navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: September 2008

HOSPITALITY MANAGEMENT

SCOPE: This guide has been prepared to aid students and faculty of the UM Eastern Shore Program in Hotel and Restaurant Management, being offered at the USM, Shady Grove Center. The program prepares students to enter middle management positions in lodging, restaurant, travel and the general hospitality management. The guide lists resources found at the UM, Shady Grove library, in print, and other media. It also contains hospitality industry related resources from UMES, Frederick Douglass Library, as well as from the World Wide Web.

For special assistance, you may send inquiries to shadylib@umd.edu or call 301-738-6120, for more information.


Catalog

Use the Shady Grove Library Catalog to search for books, journal titles, goverment reports and other materials owned by the Shady Grove Library.

Additional materials from the USM system libraries, such as circulating books, reference materials, and journal titles, can be found by using the USMAI Libraries' Catalog. This catalog search will allow patrons to locate circulating materials from the entire University System of Maryland and Affiliated Systems (USMAI) consortium of libraries. This includes the Frederick Douglas Library located at UMES. Patrons may "Request" a book through the Full record on the Catalog page and have it delivered to their desired library location.

Please contact our staff at the Shady Grove Library (301-738-6020) for further assistance.

 

return to top

Reference Books

The print reference materials (REF) listed here are available in the Shady Grove Library (SHADYG). These resources are non-circulating items and can not be borrowed from the library.

  • Cournoyer, Norman G. Hotel, Restaurant, and Travel Law: a preventive approach  Albany, N.Y.: Delmar Publishers, 2004.
    Location: SHADYG REF  KF951.C6 2004
    Description: Introduction to legal fundamentals for the hospitality industry, negligence, guest relationships, liability, guidelines on discrimination, etc.
  • Dun & Bradstreet/Gale Group Industry Handbook: [v.4] Entertainment and Hospitality --  Detroit: Gale Group, 2000.
    Location: SHADYG REF  HF5035.D86 2000 v. 4
    Description: Entertainment and Hospitality Industry Handbook. Overview of industry, statistics, Company directory, associations, trade information, etc.
  • Glossary of Hospitality Terms.  New York:  Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Assn., 1995.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX905 .G56 1995
    Description: Glossary for the profession.
  • Gray, William S. Hotel & Motel Management and Operations. 4th ed.  Upper Saddle River, NY: Prentice-Hall, 2003.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX928.G73 2003
    Description: Hotel Housekeeping Management. This 2003 edition deals with updated information of the industry. Main sections are: hotel and motel industry development, history, types of hotels, hotel management today, sales, marketing, operations, accounting controls, and the future of the industry.
  • Guide to College Programs in Hospitality, Tourism, & Culinary Arts. 7th ed. Richmond:  CHRIE, 2002.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.5.G855 2002
    Description: Directories of Cooking Schools in US, Tourism US Vocational Guidance, Hospitality Industry Study and Teaching (Higher) US. (CD-ROM).
  • Henkin, Shepard. Opportunities in Hotel and Motel Management Careers. Chicago, Ill.:  VGM Career Books, 2001.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.3.V62H46 2001
    Description: Hotel and motel management Vocational guidance, Careers in this industry.
    Note: 2008 Edition on order.
  • Hospitality Skills Training Series. Orlando, FL.; Educational Institute, American Hotel & Motel Association, 1995.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.3.H653
    Description: Hospitality Industry Employees Training: vol.1. Bartender Guide; vol 2. Restaurant Server Guide.
  • Katz, Solomon, ed. Encyclopedia of Food and Culture.  New York:  Scribner/Gale, 2003
    Location: SHADYG REF GT2853 .E53 2003
    Description: This 3-volume set presents 725 articles on food and its place in human culture and society.
  • Kavanaugh, Raphael R. Supervision in the Hospitality Industry. East Lansing, Mich.:  Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Lodging Association, 2001.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.3.P4K38 2001
    Description: Hospitality industry Personnel management.
  • Stipanuk, David M. Hospitality Facilities Management and Design.  Lansing, Mich: Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Lodging Association, c2006.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX928.S75 2006
    Description: Hotels, motels, restaurants, maintenance and repair. Building and facilities design and construction.
  • Schmidgall, Raymond S. Hospitality industry managerial accounting.  Lansing, Mich.: Educational Institute, American Hotel & Lodging Association, 2006.
    Location: SHADYG REF  HF5686.H75 S34 2006
    Description: Introduction to managerial accounting: balance sheet, income statement, statement of cash flows, ratio analysis, basic cost concepts, cost-volume-profit, analysis, cost approaches to pricing, forecasting methods, operations budgeting, cash management, internal control, capital budgeting, lease accounting, and income taxes.
  • Walker, John R. Introduction to Hospitality Management.  Upper Saddle River, N.J.:  Prentice Hall, 2004.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.3.M27 W3515 2004
    Description: Hospitality industry management overview. Includes trends and issues, national & international perspectives, career opportunities, professional development, etc.
  • Weygandt, Jerry L., et al. Hospitality financial accounting.  Hoboken, N.J.: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2009.
    Location: SHADYG REF  HF5686.H75 H66 2009
    Description: Hospitality accounting in action: accounting principles, recording process, adjusting the accounts, completion of the accounting cycle, financial statements, financial statement analysis, accounting for merchandising operations in hospitality, inventories and cost of goods calculation, internal control and cash, payroll, accounting for receivables and payables, long-term and intangible assets, sole proprietorships, partnerships, and corporations.

