Last revised: March 28, 2011
Tests and Measurements
Scope: This guide is designed to serve as a tool to help one get information about published and unpublished educational, psychological, and vocational tests and
measurements. Another purpose of the guide is that of providing access to information about the
general subject of testing.
E/mail the subject area specialist at
moreton@umd.edu or call (301)405-9290 for more information.
Steps in Finding a Test
Frequently people come to the University of Maryland Libraries to find
actual copies of published tests. The Libraries do not keep copies of
testing instruments. Instead, the users must locate contact information
about the publishers of the tests that they are seeking. With this information,
the user will learn the cost and availability of the tests, and how to
go about getting them. The following steps will help one get this contact
information:
-
(Note: Persons wishing to use the this or other databases from off-campus should get access to
them
through the Libraries Research Port gateway, rather than
through the hypertexts links provided below: )
Mental Measurements Yearbook is the most well-known and authoritative index to published tests and measurements. It consists of descriptive entries, references, and critical reviews of over 2000 commercially published educational, psychological, and vocational tests in the English language. Early volumes of the print version of MMY are available in the McKeldin Library stacks (call number: Z5814.P8B932).
Note:
Tests in Print was formally a separate publication that served as a master index to all Buros publications. It attempted to provide a comprehensive listing and detailed description of every test that was currently (i.e. at the time of compilation of the set) available for purchase, and of many out-of-print tests. As such, Tests in Print served as a master index to all volumes of the Mental Measurements Yearbook.
- If you are unable to find what you need in the Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print database, or if you need to conduct a more comprehensive
search, then search the:
Test Collection of the Educational Testing Service [WWW site].
LOCATION: Access the following URL address: http://www.ets.org/test_link/find_tests/.
This search engine for the Educational Testing Service (ETS) Test Collection
database is an index to more than 25,000 tests and research instruments from the early 1900/s to
the present. It differs from Mental Measurements Yearbook in that it provides information
about both published and unpublished measurement tools (for the latter of which it gives journal citation
information as source data). Another difference is that unlike MMY, the ETS Test
Collection does not provide reviews of the tests.
- If you are still unable to find the desired information, then check...
Bibliographies of Tests and
Measurements
- General Bibliographies
- Corcoran, Kevin and Joel Fischer. Measures for clinical practice:
A sourcebook. New York : Free Press, 2007.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF176.C66 2007 vol. 1-2
This book describes and actually contains instruments to be used
in a clinical setting.
- Goldman, Bert Arthur, and John L. Saunders. Directory
of unpublished experimental mental measures. New York,
NY: Human Sciences Press, 1990, Vol.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF431.G625 v.1-5 (1974-1990)
This directory provides references to nonstandardized, experimental
measures found in scholarly journals in fields of education, psychology,
and sociology.
- Hersen, Michel, and Alan S. Bellack, eds. Dictionary of behavioral
assessment techniques. Elmsford, NY: Pergamon Press, 1988.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF176.5.D53 1988
Not really a "dictionary," but rather an alphabetical list of individual
essays of approximately 300 clinical measures.
- Keyser, Daniel J., and Sweetland, Richard C., eds. Test critiques.
Kansas City, MO: Test Corp. of America, 1985-.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF176.T419 1984, v. 1-10
Each volume of Test Critiques contains approximately 100
critical reviews of commercially available tests--generally the
most frequently used. "User-friendly": written for professionals
and students alike. Much duplication of MMY.
- Maddox, Taddy, ed. Tests: A comprehensive reference for assessments
in psychology, education, and business. Austin, TX: Pro-Ed,
2008.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF176.T43 2008 Tests: A Comprehensive Reference...is
an encylopedia designed to provide "quick reference" identification of a test to
meet a specific need. More than 3,000 psychology, education, and
business tools are listed.
- Spreen, Otfired, and Esther Strauss. A compendium of neuropsychological
tests: administration, norms, and commentary. New York, NY:
Oxford University Press, 1998.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RC386.6.N48S67 1998
Initial chapters give overviews of the testing process. This is
followed by the major part of the book, which provides thorough
descriptions of specific tests, including instructions, source and
price, and reliability/validity data.
- Subject-related Bibliographies
- American Psychiatric Association. Handbook of psychiatric measures.
Washington, DC: American Psychiatric Association, 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Reference Media Cabinet (for
accompanying CD-ROM)
CALL NUMBER: RC473.P78 A46 2000
Compendium of rating scales, tests, and measures that assist in the caring for mentally ill patients. Each
tool is described in detail, including the respective reliability, validity, and strength and weakness of
each. Supplemental CD-ROM includes complete copies of the 108 measures discussed in the
handbook.
- Fisher, Terri D., et. al. Handbook of sexuality-related measures. New York, NY: Routledge, 2011
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ60.H36 2011
Source of descriptions (and in many cases, the actual tests/questionnaires) of more than measurement instruments related to human sexuality. This revised, updated and expanded edition reflects recent changes in societal attitudes toward women and toward homosexuality.
