Soil Science
Scope : Soil science is a broad area of study
including agriculture, biology, chemistry, engineering, and physics. This
guide can be used as a starting point for research into these and other
aspects of soil science, however the focus of the guide is on agriculture.
Email the subject area specialist at daustin (@umd.edu) or call (301)405-9666
for more information.
To locate books on soil science and related topics use the UM
Libraries' online Catalog
. You will find books on aspects of soil science by entering any of the
following terms:
Soil Biology
Soil Chemistry
Soil Composition
Soil Conservation
Soil Geography
Soil Irrigation
Soil Management
Soil Mechanics
Soil Microbiology |
|
Soil Moisture
Soil Percolation
Soil Physics
Soil Pollution
Soil Stabilization
Soil Structure
Soil Surveys
Soilborne Infection
Sustainable Agriculture
|
To locate journals in the Catalog,
Once in the catalog, click at the top of your screen on the word "journals"
and then enter the name of the publication you are looking for into the
catalog search box. Then choose (from the drop-down menu)"title beginning
with" or "words in title". Then click "Search".
Example: Soil Science Society of America journal
For more specific searching instructions, please Ask Us!
McDonald, Peter. The Literature of Soil Science. Ithaca, N. Y.:
Cornell University Press, 1994.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks, 1st floor
CALL NUMBER: S590.45.L58 1994
return
to top
Many of the following bibliographies are a part of the Quick Bibliography
Series produced by librarians at the National Agricultural Library (NAL).
These bibliographies were compiled by conducting searches on AGRICOLA
(see Databases
section below). To find other bibliographies in this series, search in
the Catalog
using the keyword QUICK combined with your other search words.
Many of these and other bibliographies are available in full text on the
NAL web site.
- Bailey, George D. Bibliography of Soil Taxonomy, 1960-1979.
Wallingford, Eng.: CAB International, 1987.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Folio
section.
CALL NUMBER: S592.16.B25 1987; 7th floor East Wing.
- Miedema, Rienk, and Ahmet R. Mermut, eds. Soil Micromorphology:
An Annotated Bibliography 1968-1986. Wallingford, Eng.: CAB International,
1990.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: S593.2.S564 1990, 7th floor east wing.
- Schneider, Karl. Soil Organic Matter: Impacts on Productivity,
January 1988 -February 1992. Beltsville, Md.: U. S. Dept. of Agriculture,
National Agricultural Library, Quick Bibliography Series QB 92-37, 1992.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: SU DOC A17.18/4:92-37; 4th floor.
- Schneider, Karl. Soil Testing and Plant Analysis for Fertilizer
Recommendations, January 1991 - June 1993. Beltsville, Md.: U. S.
Dept. of Agriculture, National Agricultural Library, 1993. (Quick Bibliography
Series, QB 93-54)
LOCATION(S): Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: SU DOC A17.18/4:93-54; 4th floor.
- Turner, Nancy LeBlanc. Soil Fertility and Crop Production 1895
-1930: January 1979 - April 1990. Beltsville, Md.: U. S. Dept. of
Agriculture, National Agricultural Library, Quick Bibliography Series,
QB 90-68, 1990.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: SU DOC A17.18/4:90-68; 4th floor.
return
to top
- Dalal-Clayton, D. B. Black's Agricultural Dictionary. 2nd ed.
Totowa, N. J.: Barnes & Noble Books, 1985.
LOCATION(S): Mckeldin Reference Stacks & McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S411.D245 1985 1st floor and 7th floor East.
- Gregorich, E.G., ed. Soil and environmental science dictionary.
Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2001.
LOCATION(S): Engineering Reference
& McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S592.S59 2001; 1st floor
- Jongerius, A., and G. K. Rutherford, eds. Glossary of Soil Micromorphology.
Wageningen: Pudoc, 1979.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S593.2.G65; 1st floor.
- Lipton, Kathryn L. Dictionary of agriculture: from abaca to zoonosis
Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 1995.
