Table of Contents
Home
What is a Standard?
UM Resources
Locating Standards Online
|
Locating Standards Online
Full-Text Standards on the Web
Although few in number, some standards are available on the internet. Below is a list of web resources with full-text standards:
- ARI Standards (Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute)
http://www.ari.org/MemberPortal/standardscert/standards/default.htm
ARI provides free online access to its standards.
- ASSIST (Acquisition Streamlining and Standardization Information System)
http://assist.daps.dla.mil/quicksearch/
Provides free public access to full-text DoD specifications and standards.
- ETSI Publications (European Telecommunications Standards Institute)
http://www.etsi.org/services_products/freestandard/home.htm
Offers direct access to publicly available ETSI telecommunications standards. Registration required.
- IAEA Standards (International Atomic Energy Agency)
http://www.iaea.org/Publications/Standards/index.html
Browse most recent IAEA publications online.
- NISO Standards (National Information Standards Organization)
http://www.niso.org/standards/index.html
Free full text access to NISO information standards.
return to top
Databases
The following are UM subscription databases with full-text standards. These databases are accessible through Research Port.
- ASCE Database (American Society of Civil Engineers)
Database of ASCE publications, including technical reports and standards. For the Document Type Field on the search screen, select "books - standards".
- IEEE Xplore (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)
Searchable database of IEEE standards and publications.
return to top
Purchasing Standards
If all else fails, your final option would be to purchase the standard online. You can purchase standards directly from an SDO (Index of SDOs) or through an online vendor. The following is a list of online vendors:
return to top
|