US Supreme Court News - Northwestern
University http://otd.oyez.org On the Docket is an online clearinghouse for news about decisions handed down by the U.S. Supreme Court and those cases that the justices accept for review. On the Docket is a part of the Oyez Project, a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court and its work.
OYEZ (U.S. Supreme Court Multimedia site) http://www.oyez.org The Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality 'tour' of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook The
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more
than 100 sources about all aspects of criminal justice in the United
States.
Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration
http://samhsa.gov/
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) has established a clear vision for its work -- a life in the community for everyone. To realize this vision, the Agency has sharply focused its mission on building resilience and facilitating recovery for people with or at risk for mental or substance use disorders. SAMHSA is gearing all of its resources -- programs, policies and grants -- toward that outcome.
Supreme Court of the United States http://www.supremecourtus.gov/ The
Home page of the U.S. Supreme Court. Search and download Dockets,
Opinions, Briefs, Oral Arguments and Recent decisions. Find information
about the Supreme Court, the Constitution of USA, about visiting the
Court, and for public information on the court's activities and how to
contact.
Note: The following guides were created by the UM libraries unless otherwise stated.
Finding NCJRS Materials http://www.lib.umd.edu/GOV/ncjrs.html This
guide is found through the Government Documents page on UM Libraries Web
page. It will assist you with how to search the the National Criminal
Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) database.
Forensic Science Resources on the Internet http://www.istl.org/03-spring/internet.html
This
is an online guide authored by Cynthia Holt, Science and Engineering
Librarian, of the Gelman Library, George Washington University. The
scope of this web-bibliography is to point people to some of the best
resources on the web for forensic science research and information. Some of the annotations for the resources were drawn from the organization providing the resource.
Government Links – U.S. Federal, State, and
Local
http://www.lib.umd.edu/GOV/us_gov_links.html
This guide is provided by UM Libraries' Government Documents & Maps
department, located in the McKeldin Library. Most governmental bodies
in the United States at the federal, state and local levels make materials
available on the Internet. While print sources still tend to be more
useful for historical information on the Presidency, the Congress, and
other governmental bodies, materials on the Internet are often excellent
sources of current information. Provided at this site is a selection of
these resources.
A Guide to Criminal Justice Research at the University of
Maryland http://www.lib.umd.edu/MCK/ccjs100.html Research
resources compiled and Web page developed by librarians at University of
Maryland (UM) Libraries for use as a student guide to the CCJS100 class. UM Libraries have
many resources that will help
with research assignments. The following sources are suggestions only. If
you have questions about remote access to Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
from this page, please see Off-Campus Access to
Library Resources.
Legal Research - Case Law Guide and Resources http://www.lib.umd.edu/GUIDES/legalresearch.html
This guide was compiled and web page developed by Travis Johnson and Gerri
Foudy, Social Sciences Team, librarians at McKeldin Library. It contains a
primer on the US legal system, steps to legal research, electronic
resources, print publications and also a guide to citing legal resources.
Online Source of International Statistics http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/intstat.html Many
governments and international organizations are putting their statistical
data on the Internet. The majority of the sources listed here are
free-of-charge and accessible to anyone with access to the World Wide Web.
return to top
Citing Sources Using APA http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/citing_apa.html
This guide shows students how to correctly cite sources using the American Psychological Association's (APA) style. This style is commonly used in psychology social science programs,
including criminology.
This guide provides a basic list of formats for more common sources and is not a
comprehensive guide to this citation style. For more information, consult the American
Psychological Association's
Publication Manual of the APA, 5th edition. Located in Shady Grove Course Reserves and
Stacks BF76.7.P83 2001.
return to top
What is Plagiarism? http://www.lib.umd.edu/UES/plag_stud_what.html
This site explains what is considered plagiarism according to the
University of Maryland
Code of Academic Integrity. In addition, the site addresses proper ways to cite sources
according to the various
style manuals as well as research tips so that students can avoid making this costly
mistake.
return to top
Unless otherwise indicated, the following electronic journals
are full text. Because of licensing agreements, most of these journals can
only be used by current faculty, staff, and students of the University of
Maryland, College Park. These users can access them on campus or via Research Port. More
information on remote
access is available.
- The American journal of drug and alcohol abuse (1993- )
- Behavioral Sciences and the Law (1983- )
- The British Journal of Criminology (1960- )
- Crime and Delinquency (2000- )
- Criminal Justice and Behavior (2000- )
- Criminology (1970- ) [most recent year not available]
- Criminology and Public Policy (2001- )
- The Howard Journal of Criminal Justice (1998- ) [most recent year not available]
- International Journal of Offender Therapy and Comparative
Criminology (2000- )
- International Social Science Journal (1959- )
- The internet journal of forensic science (2003- )
- Journal of Criminal Justice (1995- )
- Journal of Homeland Security and Emergency Management (2004- )
- Journal of Interpersonal Violence (2000- )
- The journal of psychiatry & law (2002- )
- Journal of Research in Crime and Delinquency (2000- )
- Narcotics enforcement & prevention digest (2000- )
- Policing (1978- ) [most recent year not available]
- Prevention Science (2000- ) [most recent year not available]
- The Prison Journal (2000- )
- Social Science & Medicine (1995- )
- The Social Science Journal (1995- )
- Social Science Research (1995- )
- Theoretical Criminology (2000-
)
return to top
Please note: This is only a selection of print journals, related to
Criminology/Criminal Justice that are available at Shady Grove Library. Please check the Catalog for Criminology and Criminal Justice journals
available at different locations.
