|
Last revised: March 2008
Microbiology Resources
Scope
This guide lists selected print and electronic resources to assist in your research in areas of biology, microbiology and immunology. It is intended as a general reference for life sciences students at the Universities at Shady Grove (USG), faculty, and others interested in the field.
The print resources listed here are available in the UM Shady Grove Library(SHADYG). Electronic resources include proprietary databases, electronic journals, as well as Internet resources. Patrons not affiliated with University of Maryland have on-site access ONLY from Shady Grove Library. Some electronic resources are in public domain and are freely available to all patrons.
We try to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and as up to date as possible. However, please note that Internet resources and their locations may change. If you find any link not working, or if you need assistance using these resources, please contact Shady Grove Library at shadylib@umd.edu or call 301-738-6020.
You can use the Catalog to search for books, journals titles, government reports and other items owned by the Shady Grove Library. To give you an idea we have listed a few books from our catalog here. To search for additional books in microbiology and immunology or cell biology in the catalog, please use the search box provided.
- The dictionary of cell and molecular biology, 4th ed.
Boston : Academic Press, 2007.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: QH575 .D55 2007
- Molecular biology of the cell,5th ed. by Bruce Alberts
New York : Garland Science, 2008.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: QH581.2.M64 2008b
- Molecular cell biology, 6th ed. by Harvey Lodish
New York:W.H. Freeman,2008.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: QH581.2 .M655 2008
- Bacteria in biology, biotechnology, and medicine,6th ed. by Paul Singleton
New York : John Wiley & Sons, 2004.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: QR74.8 .S56 2004
Table of Contents
- The dictionary of environmental microbiology
New York: Springer Pub.,2001
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: RC954 .E53 2001
return to top
Databases
Use these databases to find journal article, book chapters, book reviews, etc. related to biology. Consult Research Port for the full list of available Biology or Cell Biology databases.
Please contact a library staff if you are not sure about your registration. There is no login required for on-campus access to these databases.
- BIOSIS Previews
Provides access to the life sciences literature from more than 5,500 journals, books, conference proceedings, US patents, papers and posters, nomenclature rules, and taxonomic keys. Interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering and biotechnology are also included.
- MEDLINE
via EBSCO
MEDLINE (National Library of Medicine) is the most authoritative biomedical information database;provides basic and abstract information on almost all medical fields including core collection of life sciences and biomedical literature.
- PubMed (Open
Access)
PubMed (National Library of Medicine)includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's;citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals; PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- Faculty of 1000
A rapid online service provided by Biomed Central. It highlights and evaluates the most interesting papers across the life sciences recommended by 1600 of the world's top scientists. Identifies key papers in closely related research areas evaluated by recognized experts. Divided into 16 subject areas or Faculties including biochemistry, bioinformatics, biotechnology, ecology, genomics and genetics, immunology, microbiology, neuroscience, physiology, plant biology,etc.
- Microbiology Abstracts
Provided by CSA this database covers a range of research, clinical, and practical applications in microbiology and bacteriology.Provides citations and summaries of original research in Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts, Bacteriology Abstracts, and Algology, Mycology, and Protozoology.
- Science Citation Index-Web of Science
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the sciences. It indexes more than 5,700 major journals across 164 scientific disciplines. The best database for finding what papers have cited other papers. Cited references can be traced forward in time.
Following is a selective list of life sciences journals available to you via the Journal Tab on Research Port.
The following Electronic Journal Collections offer a free open access to all patrons:
return to
top
- American Society for Microbiology
http://www.asm.org/
American Society for Microbiology-ASM-is the world's largest scientific society of individuals interested in the microbiological sciences. It's mission is to advance microbiological sciences through the pursuit of scientific knowledge and dissemination of the results of fundamental and applied research. In addition to publishing over 10 scholarly journals ASM also actively supports educational programs and trainings and workshops.
- The American Society for Cell Biology
http://www.ascb.org/
Founded in 1961, the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB) aims to bring the varied facets of cell biology together. Its objective is to provide for the exchange of scientific knowledge in the area of cell biology.
- American Type Tissue Culture
http://www.atcc.org
ATCC is a private, nonprofit biological resource center and research organization. Its focus is on the acquisition, authentication, production, preservation, development and distribution of standard reference microorganisms, cell lines and other materials for research in the life sciences.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information System
http://www.itis.gov/
The Integrated Taxonomic Information System-ITIS-is the result of a partnership of federal agencies formed to satisfy their mutual needs for scientifically credible taxonomic information. It hosts an easy- access database which provides reliable information on species names and their hierarchical classification. The database is reviewed periodically.
return to
top
- Hardin Meta Directory on Infectious Diseases, Bacterial Diseases and Microbiology
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/md/micro.html
This site is maintained by University of Iowa's Hardin Health Sciences Library. Hardin Meta Directory is one of the best and most complete directories for medical and health-related links.
- Public Library of Science
http://www.plos.org/
An excellent source of biomedical information the Public Library of Science is a nonprofit organization committed to providing free access to scientific and medical literature.It facilitates research, medical practice, and education by providing a free search of the full text of every published article to locate specific ideas, methods, experimental results, and observations.
- Saccharomyces Genome Database
http://www.yeastgenome.org
SGD is a scientific database of the molecular biology and genetics of the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae, which is commonly known as baker's or budding yeast. The SGD project at Stanford University is supported by a Genome Research Resource Grant from the US National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH.
- Martindale's Health Science Guide: Microbiology
http://www.martindalecenter.com/Medical1.html
This is a highly recommended comprehensive site from Martindale's Virtual Medical Center, a searchable textbook.
- Dr.Fungus
http://www.doctorfungus.org
This site is owned by the DoctorFungus Corporation and is dedicated to timely dissemination of information about fungal infections via the world-wide web. The information provided in this web site is primarily intended for physicians and researchers. However, others can use it too. Please make sure to read the policy and to obtain permission prior to using the information provided here.
- Atlas of United States Mortality
http://www.cdc.gov/nchswww/products/pubs/pubd/other/atlas/atlas.htm
A product of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, CDC, this site lists leading causes of death by race and sex for small U.S.
geographic areas.
- National Science Foundation: Statistical
Resources
http://www.nsf.gov/statistics/
Contains links to statistical agencies of the U.S. government as
well as many international statistical organizations.
- World Health Organization Statistical Information
System
http://www.who.int/whosis/en/ Describes and provides access to statistical and epidemiological
data and information presently available from the World Health
Organization.
return to
top
|