|
Last revised: June 2008
Special Education Resources
Scope:
This guide lists selected reference resources, both print and
electronic, for information on Special Education. It is intended as a
general reference for students, faculty, and others interested in
general and professional literature in special education. The
print resources listed here are available in the USM Shady Grove
Library(SHADYG REF).These resources cannot be borrowed from the library.
For more information, please contact Shady Grove Library at shadylib@umd.edu or call (301) 738-6020.
These
reference resources are useful in providing background information on
the research literature. They provide a detailed definition, an
overview and scholarly articles on special education topics. They
usually have extensive bibliographies at the end for further research. You can search the catalog to look for books on your topic.
- Dictionary of Multicultural Education.
AZ: Oryx Press, 1997
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: LC 1099.D53 1997
This is an excellent resource for scholars, students, education
practitioners and general public alike. There are many cross references and under each entry the original contributor is mentioned. It is a very good source of information for the growing minority population.
- The Complete Learning Disabilities Directory.
CT: Grey House Pub.1994-
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: LC 4704.6.C66
The directory is useful both for education professionals as well as for parents and families. Shady Grove Library has 2004/2005 ed. in the stacks. The latest edition-2007-is kept in the Reference collection.
- Encyclopedia of special education : a reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals.
NY: Wiley & Sons, 2007
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: LC4007.E53 2007
A standard desk reference tool for both professionals and parents of exceptional children. There are over 2000 entries categorized as
biography, educational and psychological tests, intervention, as well
as policy and legal information.
- Encyclopedia of American Education.
NY: Facts on File, 2001
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: LB17.U54 2001
A standard, easy to read reference tool in three volumes; covers administrative,legal and all other aspects of education system in the United States including women's education, home schooling, special education, and minority education.
- The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities.
NY: Facts on File, 2002
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: LC 4704.5.E53 2002
The encyclopedia presents over 400 entries which define the different types of learning disabilities, including neurological damage, perceptual dysfunction and language disorders; causes and treatments; psychological and medical terms; pharmacology; and therapies.
Following databases can be accessed through Research Port. Some databases have user restrictions. Please note that you must be currently registered with the university in order to access these databases remotely.
- ERIC
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Center), is a national
information system which provides access to information from over 1000
journals and reports included in the Current Index of Journals in
Education and Resources in Education Index.
- Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete provides bibliographic citations and full text from over 1500 education language periodicals and yearbooks published in American and elsewhere. Is also abstracts book reviews, and selected series articles and supplements.
- Academic Search Premier
- LexisNexis
Academic
These two databases are multipurpose databases and they provide a good coverage of educational issues including special education.
- Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Publisher of the Mental Measurement Yearbook, this institute also provides links to other mental measurement information resources through their Buros Desk Reference Series. They also provide focused reviews of the literature to identify the tests that may be useful for specific purposes.
- Education World
Includes a Special Education Subject Center; information and tools from Education World and other valuable sources for the special education community are provided.
- Office of Special Education: A Web Resources for Special Education
This office is a part of Curry School of Education, University of VA.
It provides extensive list of special education resources for professionals and also for the families of children with disabilities. It includes information on interventions, standards and directories.
- Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS)
OSERS provides a wide array of support to families, educators, school
districts and states in these three main areas: special education
(OSEP), vocational rehabilitation(RSA),
and research (NIDRR).
- LD On-line
LD Online is a service of WETA public television. It provides basic
research and legislative information related to learning disabilities.
- Council for Exceptional Children
CEC is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving educational outcome of special children. CEC advocates for appropriate governmental policies, sets professional standards, provides continual professional development, advocates for newly and historically underserved individuals with exceptionalities, and helps professionals obtain conditions and resources necessary for effective professional practice.
- Guide to Education Programs
This is a subset of the larger Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance.
Information on grants, contracts, and other funding opportunities from
the U.S. Department of Education is available here. This resource is
searchable by subject, applicant eligibility, type of assistance, and
level of education. Information includes program description,
legislative authority, eligibility, appropriations, and contact
information.
One way to search for articles in Research Port is to search the E-journals.
In addition, the following journals are available in print and/or Microfiche in the Shady Grove Library. Please check with a library staff if you need help locating the Microfiche (MF) collection.
- Early Childhood Education Journal (MF)
- Early Childhood Research Quarterly (MF:1999-2002)
- Early Childhood research Quarterly (Print: 2008-)
- Journal of Special Education Technology (Print)
- Teaching Exceptional Children (Print)
- The Reading Teacher (Print)
- Zero to Three (Print)
When writing a research paper, you have to explain where you got your
information. Some of the ideas you use will be your own, but many will
have come from information you have read and people you have
interviewed about your research topic. To explain where the information comes from, you have to give (cite) the source. The following resources may help you in writing research papers and also to determine how to cite references.
- APA Style Manual
- Citation Systems and Style Manuals
If you have any questions about any of these resources, please contact us at shadylib@umd.edu.
return to top
|