 

return to top

DATABASES AT UM LIBRARIES

USM patrons may gain access to the following databases locally through the Shady Grove Library's Web page (in the Library or in the Computer Lab). Remote access is available via Reseach Port  to all USM students, including UMES students. In order to conduct a search on Research Port, select which campus you are affiliated with and then log in with the barcode number on the back of your ID and your last name.

These databases contain hospitality related journal articles, in abstract and full-text form. Some of the journals to look for are:

  • The Cornell Hotel and Restaurant Administration Quarterly
  • Hospitality Design
  • Nation's Restaurant News
  • Restaurant Business
  • Restaurant Hospitality
  • Hotel and Motel Management
  • Lodging Hospitality
  • International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management
  • Nutrition and Food Science

 
Please note: Most electronic resources provided through the University of Maryland Libraries are subject to a variety of restrictions on access and use. Users should always consult the terms governing use (often referred to as "Terms and Conditions" or "Conditions of Use") on the home page of a resource to inform themselves about potential restrictions.

  • LexisNexis Academic
    Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included. Covers news, business, legal research, medical and reference information
  • Business Source Premier (via EBSCOhost)
    1965 to Present. Coverage varies by title. Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 4100 periodicals and offers full text for more than 3000 journals. Covers wide variety of business areas including accounting, economics, international business, finance, management, and marketing.
  • Hospitality and Tourism Complete (UMES log in required)
    1965 to present. Hospitality & Tourism Complete covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This comprehensive database combines the records of three renowned collections: Cornell University’s former Hospitality database, Articles in Hospitality and Tourism (AHT), formerly co-produced by the Universities of Surrey and Oxford Brookes, and the Lodging, Restaurant & Tourism Index (LRTI), formerly produced by Purdue University.

E-JOURNALS


Electronic journals are available via Find E-journal tab in the Research Port page, where patrons can browse the list of journals available or do a search by journal name or ISSN. UMES patrons can sign in with their barcodes to view the listed journals.

  • Annals of Tourism Reseach
  • Career Development International
  • The Cornell Hotel and Restaurant Administration Quarterly
  • Employee Relations
  • International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management
  • Journal of Workplace Learning

The following E-journals are available onsite via Research Port at the Universities at Shady Grove.