LOCATION(S):McKeldin Reference Stacks and Online through NetLibrary
CALL NUMBER: S411.L55 1995, 1st floor.
WWW ACCESS: Dictionary
of agriculture: from abaca to zoonosis
Bibliographic record display . Access to this electronic book is available
to students, faculty and staff at the University System of Maryland
and other Maryland Digital Library institutions.
- Internet Glossary
of Soil Science Terms.
Madison, WI: Soil Science Society of America, 2001.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S592.G58 1997; 1st floor and available online at [http://www.soils.org/sssagloss/index.html]
- Glossary of Soil
Microbiology Terms, compiled by David Sylvia, Soil and Water Science
Department, University of Florida.
Available online at [http://dmsylvia.ifas.ufl.edu/glossary.htm].
- Subsurface-Water Flow and Solute Transport: Federal Glossary of
Selected Terms.
Prepared by the Subsurface-Water Glossary Working Group, Ground-Water
Subcommittee, International Advisory Committee on Water Data. Reston,
VA: Dept. of the Interior, U. S. Geological Survey, Office of Water
Data Coordination, 1989.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: SU DOC I19.74:989; 4th floor.
return
to top
Agricultural Research Centres : A World Directory of Organizations
and Programmes. 12th ed. London: Cartermill, 1995.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S530.5 .F37 1995; 1st floor.
This directory and the one above are arranged alphabetically by research
center within country. Each has an institution title and subject index.
return
to top
- Anderson, J. M. and J. S. I. Ingram, eds. Tropical Soil Biology
and Fertility: A Handbook of Methods. 2nd ed.
Wallingford, Eng.: CAB International, 1993.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Folio Section
CALL NUMBER: S599.9.T76T76 1993, 7th floor.
- Arntzen, Charles J., and Ellen M. Ritter., eds.
Encyclopedia of Agricultural Science.
San Diego: Academic Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S411.E713 1994; 1st floor
Look in Volume 4 under Soil topics.
- Fairbridge, Rhodes W., and Charles W. Finkl, Jr., eds.
The Encyclopedia of Soil Science Part 1 : Physics, Chemistry, Biology,
Fertility, and Technology.
Stroudsburg, Pa.: Dowden, Hutchinson and Ross, 1979.
LOCATION(S): Engineering Library Reference, Library Reference
CALL NUMBER: S592.E52 Vol. 1
- Howard, Amster K. Unified Soil Classification System: Test Procedures.
3rd ed.
Denver, Colo.: Geotechnical Branch, Division of Research and Laboratory
Services, Engineering and Research Center, Bureau of Reclamation, 1988.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents
CALL NUMBER: SU DOC I27.72:88-8; 4th floor.
- Publications Handbook and Style Manual.
Madison, Wisc.: American Society of Agronomy, 1988.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S494.5.A96P83 1988; 1st floor.
- Sumner, Malcolm E., ed. Handbook of Soil Science.
Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 2000.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S591.H23 2000; 1st floor.
- World Reference
Base for Soil Resources. Rome: FAO, 1998. (World Soil Resources
Reports #84).
LOCATION(S): Government Documents, LC DOC
CALL NUMBER: S591.W875 No. 84, Available online at [www.fao.org/docrep/W8594E/W8594E00.htm].
- Yuste, MariPaz. Handbook of Agriculture.
New York: Marcel Dekker, 1999.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Library Reference
Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S493.Y88 1999; 1st floor.
P. 1-120 cover soils, fertilizers, and organic matter.
return
to top
The Government Documents
Unit, located on the 2nd floor of McKeldin Library, has an extensive
collection of soil surveys ands related materials. These are county surveys
and provide in-depth soil descriptions as well as information on the use,
management, formation, and classification of soils. To find out whether
the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (formerly the Soil Conservation
Service) has done a survey on a county, check the following publication,
or the Monthly Catalog of Government Publications. The soil surveys are
arranged in alphabetical order by county name, regardless of state, on
the Government Documents Room shelves.
List of Published Soil Surveys.
Washington, D. C. : U. S. Dept. of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service.
