|
Last revised: June 2008
Nursing Resources
ScopeThis guide lists selected reference
resources, both in print and electronic, to help you in nursing research. It is intended as a general reference for nursing students at Shady Grove Center, faculty, and others interested in the field.
The print resources listed here are available in the UM Shady Grove Library(SHADYG). Electronic resources include proprietary databases, E- Journals as well as Internet resources. Patrons not affiliated with University of Maryland can access electronic resources ONLY from Shady Grove Library. Some electronic resources are freely available to all patrons and are identified as such.
We try to ensure that the information provided here is accurate and as up to date as possible. However, please note that Internet resources and their locations may change. If you find any link not working, or if you need assistance using these resources, please e-mail the Subject Specialist or call
301-738-6017, or 301-738-6020.
- The American Heritage Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Boston: Houghton Mifflin Co., 1995.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: R121 .A53 1995
- Dictionary of Medical Eponyms.
Boca Raton: Parthenon, 2002.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: R121 .F535 2002
- Melloni's Illustrated Medical Dictionary.
Boca Raton: Parthenon, 2002.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: R121.D76 2002
- Mosby's Medical, Nursing & Allied Health Dictionary,6th ed.
St.Louis: Mosby, 2001.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: R121 .M89 2001
return to top
- Encyclopedia of Elder Care: the Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care.
New York: Springer Pub.,2001.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: RC954 .E53 2001
- Encyclopedia of Nursing Research.
New York: Springer Publishing Company, Inc.,1998.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: RT81.5.E53 1998
- Miller-Keane Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine,Nursing, and Allied Health.
Philadelphia: Saunders, 1997.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: R121 .M65 1997
- Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary.
Philadelphia: F.A. Davis Co., 1995.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: R121 .T144 1997
return to
top
You can use the Catalog to search for books, journals titles, government reports and other items owned by the Shady Grove Library.It is also possible to search Health Sciences and Human Services Library Catalog.
The Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: RT51 .B78 2006
The Clinical Practice of Neurological and Neurosurgical Nursing.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: RC350.5 .C55 2003
Pharmacology for Nursing Care.
Location:SHADYG REF
Call Number:RM301 .P457 2007
Drug Information Handbook.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: RM301.12 .D78 2005-2006
Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: A Guide to Planning Care.
Location: SHADYG REF
Call Number: RT48.6 .A35 2002
return to
top
return to
top
The following electronic databases are provided through College Park. Registered patrons have remote access via Research Port.
Please contact a library staff if you are not sure about your registration. There is no login required for onsite access to these databases.
Please Note: Remote access to
databases and Electronic Journals for UMB Nursing students at Universities at Shady Grove is provided via Health Sciences and Human Services Library portal.
- Ageline
Provides citations and abstracts to the literature of middle age and aging; includes original abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and research reports on various aging-related topics which include the social sciences, health and health care, consumer/personal and service issues.
- CINAHL
A comprehensive database for nursing and allied health; provides summaries of articles from more than 1,900 journals covering all facets of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology, criminology, demography, and urban studies.
- Health
Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides access to nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on medical and nursing disciplines; also provides basic citation and abstract information from over 500 additional medical and nursing journals.
- MEDLINE
via EBSCO
MEDLINE (National Library of Medicine) is the most authoritative biomedical information database;provides basic and abstract information on almost all medical fields including core collection of nursing journals also.
- PubMed (Open
Access)
PubMed (National Library of Medicine)includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's; citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals; PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
return to
top
The following Electronic Journal Collections offer a free access:
return to
top
The following is a selected list of Nursing videos available at the Shady Grove Library front desk to view. They may be checked out up to two hours to view inside the Library. A study Guide is included with most videos. Please search the Catalog for titles or check with a library staff for individual titles.
- Mosby's Physical Examination Series.
- A Visual Guide to Physical Examination Series-Bates
Series
- The Nurse Theorist: Portraits of Excellence
- Pediatrics and Maternal Health Video Tapes
- Trouble in Mind Series
return to
top
- American Nurses Association
http://www.nursingworld.org/
provides association news and information, nursing links to academic, government,and international organizations; also lists nursing listservs,newsgroups and journals.
- American Nursing Informatics Association
http://www.ania.org/
ANIA provides networking, education and information resources that enrich and strengthen the roles of nurses in the field of informatics. It also offers a professional network for nurses working in healthcare informatics.
- CulturedMed
http://culturedmed.sunyit.edu/
This site is created by SUNY Institute of Technology library. It
provides information on culturally-competent health care issues for
refugees and immigrants.
- Hardin Meta Dirrectory on Nursing
http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/md/nurs.htmlThis site is maintained by University of Iowa's Hardin Health Sciences Library. Hardin Meta Directory is one of the best and most complete directories for medical and health-related links.
- Health Sciences and Human Services Library
http:www.hshsl.umaryland.edu/resources/nursing.html
A nice comprehensive list of nursing resources selected by the University of Maryland, Baltimore Health Sciences Library.
- HealthWeb: Nursing
http://healthweb.org/nursing
This site is well organized and offers easy navigation to basic and guided searching from AIDS to Women's Health.Provides a variety of information of interest to nursing students and faculty, including links to electronic journals, licensing and certification information, clinical nursing resources, and nursing research.
- Medical Images on the Web
http://www.unmc.edu/library/reference/medimage.html
This is an excellent portal of medical images. Each link is evaluated and annotated and collection of images well organized.
- MedWeb's Nursing Page
http://www.medweb.emory.edu/MedWeb/
MedWeb is a catalog of biomedical and health related web sites maintained by Emory University Health Library. Choose subjects to browse and select "Nursing."
- NursingCenter.com
http://www.nursingcenter.com/ Provides abstracts of the Lippencott journals, licensing and certification information, links to other nursing sites, and a nursing forum.
- Physical Exam Study Guides
http://medinfo.ufl.edu/year1/bcs/clist/index.html
These guides are created by University of Florida medical program. They are clear and easy to follow.
- RN Central
http://www.rncentral.com
This site is created by nurses. It offers good resource links and also offers a "Careplan Corner" which has predefined care plans for nursing students.
return to
top
return to
top
|