  • Benchmarking (an International Journal)
  • British Food Journal
  • Career Development International
  • The Cornell Hotel and Restaurant Administration Quarterly
  • Employee Relations (Emerald)
  • European Business Review
  • International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management
  • Journal of Workplace Learning

return to top

ONLINE GUIDES

  • Hospitality & Tourism.
    http://www.umes.edu/fdl/Reference/hospitality.htm
    Location: Frederick Douglass Library. Click on "Guides, Tutorials, and Publications".
    Description: This is a guide provided for UMES Hospitality Manangement students, prepared by the librarians at Frederick Douglass Library (FDL). This guide lists print resources at the FDL, electronic databases, and Web resources which are related to the studies of Hospitality.
  • Hotel Design Guide 
    http://www.lib.umd.edu/ARCH/guides/hotels.html
    Location: University of Maryland Libraries. Architecture Library's online resource.
    Description: This is a selective guide to resources for hotel design in the Architecture Library of the University of Maryland. For more help in your search, see "Search Tips" for useful Keywords at end section of the guide. Materials (except non-circulating) can be delivered to all branches of the USM Libraries, using the Catalog.
  • Nestlé Library's Cookery Guide. http://www.nestlelib.cornell.edu/research/guides/cooking.html
    Location: Selections from Nestlé Library's (Cornell University) holdings.
    Description: This guide provides resources and instruction for finding information on the subject of cookery. It also contains useful subject headings, research keywords, magazines and Internet resources. Note: Books that are not available in USM collections, may be requested via Interlibrary Loan through your home library (as long as they are not Reference).
  • Nestlé Library's Lodging Information Guide http://www.nestlelib.cornell.edu/research/guides/lodging.html
    Location: Selections from Nestlé Library's (Cornell University) holdings.
    Description: This guide provides various resources for finding information on the lodging industry. All print resources listed within this guide are located in the Nestlé Library (Cornell University) reference collection, unless otherwise noted. Note: Books that are not available at USM collections, may be requested (if not Reference) via Interlibrary Loan through your home library. The guide also contains subject headings for the lodging industry, handbooks, encyclopedias, government publications and Web resources.
  • Tourism and Hospitality Guide
    http://www.gwu.edu/gelman/guides/business/tourism.html
    Location: Gelman Library Resources in Hospitality & Tourism
    Description: The bibliography lists some of the most important specialized tourism and hospitality information sources, as well as a number of relevant indexes, available in the Gelman Library, GWU.

return to top

INDUSTRY RELATED ORGANIZATIONS

  • American Association of Franchisees and Dealers
    http://www.aafd.org/
    The AAFD is a national non-profit trade association representing the rights and interests of franchisees and independent dealers throughout the United States. The AAFD was formed by Declaration of Trust in May of 1992 with the mission of Bringing Fairness to Franchising.
  • American Culinary Federation
    http://www.acfchefs.org/
    Founded in 1929. "It's our goal to make a positive difference for culinarians through education, apprenticeship, and certification, while creating a fraternal bond of respect and integrity among culinarians everywhere."
  • American Dietetic Association
    http://www.eatright.org/
    Features: Healthy Lifestyles, Careers in Dietetics, Accreditation, Journal of ADA online and ADA Foundation.
  • American Hotel & Lodging Association
    http://www.ahla.com/
    AH&LA is the largest hotel and lodging association in the world, with members ranging across all segments of the lodging industry - from economy properties to five-star resorts - as well as students, teachers, legislators, and others who support the hotel and lodging industry. Link to AH&LA's Educational Institute http://www.ei-ahla.org for educational resources.
  • American Institute of Wine and Food
    http://www.aiwf.org/
    Description: In 1981 Julia Child, Robert Mondavi, Richard Graff, and others founded The American Institute of Wine & Food, a non-profit educational organization devoted to improving the appreciation, understanding, and accessibility of food and drink. Today, the AIWF has over 30 chapters in the United States and one in France, with more than 7,000 members who are restaurateurs, food industry professionals, food educators, nutritionists, chefs, wine professionals and dedicated food and wine enthusiasts.
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
    http://www.cdc.gov/
    The CDC is the nation's prevention agency. Their site provides links to various national centers on diseases and other governmental offices and programs with statistical data. There is also information on health risks, prevention guidelines, publications, links to the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR), the Journal of Emerging Infectious Diseases, and much more.
  • Center for Food Safety & Applied Nutrition
    http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/
    National food safety programs, FDA documents, recent news, program areas in food science, links to Code of Federal Regulation: Title 21 Food and Drugs.
  • Cornell Hospitality Links
    http://www.hotelschool.cornell.edu/links/
    This site is maintained by Hostline, the research service of the Nestlé Library at the Cornell School of Hotel Administration. It includes sites we find useful for hospitality research on the World Wide Web. Web pages are organized under headings, such as: Airline industry, Cruise industry, General Hospitality and Business Resource, Hospitality education, Hospitality News, etc.
  • Government Food Safety Information
    http://www.foodsafety.gov
    Site provides news update, consumer advice on current issues, information on foodborne pathogens, Federal & State Agencies list, etc.
  • The National Agricultural Library (NAL)
    http://www.nalusda.gov/
    The National Agricultural Library (NAL), part of the Agricultural Research Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, is one of four National Libraries in the United States. NAL is a major international source for agriculture and related information. This Web site provides access to NAL's many resources and a gateway to its associated institutions. The National Agricultural Library (NAL) is located near the intersection of U.S. Route 1 and Interstate Route 95/495 (Beltway Exit 25-North), Beltsville, Maryland, USA. Phone: 301-504-5755
  • National Restaurant Association
    http://www.restaurant.org/
    Founded in 1919, the National Restaurant Association is the leading business association for the restaurant industry. Together with the National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation, the Association's mission is to represent, educate and promote a rapidly growing industry that is comprised of 935,000 restaurant and foodservice outlets employing 12.8 million people.
  • State Health Departments
    http://www.fda.gov/oca/sthealth.htm
    FDA's List of State Health Agencies.
    http://www.statepublichealth.org/
    Search for State Public Health officials, State Health Agencies, Public Hotlines, etc. in all U.S. states.
  • United States Department of Agriculture(USDA)
    http://www.usda.gov/
    This site provides agricultural news, information on biotechnology, the Community Food Safety initiative, crop insurance, and food safety. You can also learn more about the different agencies, services, and programs run by the Department of Agriculture.
  • USDA's Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS)
    http://www.fsis.usda.gov/
    The Food Safety and Inspection Service is a public health agency of the Food and Drug Administration whose mandate is to protect consumers by ensuring that meat and poultry products are safe, wholesome, and accurately labeled.
  • U.S. Code of Federal Regulations
    http://www.gpoaccess.gov/nara/index.html
    See Foods in Title 21, parts 170-190.

