|
Last revised:June 2008
Psychology Resources
Scope: This guide provides a selected list of print and electronic resources in
Psychology. It is primarily intended as a general reference tool for UMBC Students at Universities at Shady Grove (USG), and others interested in the field.
The print resources listed here are available in the Shady Grove Library Reference collection
(SHADYG REF). They cannot be checked out. Electronic resources listed here include proprietary databases and E-journals as
well as Internet resources. These databases and E-journals can be accessed only at Shady Grove Library. There is no Login
required for in-house use of these electronic resources.
UMBC patrons can also access databases and E-journals available to them via Albin O. Kuhn Library. A Login to Research Port is required for
remote access to Kuhn Library databases.
If you find any link not working, or if you need assistance using these resources, please contact Shady Grove Library at shadylib@umd.edu or call 301-738-6020.
- Carter, Robert T. ed. Handbook of Racial-Cultural Psychology and Counseling. 2 vols. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley & sons;
2004.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. RC455.4.E8H368 2004
- Damon, William, ed. Handbook of Child Psychology, 5th ed. New York, NY: John Wiley; 1998.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF721 .H242 1998
- Pope-Davis, Donald B. Handbook of Multicultural Competencies in Counseling & Psychology. Thousand Oaks, CA:
Sage Publications, 2003.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF637.C6 H3173 2003
- Steele, R. G. & Michael Roberts, eds. Handbook of Mental Health Services for Children,
Adolescents, and Families. New York, NY: Kluwer Academic Publishers; 2005.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. RJ501.A2 H36 2005
- Teti, Douglas, M. Handbook of Research Methods in Developmental Sciences.
Malden, MA: Blackwell; 2005.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF713.5 .H36 2005
- Valsiner, J. & Kevin J. Connolly, eds. Handbook of Developmental Psychology. Thousand Oaks,
CA: Sage Publications; 2003.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF713 .H364 2003
return to top
- Corsini, R. J., & Auerbach, A. J., eds. Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2nd ed. New York,NY: Wiley; 1998.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF31 .C67 1998
- Corsini, R.J. The Dictionary of Psychology. Philadelphia, PA: Brunner/Mazel; 1999.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF31.C72 1999
- Hall, Lena E. Dictionary of Multicultural Psychology: Issues, Terms, and Concepts. Thousand Oaks, CA:Sage Publications; 2005.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. GN502 .H336 2005
- Parke, Ross D. & Virginia Otis Locke, eds. Child Psychology: A Contemporary Viewpoint. Boston, MA: McGraw
Hill; 2003.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call no. BF .H418 2002
- Roeckelein, Jon E. Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press; 1998.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF31 .R625 1998
- Strickland, Bonnie, ed. The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology. Detroit, MI: Gale Group; 2001
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF31 .G35 2001
return to top
Note: The following electronic databases are available through Shady Grove Library. Use these databases to find journal article, book chapters, book reviews, etc. related to your topic. Consult Research Port for the full list of available Psychology subject databases.
These databases can also be remotely accessed by registered patrons via Research Port.
Please contact library staff if you need additional information.
- PsycARTICLES
This is a small searchable database of full text articles from major journals published by the American Psychological Association.
All these full text journals are indexed in PsycINFO.
- PsycINFO
PsycINFO covers the entire range of psychology disciplines, and also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as psychiatry, neuroscience, medicine, sociology, education, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
- Academic Search Premier
This multidisciplinary database provides abstracts and indexing for over 7,000 journals and full text of over 4,000 scholarly publications, including more than 3,100 peer-reviewed publications.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
The Yearbook provides full-text descriptive entries, references, and full-text critical reviews of more than 2,200 assessment
tools. It is the most authoritative and well-known index to educational, psychological, and vocational tests and measurements
commercially published in the English language.
- Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is an upgraded version of Business Source Premier. It provides a comprehensive coverage in all aspects of business. In addition to the searchable cited references, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the most-cited authors in the database. It is a useful database for industrial and organizational psychology resources.
return to top
Most journal titles in psychology are searchable through Research Port, UM Libraries'
gateway to electronic resources. The following print journals are available at Shady Grove Library. Please check the
UM Libraries' Journals Catalog for subscription years and issues available.
- American Psychologist
- Annual review of Psychology
These journals are available in Microfiche format at Shady Grove Library. Please check the UM Libraries' Journals Catalog for subscription years available. If you need assistance with Microfiche journals,
please check with library staff.
- American Journal of Orthopsychiatry
- American Psychologist
- Journal of Applied Psychology
- Journal of Abnormal Psychology
- Journal of Personality and Social Psychology
- Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology
Shady Grove Library has an extensive collection of videos and DVD's in Psychology and related fields. Our
video collection is searchable but it is non-circulating. Library has two video viewing stations. Registered patrons can borrow
the videos to view in the library. These are just a few of the titles the library owns:
- The Psychology of Criminal Behavior
- Emotional Development of Children
- Client Centered Therapy
- Cognitive Therapy for Borderline Personality Disorder
- Sensation and Perception
- Behavior Disorders of Childhood
- Personality Disorders; Substance Abuse Disorders
- Looking at Abnormal Behavior; the Nature of Stress
- Anxiety Disorders
return to top
Cohen, R.J., & Mark Swerdlik. Psychological Testing and Assessment: An Introduction to Tests and Measurements. New York, NY: McGraw Hill;2002.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF 176 .C63 2002.
Corcoran, K., & Joel Fischer, eds. Measures for Clinical Practice. 2 Vols. New York, NY: Free Press;
2000.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF 176 .C66 2000
Maddox, T., ed. Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education and Business. 5th ed.
Austin, TX: Pro-Ed.; 2003.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF 176 .T43 2003
Tulsky, D. S. et al. eds. Clinical Interpretation of WAIS-III and WMS-III. San Diego, CA: Academic Press;
2003.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call No. BF 432.5.W4C54 2003
return to top
- Social Psychology Network
Started as a resource for students at Wesleyan University, the network now maintains over 12,000 links and is perhaps the
largest social psychology database on the Internet.
- Psychology Resources
Annotated guide to psychology resources on the internet; this site is maintained by Education Index.
- Association for Psychological Science
The Association for Psychological Science (previously American Psychological Society) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the advancement of scientific psychology and its representation at
the national level. Provides a comprehensive list of some very useful links to additional psychological resources and organizations
both international and within the United States.
- Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology
The Society's mission is to enhance human well-being and performance in organizational and work settings by promoting the science, practice, and teaching of industrial-organizational psychology.This is amembership organization promoting the education of current and future industrial-organizational psychologists.
return to top
|