- Flanagan, Dawn P., et. al. The achievement test desk reference (ATDR): a guide to learning disability identification. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2006.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LB3060.3 .A28 2006
This reference book provides extensive information about identification of learning disiabilities and contains a section that features descriptions and reviews of more than 50 applicable achievement tests published since 1995.
- Lester, Paula E., and Lloyd K. Bishop. Handbook of tests and measurement in education and the social sciences. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press/Technomic Books, 2000.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LB3051.L4543 2000
Written chiefly for teachers and guidance counselors, this handbook includes descriptions and samples of 120 tests and instruments arranged by 36 topics. The book includes both published and unpublished tools.
- McDowell, Ian. Measuring health: a guide to rating scales and questionnaires. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1996.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: RA408.5.M38 1996
Reviews approximately 90 scales, measures, and questionnaires that deal with such health aspects as physical disability, social health, psychological well-being, general health, etc. In many cases the scales are reproduced.
- Ostrow, Andrew. Directory of psychological tests in the sport
and exercise sciences. Morgantown, WV : Fitness Information
Technology, c1996.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF176.D57 1997
Descriptions and source information extensive set of tests and questionnaires
that pertain to sports.
- John P. Robinson, Phillip R. Shaver, Lawrence S. Wrightsman ; contributors, Frank M. Andrews ... [et al.], eds. Measures of personality and social psychological attitudes.
San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1991.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF698.4.M38 1990
These three works provide descriptive information (in many cases
including the entire measure or sample items) on experimental attitude
measures.
- Salek, Sam, ed. Compendium of quality of life instruments. Chichester, UK; New York, NY : John Wiley & Sons, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Circulation - Reserve Desk (for
accompanying non-print material)
CALL NUMBER: RA407 .C65 1998
Five-volume compendium of questionnaires and translations in the field of health-related quality of life.
- Touliatos, John, and Barry F. Permutter, and Murray A. Straus.
Handbook of family measurement techniques. Thousand Oaks,
CA: Sage Publishing, 2001.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ728.H267 2001, vols. 1-3
This is the most extensive bibliography of tests that measure family
functioning. Volume 3 has actual examples of the instruments that are described in volumes 1 and 2.
If you are still unable to locate desired tests, other options
are available:
- Additional Options
Occasionally these previously described tools will not find the test
that you are seeking. If that is the case, here are several options
that you may try:
- Search for the desired test by using one of the "Indexes
to Periodicals" (described in a subsequent section of this guide).
Such a search may give you a full-text article or an abstract of the
article which happens to mention the company that publishes the desired
test. Then you can search for the company on the Internet, by using
a search
engine, and possibly will get information which will indicate
how to contact that company. If that is unsuccessful, check with the
Counseling Center (described in the next paragraph), which may be
able to give you contact information for a given test publisher.
- Check with the Counseling Center Testing Office. That office makes
copies of some published tests available--for perusal only--to
qualified individuals with professional training. These tests include
personality tests, standardized school entrance exams, aptitude tests,
interests and skills assessments, and reading and study skills assessments.
They also have publishers catalogs. The Counseling Center Testing
Office is located in Shoemaker Building, Room 2112; call them at 301-314-7688
for more information.
Sources of Information on Testing, and Sources of
Comprehensive Information about Specific Well-Known Tests
Some individuals who ask about tests may not be seeking contact information about how to
purchase tests. Instead, they may be researching the general topic of "testing" or an aspect of this topic.
Other persons might be seeking further, more comprehensive information (than is provided by the
previously cited tools) about specific well-known tests. The following resources will help people get
this information:
-
To find books that deal generally with tests and measurements, or to find books that deal specifically
with some of the relatively better-known tests , you may search in the Library Catalog in several ways:
Conduct a "words anywhere" search. This type of search is
particularly helpful if you are not sure of the exact name of a test, or if you are unsure of the form of the
test's name by which it will be cited (EXAMPLE: To find information on the WAIS test, a "subject
beginning with" searchBas described in the following paragraph--will require that you search "Wechsler
Adult Intelligence Scale"; by contrast, you will get much of the same information by doing any of a
variety of "words anywhere" searches: "WAIS" or "Wechsler Scale" or "Wechsler test" or "Wechsler
Adult Intelligence Scale," etc. ).
OR
You may conduct "subject beginning with" or "subject
word/s" searches to find books on a specific category of testing, and in some instances,
on a specific test (NOTE: When doing a "subject beginning with" search, it is important to enter your
terms exactly as they are found in the Library of Congress subject headings.)
Examples of subject headings that refer to testing and tests and which can be found in a "Subject
Beginning With" search in the Library Catalog:
behavioral assessment
educational tests and measurements
intelligence tests
Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory
personality tests
psychological tests
psychometrics
Wechsler Adult Intelligence Scale
OR
You may merely browse relevant books with call numbers in the library stacks". The call number ranges that deal with this subject are:
BF39 - BF39.2 (psychometrics)
BF176 -BF176.5 (psychological tests)
LB3051 - LB3060 (educational tests & measurements)
(Note: As explained previously, persons wishing to use the databases from off-campus should get access to them
through the Libraries Research Port gateway, rather than
through the hypertexts links provided below: )
-
Education Research Complete
This is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education, including educational testing.
