Navigation Bar

Directory of Librarian Subject Specialists:
By Library Team

Revised: August 22, 2011

University of Maryland Librarian Subject Specialists may be consulted for help in locating information in their areas of expertise, and may be available to conduct instruction sessions for university courses. Students and faculty at the Universities of Shady Grove (USG) and at University System of Maryland (USM) Institutions need to contact reference librarians at Shady Grove Library.

Use the pulldown menu to further customize how you would like to locate a
librarian subject specialist:

 

Archives & Manuscripts 
Art & Architecture 
Chemistry & Life Sciences 
Collection Mgt. & Special Collections 
Digital Collections 
East Asia & Prange Collections 
Engineering & Physical Sciences  
Humanities & Social Sciences
Marylandia, Rare Books, & National Trust Library 
Nonprint Media Services 
Performing Arts 
Preservation 
Shady Grove Library 
U.S. Government Information, Maps & GIS Services
User Education Services
 

ARCHIVES & MANUSCRIPTS
Special Collections Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Alvarez, Beth Literary Manuscripts 301-405-9298
Archer, Joanne National Trust Library 301-405-6319
Brown, Lauren Archives & Manuscripts 301-405-9059
Howell, Chuck Library of American Broadcasting
National Public Broadcasting Archive
Radio & Television
301-314-0401
Novara, Elizabeth Historical Manuscripts 301-314-2712
Speck, Jason Assistant University Archivist 301-405-9297
Turkos, Anne Archives (University of Maryland)
University of Maryland History
301-405-9060

return to top

ART & ARCHITECTURE
Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Cossard, Patricia Architecture
Historic Preservation
Landscape Architecture
Real Estate Development
Urban Studies & Planning
301-405-6316
Greene, Louise
Archaeology
Art
Art History
301-405-9064
Otis, Lara Historic Preservation
Urban Studies & Planning
301-405-9260

return to top

CHEMISTRY & LIFE SCIENCES
Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Baykoucheva, Svetla Animal & Avian Sciences
BEES (Behavior Evol. Ecol. & Syst.)
Biochemistry
Biology
Cell Biology & Molecular Genetics
Chemistry
Entomology
NACS (Neuroscience & Cognitive Sci.)
Nutrition & Food Science
301-405-9080

return to top

COLLECTION MANAGEMENT & SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
Special Collections Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Sorrell, Cynthia Arabic Studies
Persian Studies
301-405-9125

return to top

DIGITAL COLLECTIONS
Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Knies, Jennie Levine Digital Collections 301-314-2558
Muñoz, Trevor Digital Humanities 301-405-8506

return to top

EAST ASIA & PRANGE COLLECTIONS
Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Aita, Chiaki Japanese Language & Literature 301-405-9348
Sakaguchi, Eiko Asian Languages & Cultures
Chinese Language & Literature
Japanese Language & Literature
301-405-9135
Wu, Jean Chinese Language & Literature 301-405-9134

return to top

ENGINEERING & PHYSICAL SCIENCES
Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Miller, Jim Aerospace Engineering
Agriculture
Bioengineering
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Civil & Environmental Engineering
Mechanical Engineering
Nuclear Engineering
Patents & Trademarks
Plant Science & Landscape Architecture
Patents & Trademarks
Technical Reports
301-405-9152
Tchangalova, Nedelina Chemical Engineering
Environmental Health (Institute)
Epidemiology & Biostatistics
Fire Protection Engineering
Health Services Administration
Kinesiology
Physics
Behavioral & Community Health
301-405-9151
Zdravkovska, Nevenka Astronomy
Computer Science
Environmental Sciences
Geology
Mathematics Materials Science
MEES (Marine Estuarine Enviro. Sci.)
Meteorology
301-405-9144

return to top

HUMANITIES & SOCIAL SCIENCES
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Chadley, Otis African American Studies
Anthropology
Geography
Sociology
301-405-9282
Corlett-Rivera, Kelsey French Language & Literature
Germanic Studies
Italian Language & Literature
301-405-9116
Diaz, Zaida Agricultural & Resource Economics
Business
Economics
301-405-9156
Griner, Lily Agricultural & Resource Economics
Business
Economics
301-405-9278
Hackman, Tim English Language & Literature
Linguistics
Portuguese Language & Literature
Second Language Acquisition
Spanish Language & Literature
301-314-8521
Herron, Patricia English Language & Literature
Film Studies
Latin American Studies
Latina/o Studies
Spanish Language & Literature
301-405-9280
Lindquist, Eric American Studies
Asian American Studies
Classics
History
301-314-7266
Luckert, Yelena Hebrew Language & Literature
History
History of Science
Israel Studies
Jewish studies
Religion
Slavic Languages & Literature
Women's Studies
301-405-9365
Markowitz, Judy Government & Politics
Government Documents (U.S.) (interim)
Law
Public Policy
U.S. Government Publications (interim)
301-314-1316
Mattlage, Alan Communication
Criminology & Criminal Justice
Philosophy
301-314-1320
Moreton, Glenn Family Science
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Studies
Psychology
301-405-9290
Patterson, Karen Education
Information Studies
301-405-2067
Saponaro, Maggie Hearing & Speech Sciences
Journalism
301-314-1499

return to top

MARYLANDIA, RARE BOOKS & NATIONAL TRUST LIBRARY
Special Collections Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Archer, Joanne National Trust Library 301-405-6319
Hudak, Ann Literary Manuscripts
Maryland Maps
Maryland State Publications
Marylandia
301-405-9213
McElrath, Douglas Maryland Maps
Maryland State Publications
Marylandia
Rare Books
301-405-9210

return to top

NONPRINT MEDIA SERVICES
Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Jackson, Carleton Film Studies
Nonprint Media
301-405-9226

return to top

PRESERVATION
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Montori, Carla Preservation of Library & Archives Materials 301-405-9343

return to top

PERFORMING ARTS
Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Gannett, Leahkim Dance
Theatre
301-405-9117
Henry, Stephen Ethnomusicology
Music
Popular Music
301-405-9256
Manildi, Donald International Piano Archives
Piano Music
301-405-9224
Novara, Vincent Music Education
Special Collections in Performing Arts
Jim Henson Collection
301-405-9220
Schnitker, Laura Music
Popular Music
301-405-9255

return to top

U.S. GOVERNMENT INFORMATION, MAPS & GIS SERVICES
Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Otis, Lara Geographic Information Systems (GIS)
Maps
301-405-9260
Markowitz, Judy Government Documents (U.S.)
U.S. Government Publications (interim)
301-314-1316

return to top

User Education Services
Homepage
LIBRARIAN SUBJECT AREA(S) PHONE NUMBER
Cunningham, Maggie 1st Year Undergraduate Students
Liaison to Professional Writing Program
301-405-9070
Langholt, Joscelyn 1st Year Undergraduate Students
Liaison to Academic Writing Program
301-405-9120

return to top

 

© 2011 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 22, 2011

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search