navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: March 2008

Forensic Medicine Resources

Scope

This unique guide lists selected resources in forensic medicine and is especially designed for students enrolled in Multidisciplinary Examination of Forensics course offered at USG in collaboration with the disciplines of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Nursing, and Psychology. The course explores forensics by focusing on psychological dynamics, criminal investigative aspects, and nursing involvement within health care arena.

The print resources listed here are available in the Shady Grove Library (SHADYG). Electronic resources include proprietary databases, Electronic Journals, as well as Internet resources. Patrons not affiliated with University of Maryland will have access to electronic resources ONLY if they are in public domain or free. Such free electronic resources are identified as such.

We try to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and as up to date as possible. However, please note that Internet resources and their locations may change. If you find any link not working, or if you need assistance using these resources, please e-mail the Subject Specialist or call 301-738-6017.

Finding Books

You can use the Catalog to search for books, journal titles, government reports and other items owned by the UM Libraries including Shady Grove Library. It is also possible to search the entire UM System Catalog at once.

These are just a few examples. Please use the search box below to locate books in your subject area. Some common keywords associated with your topic are:

  • forensic nursing
  • forensic toxicology
  • DNA techniques
  • autopsy
  • criminal behavior or criminology
  • behavioral research
  • legal issues
  • death investigation
  • fingerprinting
  • abnormal psychology

In addition to print books the Catalog will also search for Electronic books provided by Net Library.

Finding Journal Articles

Research Port is the University of Maryland's portal to access journal articles. No Login is necessary for on-campus use of databases. However, it is preferred that you Login each time you access Research Port.

Your Home Campus Databases
Nursing-Hlth Sc.Lib Academic Search Premier
CINAHL-Ebsco
MEDLINE-OvidSP
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
PsycINFO
UMBC-Kuhn Lib Academic Search Premier
CINAHL-Ebsco
MEDLINE-Ebsco
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
PsycINFO
College Park Lib & Shady Grove Lib Academic Search Premier
CINAHL-Ebsco
Criminal Justice Abstracts-CSA
Criminal Justice Periodicals
MEDLINE-CSA
MEDLINE-Ebsco
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
PsycINFO

Open Access Databases

Following databases are in the public domain and are open to all. There is no login required to search them.

Databases Access method
PubMed Free access to PubMed
Haz-Map Hazardous Chemicals & Diseases Database
ToxNet Toxicology Data Network

In addition, we have listed some print journals and portals which provide free full text access to journals related to forensic medicine, psychology and criminology. You can also search the Journals Tab on Research Port.

Print Journals at Shady Grove Library Free Electronic Journal Collections
American Journal of Public Health Directory of Open Access
Health Affairs Free Medical Journals.com
Criminology PUBMED Central
American Psychologist Science Direct

Electronic Reports

  • Defining Death: Medical,legal and ethical issues in the determination of death
    http://www.bioethics.gov/reports/past_commissions/index.html This is an archival report prepared by the President's Commission for the study of ethical problems in medicine and biomedical and behavioral research. The question of ethical and legal implications of the matter of defining death, including the advisability of developing a uniform definition of death is discussed in this report. It is still quite relevant today.
  • Education and training in forensic science: A guide for forensic sciences laboratories, educational institutions and students.
    http://www.aafs.org/pdf/NIJReport.pdf
  • Online Skeleton
    http://www-personal.une.edu.au/~pbrown3/oskel.html
    Created by Professor Peter Brown as a booklet on Forensic Anthropology for students in the University of New England, New South Wales, Australia, this PDF version of human skeleton is in the public domain. Proper citation credits are appreciated.

Interactive Web Resources

Statistical Information

  • National Center for Health Statistics
    URL:http://www.cdc.gov/nchs
    NCHS contains links to data catalogs, data libraries, and social science gateways.
  • American Academy of Forensic Sciences
    URL:http://www.aafs.org
    AAFS is a multi-disciplinary professional organization that provides leadership to advance science and its application to the legal system. The main objectives of the organization are to promote education, foster research and encourage collaboration in the forensic sciences.
  • Statistical Resources on the Web
    URL:http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/statsnew.html
    Includes valuable links to both U.S. and international data.
  • Bureau of Justice Statistics
    URL: http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/
    Established in 1979 as a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S.Dept. of Justice, the mission of BJS is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

return to top

 

Please take a minute to fill out this survey so we can continue to provide you with excellent service.

What is your current status?
Undergraduate Graduate or PhD Faculty Other

How did you find this research guide?

What did you use this guide for?   

Did you find this guide useful?
Very Useful Somewhat Useful A Little Useful Not Useful

How could this guide be improved?

  

 

The Shady Grove Library is located at the The University System of Maryland (USM)
Shady Grove Center 9636 Gudelsky Way, Education Building III, Room 1200, Rockville, MD 20850, 301-738-6020.

Please send comments and suggestions to the Libraries' Webmaster.
Content questions should be directed to shadylib@umd.edu
Last modified: August 01, 2007


© 2002 University of Maryland Libraries
Last Revised: March 2008

University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search