navigation bar
Guides to Information Resources

Last revised: August 2008

Standards

Scope

This guide assists users in selecting print and electronic resources that can be used to identify and locate standards. For further assistance email Jim Miller at jmiller2(@umd.edu) or call 301-405-9152.

EPSL Information

  • Hours

    For assistance, visit or contact the library during Information Desk Hours. For an in depth consultation, contact Jim Miller (jmiller2@umd.edu) to set up an appointment.

  • Location

  • Printing and Photocopying

  • Interlibrary loan (ILL)
  • Unfortunately, interlibrary loan is generally not an option because most libraries do not circulate their standards.

    If you can not find the standard you need at the University of Maryland, you may want to try another library in the area. The most extensive collection of standards can be found in the standards library at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST):

    National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) http://www.nist.gov/
    Standards Information Program
    820 West Diamond Ave.
    Gaithersburg, MD 20899-1070
    Telephone: 301-975-4040
    E-mail: library@nist.gov
    Directions

    Visitors to NIST must call ahead to:
    • Make sure the library has a copy of the standard
    • Schedule an appointment for a visit

What is a Standard?

Definition

According to the National Standards Policy Advisory Committee a standard is:

"A prescribed set of rules, conditions, or requirements concerning definitions of terms; classification of components; specification of materials, performance, or operations; delineation of procedures; or measurement of quantity and quality in describing materials, products, systems, services, or practices."[1]

Who uses standards?

Standards are used by producers and consumers of goods and services. Engineers generally need to consult the appropriate standards when creating new products, processes, or designs.

Why are standards necessary?

They specify how an item should be made by providing exact measurements and specifications about materials and processes. Standards are responsible for ensuring safety, reliability, quality, interchangeability of parts, and consistency of products and processes within and across national borders. Standards ensure that any brand of light bulb can fit a lamp or any brand appliance can be plugged into an electrical socket.

Who issues standards?

Standards are formulated by standard developing organizations (SDOs), which can be a government agency, trade association, professional society, international or regional organization, or a private company.
[List of Acronyms of Standard Developing Organizations (PDF file)]
[Index of Standard Developing Organizations]

What does a standard reference look like?

References to standards usually look like one of the following. Notice that all references generally contain the name of the issuing body and the standard number.


[2]

 return to top

University of Maryland Resources

EPSL has an incomplete collection of ANSI (American National Standards Institute) standards and a complete collection of ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) standards.

  • ANSI (American National Standards Institute)
    LOCATION: EPSL Reference
    CALL NUMBER: TA368.A4
  • ASTM (American Society for Testing Materials)
    LOCATION: EPSL Reference
    CALL NUMBER: TA401.A653

While individual standards are not cataloged in the library's online catalog, the titles and abstracts of most standards can be easily found by searching the website of the standard developing organization (i.e. ASTM, ASCE, SAE) or a standards supplier (such as Tech Street). The library also has a variety of print resources (listed below) that can help you locate standards.

Indexes and Directories

 return to top

Organization Specific Resources

 return to top

Periodicals

return to top

Locating Standards Online

Free and Full-Text Standards on the Web

Although few in number, some standards are available on the internet. Click here (pdf file) for a list of web resources with free and full-text standards.

return to top

Databases

The following are UM subscription databases with full-text standards. These databases are accessible through Research Port.
  • ASCE Database (American Society of Civil Engineers)
    Database of ASCE publications, including technical reports and standards. For the Document Type Field on the search screen, select "books - standards".
  • IEEE Xplore (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
    Searchable database of IEEE standards and publications.

return to top

Purchasing Standards

If all else fails, your final option would be to purchase the standard online. You can purchase standards directly from an SDO (Index of SDOs) or through an online vendor. The following is a list of online vendors:

return to top


[1]National Policy on Standards for the United States and a Recommended Implementation Plan. National Standards Policy Advisory Committee, Washington, D.C., December, 1978, p.6.

[2]Library Guide, No. 1.5 Finding References in the Library http://www.lib.uwaterloo.ca/libguides/1-5/index.html (Copyright © University of Waterloo)

 

© 2008 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
Last modified: August 18, 2008

Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search