Annual.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents
SuDoc and Government Documents Quick Reference(for latest edition)
CALL NUMBER: A57.38:List/Date
See the following book for an in-depth examination of the National Cooperative
Soil Survey Program.
National Soils Handbook. Washington, D.C.: Soil Conservation Service,
1983.
LOCATION(S): Government Documents
and Storage [Must place hold to obtain from storage]
CALL NUMBER: A 57.6/2:So 3/4 and storage Call Number: S591.A3U5
return
to top
The following databases index and abstract journal articles and other
documents on soil science. Consult with a reference librarian to determine
the best way to search your topic.
UM only Because of licensing agreements, most
of these databases can be used only by current faculty, staff, and students
of the University of Maryland, College Park. These users can access them
only through the campus network or Research Port. Read more about remote access. Only those
titles marked **** are freely available to anyone anywhere.
AGRICOLA
UM only
LOCATION(S): NETWRK WWW (1970- )
Print version: Bibliography of Agriculture GOVDOC SU DOC A 17.18 (1942-
)
Produced by the U. S. National Agricultural Library this is one of the
major sources of literature about agriculture and allied fields. Citations
are collected from national and international sources and include journal
articles, pamphets, government documents, reports, proceedings, books,theses,
patents, software, audiovisuals and state agricultural extension and experiment
station publications.
Agrindex. 1975 - 1995.
LOCATION(S): Mckeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S18.A5
This index, issued monthly, is international in coverage with a major
focus on developing countries. Coverage includes many aspects of soil
science. Each issue contains a detailed subject index as well as personal
and corporate author and patent and report number indexes. Although abstracts
are usually not present, each record does contain keywords.
Agronomy Abstracts. 1955-1997.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S590.A3
(continued by Annual Meeting Abstracts,1998 - .)
This title includes abstracts from the Annual Meeting of the American
Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America, and the Soil Science
Society of America, which are arranged by subject and within subject,
alphabetically by first author.
Biological
and Agricultural Index UM only (1983-)
Print Version: Biological and Agricultural Index 1964 - .
(continues The Agricultural Index, 1916-1964 at same call number.)
LOCATION(S): Mckeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5073.A45
Indexes a wide range of popular and professional journals about biology
and agriculture.
BIOSIS Previews
UM only
LOCATION: NETWRK WWW (1970-)
Information about articles in over 5,500 life sciences journals. Also
covers content summaries, books and meeting abstracts, papers and posters.
Print version(s): Biological Abstracts.(1926-1997) MCK STACKS QH301.B37
CAB
Abstracts UM only
1972-
Similar in scope to AGRICOLA but more comprehensive, nearly 10,000 international
journals in over 35 languages are scanned for articles relating to all
aspects of agriculture and related fields including soil science. Books,
reports, proceedings, and patents are also included. Provides online access
to the following print indexes:
Agricultural Engineering Abstracts. 1977 - 1998.
LOCATION: Mckeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S671.A317
This abstracting service, issued monthly, covers a number of soil/agricultural
engineering topics including soil injectors, soil mechanics, and soil
types.
Field Crop Abstracts. Monthly. 1948 - 1995.
LOCATON(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB183.F5
Each issue contains subject and author indexes which cumulate annually.
Use the subject index to look up the crop of interest and in many cases
a soil related topic will be found.
Irrigation and Drainage Abstracts. 1975 -
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks (1984-1995,1998)
CALL NUMBER: S612.I73
Each issue contains subject and author indexes which cumulate annually.
Many topics related to soil science are indexed including soil salinity,
soil types (including chemical cultural, ecological, genetic, textural),
and various subjects on soil/water interaction.
Soils and Fertilizers. Monthly. 1938-1998.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S590.S67
This abstracting service is published monthly. Each issue contains subject
and author indexes which cumulate annually. Many topics are covered
including soil compaction, chemistry,classification, management, movement,
and structure. It is the bureau's of Soil Science's bibliography of
soil science, fertilizers and general agronomy, 1937/40- < 1940/44
> are indexes to v. 1- < 7 > of Soils and fertilizers.
