|
Last revised: August 2007
Technology Transfer
Scope:
Cooperation between governments, universities, businesses
and individual researchers and entrepreneurs to bring new technologies
into the market all falls under the rubric of Technology Transfer.
This guide contains a selection of resources that can help with various
stages of the technology transfer process, from determining the
patentability of an invention to assessing its potential
marketability. Email the subject area specialist at jmiller2@umd.edu or call
301-405-9152 for more information.
Obtaining and maintaining a patent is an expensive
proposition. Before applying for one, an inventor or interested
party often checks for what is known as prior art. Prior art
can take the form of any public disclosure of an invention prior to the
patent application being filed. (One exception: In the United
States, an inventor can file a patent application up to one year after the
initial disclosure). Here are resources one can use to search for
prior art in previously issued patents and in scientific and engineering
journals.
- Pressman, David. Patent it yourself. Berkeley, Calif. : Nolo Press, 2002.
CALL NUMBER: KF3114.6.P74 2002
- Hitchcock, David. Patent searching made easy. Berkeley : Nolo Press, c1999.
CALL NUMBER: T210.H58 1999 Noncirculating
- Lechter, Michael A. (ed.) et al. Successful patents and patenting for engineers and scientists. New York : IEEE Press, c1995.
LOCATION: ENGIN STACKS, ENGIN PATENT
CALL NUMBER: KF3114.8.E54S83 1995
- Wherry, Timothy Lee. Patent searching for librarians and inventors. Chicago: American Library Association, 1995.
CALL NUMBER: T210.W44 1995
Online Guides
Databases
- U.S.
Patent Database (http://www.uspto.gov/patft/index.html) from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
(U.S. Patents; full-text images 1790 - present, searchable text 1976 -
present) This official U.S. Patent & Trademark Office site links
from its home page to a required TIFF plug-in .
- European Patent Office (http://ep.espacenet.com/. Search
titles and some abstracts of over 40 million world patents.
Often an inventor will want to search scientific literature to determine that a new invention is in fact unique. The nature of this search will, of course, vary depending on the field of an invention, but here are a few places to start.
In order for technology transfer to occur successfully, there must be interest in the invention. One way to gauge potential interest is to identify potential uses of an invention and conduct a small market study on related industries.
Industry Trends and Surveys
- Standard Poor's Net Advantage (http://www.netadvantage.standardpoor.com/NASApp/NetAdvantage/index.do).
LOCATION: Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. 1973 - 1998. Quarterly.
Latest 4 quarters only in MCKREF STACKS (Business/Law Alcove).
Earlier volumes in MCK FOLIO.
For specific holdings check the library catalog.
- U.S. Industrial & Trade Outlook.
Provides evaluations and projections of major industrial and commercial segments of the domestic economy.
LOCATION: MCK FOLIO, Latest edition in MCKREF STACKS (Business/Law Alcove)
CALL NUMBER: HC106.5.A2U5
- Value Line Investment Survey. Looseleaf, weekly.
LOCATION: MCK FOLIO, Latest edition in MCKREF STACKS (Business/Law Alcove), MCKPER MFICHE (1980- )
- Value Line
Provides ratings and reports on industries and major companies.
Search for Articles about Industry Trends
- RDS
Business and Industry
This database contains newspaper and
journal articles about a wide variety of industries. RDS provides an
easy to use interface that allows you to restrict your search to a
specific industry or SIC code. If you click inside the "concept
term" box, you can also narrow your search to articles that are about
"industry overviews", "industry forecasts", "market size" and /or
"trends".
- Investext
This is a database of reports from investment brokers. The
focus is on public companies and is written for investors, but there is often
an analyst's take on the overall market for an industry
(To accesss: Click on General BusinessFile ASAP and then on ADVANCED SEARCH and then click on the Investext option towards the bottom.)
- MarketResearch.com Academic
These market research reports are written for selected
industries, so only a few areas are covered. If you find one that
matches your area of interest, it will usually provide a good summary of
all the information that is available at the time it was written,
including industry overviews and lists of market participants.
- Business News Searches
There are a number of databases that
allow for full text searching of articles from business journals and
newspapers. Because they are not indexed, or are not as
specifically focused on business, it may be harder to pinpoint what you
want. Some good databases to look at include:
Industry Associations often have
information on trends and statistics.
- Encyclopedia of Associations.