-
ERIC
ERIC indexes journal articles, research reports, conference papers, and other materials in the field of education and related fields. A helpful feature of this database is its on-line thesaurus.
A number of ERIC documents actually contain assessment tools. Librarian/Author Helen Hough, has compiled a "list of ERIC Documents containing assessment instruments" (Used by permission of the University of Texas Libraries, The University of Texas at Austin.)
-
PsycINFO
Indexing 1,400
journals, technical report series, and selected dissertations. PsycINFO is the single most
comprehensive file for coverage of all areas of psychology.
- Fernandez-Ballesteros, Rocio, ed. Encyclopedia of psychological assessment.
Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE., 2003.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF39.E497 2003 v.1-2
Encyclopedia of 220 articles pertaining to psychological assessment, providing overviews of each topic, relevant concepts, and history and description of specific instruments. Arranged in nine categories, including personality, intelligence, educational and child assessment, work and organization, etc.
- Groth-Marnat, Gary . Handbook of psychological
assessment. Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, 2003.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks
CALL NUMBER: BF176.G76 2003
BF176 .G76 2003
This handbook attempts to provide an organized overview of the broad field of psychological assessment. Provides author and subject indexes.
- Hersen, Michael, editor-in-chief. Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment. Hoboken, N.J.: Wiley & Sons, 2004.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF176.C654 2004 Vols. 1-4
Multi-volume reference that covers all major categories of psychological assessment. Categories covered by the respective volumes include: intellectual and neuropsychological assessment, personality assessment, behavioral assessment, and industrial and organizational assessment.
- Kempf-Leonard, Kimberly, ed. Encyclopedia of social measurement
San Diego, CA: Elsevier/Academic, 2005.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: (on order)
- Kline, Paul. The handbook of psychological testing. New York, NY: Routledge,
2000.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF176.K575 2000
Provides a comprehensive overview the whole field of psychometrics.
- Krug, Samuel E. Psychware sourcebook. Kansas City, MO: Test Corporation of
America , 1988.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF176.2.K78 1988
Describes the features of more than 450 software products designed for test interpretation, test
administration, or clinical report generation.
- Michael S. Lewis-Beck, Michael S., Alan Bryman, and Tim Futing Liao, eds. The Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, c2004.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: H62 .S34 2004 v.1-3
Unique and comprehensive encyclopedia of social science research methods, including both qualitative and quantitative approaches.
- Mathison, Sandra. Encyclopedia of evaluation. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, c2005.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: H62.E583 2005
Encyclopedia of terms, concepts, procedures, and theorists in the filed of evaluation.
- Miller, Delbert C. Handbook of research design and social measurement.
Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, Inc., 2002.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: H62.M44 2002
Comprehensive coverage of basic information about measurements for professions such as
journalism, education, social work, business, and administration.
- Salkind, Neil J.,ed.; Kristin Rasmussen, managing ed. Encyclopedia of measurement and statistics. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, c2007.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: HA29.S2363 2007
Encyclopedia of more than 500 entries that provide approachable and readily understood explanations of topics in the field of statistics and measurement.
- Standards for educational and psychological testing. By
American Educational Research Association, American Psychological Association, National Council on Measurement in Education. Washington, DC:
American Educational Research Association, 1999
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: LB3051 .A693 1999
Provides standard criteria for the evaluation of tests, testing practices, and the effects of test use.
- Stuart-Hamilton, Ian. Dictionary of psychological testing, assessment and treatment.
London, UK: Jessica Kingsley Publishers, Ltd., 2007.
LOCATION: UMCP McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: BF176.S78 2007
Providing more than 3,000 definitions, this is an extensive guide to key terms used in psychological testing.
- Buros Institute of Mental
Measurements
http://www.unl.edu/buros/
Covers information about the Buros Institute, including history and contact information. (Note: the site
also features the Test Reviews Online search engine, through which one can purchase test reviews;
generally the same reviews are already available in Buros' Mental Measurements
Yearbook).
- Department of Measurement, Statistics, and Evaluation. University of Maryland, College Park.
Practical Assessment, Research &
Evaluation.
http://pareonline.net/
This is a searchable, peer-reviewed on-line journal comprised of full-text articles that deal with assessment, research, evaluation, and teaching practices.
- ETS Net
http://www.ets.org
The Educational Testing Service Network (ETS Net) serves as a gateway to information about
college and graduate school admissions and placement tests. Sample test questions, test
preparation, and test registration are included.
- Finding Information
About Psychological Tests:
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
http://www.apa.org/science/faq-findtests.html
The American Psychological Association's Frequently Asked Questions on psychological
tests. The site serves as a guide to information about how to select and locate published and
unpublished tests.
return to top
|