Environment Abstracts. Annual. 1971 - .
LOCATION(S): Mckeldin Periodical Stacks (1974-1981) and McKeldin Reference
Stacks (1974 only). Also: Engineering Library Reference, current issues
held until Annual arrives.
CALL NUMBER: GF1.E553
(Continues the Environment Index MCK FOLIO GF1.E555 1971-1987)
This abstracting service is published monthly. Each issue contains the
following indexes: subject, author, conference, geographic, source, and
industry. Approximately 800 journals are indexed. Soil science topics
covered include soil management, moisture, sampling, and temperature.
Environmental Periodicals Bibliography. 1972 - 1995.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z7171.E6
This bibliography is published six times each year. It reproduces the
table of contents pages of approximately 350 journals covering the environmental
sciences. Author and subject indexes arecumulated annually. Use the detailed
subject index to look up your topic. Although there is some overlap with
Environment Abstracts above, this bibliography covers many unique journals.
Environmental
Sciences Collection (Cambridge) UM only
Abstracts and citations from over 4000 scientific journals plus reports,
conference proceedings, monographs, and government publications.
GeoRefs
UM only
LOCATION(S): NETWRK WWW (1970- )
Information about materials on geology and earth science.
return
to top
The following titles are a representative selection of journals on soil
science held by the UM Libraries. They are indexed in many of the indexes
and abstracting services listed above. To see where these (and other)
journals in the UM Libraries are indexed, search the Catalog for the title,
and press F and "return" for the full record. Information on coverage
in abstracting services and indexes is found in the second half of each
full record display.
Canadian
Journal of Soil Science
LOCATION: Online and McKeldin Periodical Stacks
Access: [http://www.nrc.ca/aic-journals/anicontents.html]
CALL NUMBER: S590.C25
Communications in Soil Science and Plant Analysis. 20 per year.
1970 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S590.C54
European Journal of Soil Science. Quarterly. 1994- .
(continues Journal of Soil Science 1949/50-1993, S590.J6)
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: S590.J61
Geoderma. Quarterly. 1967 -.
LOCATION(S): Engineering Library Periodical Stacks and McKeldin Periodical
Stacks (MCK has 1967 to 1975)
CALL NUMBER: S590.G3
Journal of Soil and Water Conservation. Bimonthly. 1946 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S622.S6 (1948 - )
Plant and Soil. 18 per year. 1949 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SB13.P55
Soil
and Sediment Contamination Bimonthly. 2002- .
LOCATION: Online and McKeldin Current Periodicals
Online Access: [http://www.crcjournals.com/ejournals/issues/issue_archive.asp?section=1057]
Soil
and Tillage Research. 16 per year. 1981 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S590.S48
Online access: [http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journal/01671987]
Soil
Biology and Biochemistry. Monthly. 1969 - .
LOCATION(S): Online and McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S590.S577
Online Access: [http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journal/00380717]
Soil
Science. Online: 1996- Present.
Print: Monthly. 1916 - .
Storage: v.1-16,v.18-136 (1916-1983)
LOCATION(S): Online [UM Only] & McKeldin Periodical Stacks and some
duplicate volumes in Storage
CALL NUMBER: S590 .S6
Soil Science Society of America
Journal. Bimonthly. 1936 - .
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Periodical Stacks(1976 - .) Will soon be available
electronically.
CALL NUMBER: S590.S64A131
Soil
Technology. Quarterly. 1988 - 1997.
LOCATION(S): Online and McKeldin Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: S590.S687
Online Access: [http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/journal/09333630]
See also Electronic
Journals by Subject for Agriculture.
return
to top
You can begin your search of the World Wide Web at the Yahoo
Soil Science Subject Guide [http://dir.yahoo.com/Science/Agriculture/Crops_and_Soil/Agronomy/Soil_Science/]
The Soil Science section of Yahoo includes links to many other soil science
sources including institutes, government agencies and universities.
