![]() |
|||||||||||
![]() |
|||||||||||
| Engineering and Physical Sciences Library > Guides > Technical Reports | |||||||||||
|
Last revised: July 2009 Technical ReportsThe following guide assists users to identify and locate technical reports. For more information and assistance, email Jim Miller at jmiller2(@umd.edu) or Somesh Sood at ssood(@umd.edu). Or call 301-405-9157 for additional help. Table of ContentsCollectionsThe Technical Reports Center contains over two million scientific and technical reports, and the collection is expanding by approximately 80,000 titles each year. U.S. Government-sponsored research comprises the largest part of the collection. The Center subscribes to all documents issued by the National Technical Information Service (search them in the NTIS database) in selected subject areas, including:
The Technical Reports Center is a U.S. Government Document Depository Library for scientific and technical reports from several agencies including:
The Technical Reports Center houses one of the most complete collections of NASA documents in the country, as well as reports from NASA's predecessor, NACA, dating back to 1915. The Technical Reports Center has a complete set of Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) Public Documents from January 1, 1981 through October 31, 1999. For documents issued after October 31, 1999, visit the NRC Public Electronic Reading Room. These documents have been moved to offsite storage and usage is restricted. The Technical Reports Center contains a growing collection of foreign report series from international government agencies such as Advisory Group for Aerospace Research and Development (AGARD). While the primary focus of the collection is on science and technology, the center also contains reports in the social sciences. Since 1965, for example, the Technical Reports Center has maintained a collection of all documents published by the Rand Corporation. Rand is a multi-disciplinary think-tank specializing in political science, international affairs, defense, education, public health, welfare, urban development, and economics. Identifying Report NumbersAll documents in the Technical Report Center, both microfiche and paper copy, are filed by technical report numbers. Report numbers may be identified by using one of the following sources:
Additional ResourcesFull Text Online Quick ReferenceAn annotated list of resources that provide full text access to technical reports. Virtual Technical Reports Center The institutions listed here provide either full-text reports, or searchable extended abstracts of their technical reports on the World Wide Web. This site contains links to technical reports, preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds. Some metasites are listed by subject categories, as well as by institution. University of Maryland Technical Reports University of Maryland technical reports listed by academic departments, research centers, and projects. Some of the sites listed contain electronic full-text, others contain only abstracts or bibliographies. Because many departments do not distinguish between various types of publications, this guide includes technical reports, annual reports, reprints, preprints, and research reports of all types. EPSL InformationHoursFor assistance finding technical reports, visit or contact the library during Information Desk Hours. Location Interlibrary loan (ILL) Printing and Photocopying |
|||||||||||
|
|
|||||||||||