Career Sites on the Internet:

JOURNALS (SERIALS) IN PRINT

Listed below are current journals (serials) available at the Shady Grove Library. For other holdings at USM Libraries, including the UMES Frederick Douglass Library, please search the Catalog using Keywords such as: hospitality, restaurant, lodging, hotel, motel, and "serial" combined.

If you need articles sent to you located at other than the Shady Grove Library, (in print, or online) please use the Frederick Douglass Library online ILL (interlibrary loan) link from that library's home page.

  • The Cornell Hotel and Restaurant Administration Quarterly.  Ithaca, N.Y.  School of Hotel Administration, Cornell University.
    Location: SHADYG- CURRENT JOURNALS and ARCHIVES. Shelved by title. Bimonthly, 2002-
    Description: Hotel and Restaurant management Periodical.
  • Gastronomica: the journal of food and culture.   Berkeley, CA: University of California Press.
    Location: SHADYG- CURRENT JOURNALS and ARCHIVES. Shelved by title. Quarterly, 2007-
    Description:  Journal of food and culture.
  • Journal of Hospitality & Tourism Research  (Washington, D.C.).  Council on Hotel, Restaurant, and Institutional Education (U.S.).
    Location: SHADYG CURRENT JOURNALS and ARCHIVES. Shelved by title. Quarterly, 2002- . 
    Description: Periodical in Hotel, Restaurant, and Food service management Study and teaching.

return to top

VIDEOS

Please note: The videos listed below are located at the Shady Grove Library. They can be viewed only in the library, and are not circulating. Faculty may borrow them for in-class viewing.

