navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: June 2008

Health Systems Management Resources

Scope

This guide lists selected reference resources, both in print and electronic, to help you in heath systems research. It is intended as a general reference for University of Baltimore health systems students enrolled at the Universities at Shady Grove-USG, faculty, and others interested in the field.

The print resources listed here are available in the Shady Grove Library(SHADYG). Electronic resources include proprietary databases, E- Journals as well as Internet resources. Patrons not affiliated with University of Maryland can access electronic resources ONLY from Shady Grove Library. Some electronic resources are freely available to all patrons and are identified as such.

We try to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and as up to date as possible. However, please note that Internet resources and their locations may change. If you find any link not working, or if you need assistance using these resources, please contact Shady Grove Library at shadylib@umd.edu or call 301-738-6017.

Finding Books

You can use the Catalog to search for books, journals titles, government reports and other items owned by the UM Libraries including Shady Grove Library. It is also possible to search University of Baltimore, Langsdale Library Catalog or search the entire UM System catalog at once.

These are just a few examples. Please use the search box below to locate books in your subject area. Some common keywords associated with Health Systems management are

  • delivery of healthcare
  • health policy
  • health services administration
  • healthcare administration
  • healthcare quality
  • health planning hospitals
  • health care facilities
  • health services research
  • hospital administration

In addition to print books the Catalog will also search for Electronic books provided by Net Library .

Finding Journal Articles

Research Port is the University of Maryland's portal to access databases. The following are selected databases available to you through Shady Grove Library. Use these databases to find journal articles, book reviews, book chapters, etc. related to your topic. Consult Research Port for the full list of available Health Systems related databases at Shady Grove Library. There is no login required for on site access to these databases.

If you are off-campus, you will need to log in with the barcode on the back of your student ID to access the databases via Research Port login. Please contact a library staff if you are not sure about your registration.

  • Pub Med
    Produced by the National Library of Medicine PubMed provides the Medline database which covers abstracts and indexing for about 4,600 biomedical journals published in the U.S. and 70 foreign countries. In addition to medicine, nursing, dentistry, and other biomedical fields, it also covers medical education and health care planning and administration of services.

  • CINAHL
    CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) covers over 1600 professional journals in nursing and allied health. Also includes publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association.

  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
    Provides access to nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on medical and nursing disciplines. It also covers health care and health administration in general.

Print Journals

Shady Grove Library subscribes to following print journals that provide information in healthcare management field. In addition, we have listed some portals which provide free full text access to journals related to healthcare administration and management. You can also search the E- Journals on Research Port.

Print Journals at Shady Grove Library Free Electronic Journal Collections
American Journal of Public Health Directory of Open Access
Health Affairs Free MedicalJournals.com
Journal of Healthcare Management PUBMED Central
  Science Direct

Resources on the Web

  • Association of University Programs in Health Administration-AUPHA
    http://www.aupha.org
    AUPHA is a not- for- profit association of university-based educational programs, faculty, practitioners, and provider organizations. AUPHA provides a central source for students to seek information on the best programs in the world.

  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality-AHRQ
    http://www.ahrq.gov/
    AHRQ's mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. The main goals of health services research are to identify the most effective ways to organize, manage, finance, and deliver high-quality care, to reduce medical errors and to improve patient safety.

  • Health Resources and Services Administration-HRSA
    http://www.hrsa.gov
    HRSA is the primary Federal agency for improving access to health care services for people who are uninsured, isolated or medically vulnerable.

  • Healthcare Financial Management Association-HFMA
    http://www.hfma.org
    HFMA is a membership organization for healthcare financial management executives and leaders. HFMA helps healthcare finance professionals meet the challenges of the modern healthcare environment by: providing education, analysis, and guidance; building and supporting coalitions with other healthcare associations to ensure accurate representation of the healthcare finance profession

Medical Data and Statistics

return to top

 

Please take a minute to fill out this survey so we can continue to provide you with excellent service.

What is your current status?
Undergraduate Graduate or PhD Faculty Other

How did you find this research guide?

What did you use this guide for?   

Did you find this guide useful?
Very Useful Somewhat Useful A Little Useful Not Useful

How could this guide be improved?

  

 

The Shady Grove Library is located at the The University System of Maryland (USM)
Shady Grove Center 9636 Gudelsky Way, Education Building III, Room 1200, Rockville, MD 20850, 301-738-6020.

Please send comments and suggestions to the Libraries' Webmaster.
Content questions should be directed to shadylib@umd.edu
Last modified: August 01, 2007


© 2002 University of Maryland Libraries
Last Revised: October 2007

University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search