A Compendium
of on-line Soil Survey Information
[http://www.itc.nl/~rossiter/research/rsrch_ss.html]
Global
Soil Moisture Data Bank (Rutgers - The State University of New Jersey),
[http://climate.envsci.rutgers.edu/soil_moisture/index.html]
Keys
to Soil Taxonomy [http://soils.usda.gov/technical/classification/tax_keys/]
Soil Survey Staff. U.S. Department of Agriculture. Natural Resources Conservation
Service. 10th edition.
FAO Natural Resources
Soil and Soil Resources
Page (WAICENT)
[http://www.fao.org/waicent/]
Resources are global in scope with emphasis on less developed countries
and regions.
Natural Resources Conservation Service
from the USDA.
National Society of Consulting Soil Scientists
[http://www.nscss.org]
National Soil Erosion
Research Laboratory
[http://www.nrcs.usda.gov/]
From the USDA Agricultural Research Service is "the focal point for the
U.S. Government's national research program in soil erosion by water.
Major program thrusts of the NSERL include fundamental erosion process
research, erosion control research, and delivery of improved erosion prediction
technology."
National Soil Survey
Handbook, [http://soils.usda.gov/technical/handbook/]
Soil Science Society of America [http://www.soils.org/].
Virtual Library
on Soils and Substrates [www.metla.fi/info/vlib/soils/old.htm]
Provides links to soils research and organizations, soils data, and books
and journals.
No longer updated.
WorldWide Portal to Information
on Soil Health
[http://mulch.mannlib.cornell.edu/]
return
to top
Several videorecordings related to soil science are available
in Nonprint Media
Services. To find more items in this collection, do a keyword search
in the Catalog. In the
advanced search screen, you can add a format designation to your
search. To limit your search to videorecodings, select format type: videos/films
in the advanced search screen.
Introduction to soil science: soil forming factors Los Osos, CA
: San Luis Video Publishing, 1999. (24 Minutes)
LOCATION: Nonprint media services
CALL NUMBER: S591.I583 1999
Granada Television International. Soils: Profiles and Processes.
Princeton, N. J.: Films for the Humanities, 1982. (20 minutes)
LOCATION(S): Nonprint Media Services
(Hornbake Library)
CALL NUMBER: S591.S7576
Save the Earth, Feed the World. Santa Barbara, Calif.: Intellimation,
1990. (57 minutes) LOCATION(S): Nonprint Media Services
(Hornbake Libary)
CALL NUMBER: TD174.R33 1990 pt. 7
Soil biology. Los Osos, CA.: San Luis Video Publishing , 2002.
(50 minutes)
SUMMARY: (from the Catalog) "Looks at invertebrates, microbes, and other
soil life forms, and explains how their biology affects the physical and
chemical properties of soil. Also discusses how these soil life forms
affect human daily life and the conservation of soil." LOCATION: Nonprint media services
(Hornbake Library)
CALL NUMBER: QH84.8.S62 2002
Soil Testing. Kansas City, Mo.: Farmland Industries, 1984. (25
minutes)
LOCATION(S): NonPrint Media Services
(Hornbake Library)
CALL NUMBER: S593.S7429 1984
Societies and Associations
American Society of Agronomy
[http://www.agronomy.org/]
Association for Environmental Health
and Sciences
[http://www.aehs.com/]
this association was "created to facilitate communication and foster cooperation
among professionals concerned with the challenge of soil protection and
cleanup."
National Society of Consulting Soil
Scientists,
[http://www.nscss.org/]
Soil and Water Conservation Society
[http://www.swcs.org/]
This organization "fosters the science and the art of soil, water and
related natural resource management to achieve sustainability. We promote
and practice an ethic recognizing the interdependence of people and the
environment."
Soil Science Society of America
[http://www.soils.org/]
Email Discussion Lists
[http://www.soils.org/divs/s2/discussion.html]
Subscribe to the list by sending an e-mail to soil-chem-request@soils.org
leaving the subject blank, and entering the word subscribe on the first
line of the message body.
return
to top
|