Annual with supplements. A guide to national and international organizations, including trade, business and commercial. LOCATION: MCK FOLIO,
Latest edition in MCKREF RDYREF
- Gale Ready Reference Shelf.
Integrates 13 of Gale Publishing's most popular reference directories, including Encyclopedia of Associations.
- Gateway to
Associations (http://www.asaenet.org/)
Database of Associations on the Internet from the American Society of Association Executives.
- RDS
Business and Industry
This database contains newspaper and
journal articles about a wide variety of industries. RDS provides an
easy to use interface that allows you to restrict your search to a
specific industry or SIC code. If you click inside the "concept
term" box, sometimes using the term "market share" will help find the
largest players within an industry.
- General
Business File ASAP and Business and Company Resource Center
Both of these databases allow for searching by industry code (NAICS) to indentify companies in a particulr area. Once at least one good company is identified, viewing a profile of that company will show links to a vbariety of articles and information on that company and its industry
- Hoover's Online (http://www.hoovers.com)
This is a database of public companies and larger private companies. It is most easily searched by company name, but once you find a company within an indutry, Hoover's list their main competitors, so it is a good source for finding additional companies. Hoover's also contains industry snapshots and provides the names of a company's officers.
- Thomas Register of
Manufacturers (http://www.thomasregister.com/)
Available online and in book form, the Thomas
Register provides information on manufacturers of almost any type of
product.
LOCATION: ENGIN REF Current Issues, MCK REF STACKS CALL NUMBER: T12.T6 MCKREF STACKS
- Industry
Associations (http://www.lib.umd.edu/MCK/GUIDES/techtrans.html#Industry)
Almost every industry has an association that
advocates for its members. Many of the associations provide
membership directories or guides to services to an industry that can
shed insight into the number of different players in an area.
Royalty rates are a tricky thing to find, as they are
usually not made public. Nonetheless, if you want to spend
time weeding through a lot of results, there are methods available.
- SEC filings
Sometimes public companies, especially smaller ones,
will make terms of licensing agreements available. Searching
through SEC filings, especially 10-Ks and S-1s, for "royalty and patent"
or "royalty and license" will sometimes prove fruitful. The vast
majority of numerical data in these licensing agreements are "redacted
out"(not made public), so you will have to wade through a lot of false hits for the few
pieces of real information. Places to search SEC filings include:
- Lexis Academic / News (http://web.lexis-nexis.com/)
- SEC's
Edgar site (http://www.sec.gov/)
- 10Kwizard (http://www.10kwizard.com/)
- News articles
Once again, every so often, terms of a licensing
agreement will turn up in a press release or an article. In most
instances, terms of the deal will not be revealed, but a persistent soul
can usually turn up a few bits of information. Any of the article
databases described above could be used for this. (RDS, PROMT,
DowJones, etc).
- Lexis Academic / Legal Research / Federal Case Law
(http://web.lexis-nexis.com)
In some legal decisions involving patent cases, a
judge or jury must determine a "reasonable royalty" rate. While
this royalty may differ from what parties may agree to outside of
litigation, it can provide some infomation. Plus, in some cases a
judicial decision may describe the evidence and rationale used to arrive
at the royalty rate.
- Office of Technology Commercialization (http://www.otl.umd.edu),
University of Maryland at College Park.
- Rood, Sally A.Government laboratory technology transfer : process and
impact. Burlington, USA : Ashgate,
2000.
CALL NUMBER: T174.3.R67 2000
- Technology transfer handbook : information for NIMH
scientists.
National Institute of Mental Health,
Technology Transfer Office, [2000?]
CALL NUMBER: HE 20.8108:T 22
- Technology Transfer
Information Center (http://www.nal.usda.gov/ttic/)
Run by the National Agricultural Library,
contains a variety of resources and links to technology transfer
information.
- Inzelt, Annamaria and Reinhard Coenen (ed.) Knowledge, Technology Transfer, and Foresight. Boston : Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1996
CALL NUMBER: T174.3.K57 1996
- Gross, Clifford M. The New Idea Factory : Expanding Technology Companies with University Intellectual Capital. Columbus, OH : Battelle Press, 2000.
CALL NUMBER: HD53.G75 2000
- Association of University Technology Managers (http://www.autm.net)
There is a directory. Click on "Technology Transfer Offices" to get separate lists of "Commercial", "Government", and "Non-Profit."
return to top
|