Title:
Criminology Frequency:Quarterly
Location: Shady Grove Periodicals REF HV6001. C7
Holdings: v.41- (2003-)
Title:
Criminology & Public Policy Frequency: Quarterly
Location: Shady Grove Periodicals REF HV6001. C734
Holdings: v.6- (2007-)
return to top
Please note: The videos listed below are all located at Shady Grove Library. For videos in
the UMCP Nonprint Media collection,
search the Catalog, choosing the "Nonprint Media
Services" option under
"Location" on the Advanced Search search boxes. Videos located in Nonprint Media cannot be checked out by
students but can be viewed on-site at Nonprint Media Services, located in the Hornbake Library building
at College Park.
A
Crime of Insanity. Produced and written by David Murdock; Miri
Navasky, and Karen O'Connor. Alexandria, Va.: PBS Home Video,
c2002. Location: Shady Grove REF RA1151 .C87
2002 Description: In 1994 a paranoid
schizophrenic man, Ralph Tortorici, took a class of college students
hostage, threatening and wounding one of them. This documentary examines
the ethical dilemmas surrounding the insanity defense.
In Search of Al Qaeda . Produced, written and
reported by Martin Smith. Alexandria, Va. PBS Video, c2002.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV6433.M52 I5 2002
Description: Follow the trail of Al Qaeda from
the Afghan border areas into Pakistan's cities, as U.S. and Pakistani
authorities track down some of the network's leaders. The journey
continues to other Middle Eastern countries, where local villagers,
officials and others are interviewed about what has happened to Al Qaeda
and its efforts to regroup.
In Search of Bin Laden . Produced and
directed by
Martin Smith ; written by Martin Smith and Lowell Bergman. (Alexandria,
Va.) PBS Home Video ; Burbank, CA.
c2001. Location: Shady Grove REF HV6430.B55
I5 2001 Description: Investigates Osama bin
Laden, his followers, and the bombings of two United States embassies in
Africa in 1998. This special edition has been updated to cover the attack
on the World Trade Center on September 11, 2001, of which bin Laden is
accused, and the 2000 bombing of USS Cole.
Juvenile Justice. Written by Michel Martin and
Janet Tobias. Produced and directed by Janet Tobias and Laura Rabhan
Bar-On; Alexandria, Va. PBS Video,
c2001. Location: Shady Grove REF HV9104 .J864
2001 Description: Explores whether children who
commit serious crimes should be tried as juveniles or adults. Illustrates
what can happen to young offenders when they use up their options in the
juvenile court system, and ways that these children can be effectively
rehabilitated.
Obedience. Producer, Stanley
Milgram. University Park, PA : Pennsylvania State University, Media
Sales, 1986. Location: Shady Grove REF BJ1459 .M55
1986 Description: Presents an
experiment conducted during 1962 at Yale University on obedience to
authority. Describes both obedient and defiant reactions of subjects who
are instructed to administer electric shocks of increasing severity to
another person.
Quiet Rage: The Stanford Prison Study . Produced
and directed by Ken Musen ; Written by Ken Musen and Philip Zimbardo.
Stanford, CA: Stanford University [distributor], [1992], c1991.
Location: Shady Grove REF HV6089 .Q54 1992
Description: Discusses a prison simulation
experiment conducted in 1971 with students at Stanford University and
considers the causes and effects that make prisons such an emotional
issue. Documentary includes new film, flashback editing, follow-ups
20-years later, and an original music score; reveals the chronology of the
transition of good into evil, of normal into the abnormal.
Real Justice. Produced and written by Ben
Loeterman & Ben Gale. Alexandria, Va. PBS Video, c1999.
Location: Shady Grove REF KFX1133.2 .R43
1999 Description: This documentary visits the
prosecutors of Boston's Suffolk County district attorney's office who
prosecute homicides, drug arrests, car theft, and assault and battery
cases. Goes inside the daily workings of America's criminal justice system
to reveal the offers, counteroffers, deals, and compromises that keep
cases moving through our crowded courts.
Scottsboro: An American Tragedy. Written and
directed by Barak Goodman; Alexandria, Va: PBS Home Video, c2001.
Location: Shady Grove REF KF224.S34 S26
2001 Description: In 1931, in Paint Rock,
Alabama, the scene of one of the most significant legal fights of the
twentieth century. The trials of nine black young men would draw North and
South into their sharpest conflict since the Civil War, yield two
momentous Supreme Court decisions and give birth to the civil rights
movement.
Slim Hopes: Advertising and the Obsession with
Thinness Written and
presented by Jean Kilbourne; executive produced, directed, and edited by Sut Jhally.
Northhampton, MA: Media Education Foundation, 2002. Location:
Shady Grove REF BF697.5 .B63S5 2002 Description: Illustrated
lecture which explores the manner in which women are portrayed by advertising with the focus on
thinness. Discusses the impact this portrayal has on the self images of women and girls.
The Supreme Court director, Thomas Lennon ; series producer, Mark Zwonitzer ; executive producer, Jody Sheff .
New York, NY : Ambrose Video Publishing, c2007. Location:
Shady Grove REF KF8742 .S857 2007 Description: A look at the history, impact and drama of The Supreme Court, focusing especially on the personalities of America’s highest court. Originally produced as a 4 episode documentary miniseries for public television in 2007.
return to top
|