  • ADA, the Hiring Process. Production of the Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association. East Lansing, Mich.: EI Video Productions, 1992.
    Location: SHADYG REF  HD7256.A43 1993
    Description: ADA, the Hiring Process presents requirements for hiring disabled workers in the hospitality industry and includes profiles of some disabled workers in specific jobs. ADA, Stars of Hospitality includes interviews with managers who have hired disabled employees and the employees themselves. Includes a viewer guide and trainer guide.
  • Breaking Down Barriers: Achieving Great Service for Guests with Disabilities. 
    Writer: Wayne Carter; Producer: Melissa Kaplan; Director: Roshie Jones; Produced by American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute. Orlando, Flor.:  Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Lodging Association, 2001.
    Location: SHADYG  REF HV1553. B74 2001 .
    Description: Looks at the necessary skills and awareness all hotel employees should have so they can achieve the same level of service for all hotel guests. Topics include categories and definitions of disabilities, common myths about disabilities, basic courtesy skills, service tips for each specific disability, and facility-oriented issues and procedures.
  • Controlling Alcohol Risks Effectively: CARE for guest contact staff.  Produced by Educational Institute; Writer, Lisa J. Fortner; Editors, Richard L. Keener and Bridgette M. Redman. Orlando, FL Educational Institute, American Hotel & Motel Association, 1999.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.3.A4C66 1999
    Description: Guide for alcohol servers, laws, alcohol related policies & procedures, alcohol risk, friendly intervention, etc. Includes a Guide and Manual in print.
  • Discipline Today--a Positive Approach. Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association; Producer, Melissa Kaplan; Director, Randy Jay DeBoise; Writer, Robert Andorfer. East Lansing, MI: Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association, 1990.
    Location: SHADYG REF  HF5549.5.L3D57 1990
    Description: Gives hotel and motel managers and supervisors training in disciplinary matters. Print guide included.
  • Diversity: the Face of Hospitality. Produced for the American Hotel & Motel Association by the Educational Institute. East Lansing, MI: E.I. Video Productions, 1994.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.3.D58 1994
    Description: Gives managers and supervisors training in diversity matters.
  • Firing, the Right Way. Production of the Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association. East Lansing, Mich.: E.I. Video Productions, 1990.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.3.F57 1990
    Description: Trains managers and supervisors in the proper procedures for terminating an employee. Includes print guide.
  • Handling Problems and Conflicts. Produced by the Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association. Imprint Orlando, Fla: Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association, 1997.
    Location: SHADYG REF  HD42.H36 1997
    Description: Uses humorous dramatizations to illustrate how managers can follow the six steps to problem solving and the four steps of conflict resolution.
  • Hosting International Guests.  Writer, Guy Armstrong; Producer, Ray Belanger; Director, Abbie Burke; Produced by the Educational Institute of the American Hotel and Motel Association. East Lansing, MI: Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association, 1995.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.3.C8H67 1995
    Description: Designed to help line-level, guest-contact employees serve international guests more effectively. Includes topics such as recognizing the importance of and appreciating the diversity of international guests, understanding how to develop an international service style, and handling common situations with international guests successfully. Includes print guide.
  • Leadership. Produced by the Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association. East Lansing, Mich.: E.I. Video Productions, 1997.
    Location: SHADYG REF  HD57.7.L43 1997
    Description: Outlines the key points of successful leadership in the area of hospitality, including explaining leadership traits, managing power, understanding autocratic and bureaucratic leadership, varying leadership styles, and more.
  • Managing Quality Guest Service.  Produced for EI by GVI; Produced by The Educational Institute of the American Hotel and Motel Association. East Lansing, MI: The Educational Institute of the American Hotel & Motel Association, 1997.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.3.T73M36 1997
    Description: This film is a training video designed to improve service quality at hotels and motels using management skills. Managers use specific guest service techniques to show how it will make a difference for guests, employees, and the property.
  • Recruiting and Interviewing. East Lansing, MI: Educational Institute of American Hotel and Motel Association, 1997.
    Location: SHADYG REF  HF5549.5.R44R42 1997
    Description: Examines the recruitment and interviewing process, providing advice on how to locate and select good employees for hotels and motels.
  • Train the Trainer: preparing for training. [vol.1-3] Educational Institute of American Hotel and Motel Association ; Producer, Media Magic; Director, Writer, Brad Graham.  East Lansing, MI: Educational Institute of American Hotel and Motel Association, 1998.
    Location: SHADYG REF  TX911.3.T73T732 1998
    Description: Teaches those who will train employees in the hospitality industry how to prepare for the process. Discusses how to train employees using a one-on-one setting, rather than a group training session. 3-volume set. Includes print guides.

return to top

 
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search