|
||
![]() |
||
| Guides to Info. Resources > Agriculture & Natural Resources > Urban Forestry | ||
|
Last revised: July 2008 Urban ForestryScope: This is a selected list of information sources relating to urban forestry. A multidisciplinary approach has been emphasized, ranging from chemistry and civil engineering to remote sensing and soil science. Environmental aspects are highlighted. Email the subject area specialist at sgagnon@umd.edu for more information.
UM only Because of licensing agreements, off campus access to some electronic resources in this guide is available only by current faculty, staff and students of the University of Maryland. For instructions on off campus access, see [http://www.lib.umd.edu/ETC/remote.html].
Table of Contents
Locating References Using the CatalogTo locate books, search the UM Libraries' online Catalog. Examples of words and terms you may wish to use to retrieve books on the subject of urban forestry, which is sometimes associated with 'community forestry,' are:
The search box below will open the Catalog and launch your search in a new window.
These terms can also be used to locate materials in other database files, such as BIOSIS Previews, which is a periodical index searched in the same manner as the online catalog. For more specific searching instructions, please Ask Us!
Bibliographies and ReviewsThe following sources may help you begin your research, or direct you to other sources of information.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: TA 166.A38 Vol. 2 A summary of behavior, environment and design research on urban forestry. Human perceptions and preferences, as they relate to urban forest settings, are covered. Includes references.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Government Documents, 4th floor. CALL NUMBER: SuDoc: A 17.18/4:90-6 Provides a selected list of publications and resources on urban forestry. Published by staff of the Alternative Farming Systems Information Center, part of the National Agricultural Library.
[http://forestry.lib.umn.edu/bib/urban.phtml]. Indexes publications relating to the history of urban forestry; urban forest legislation; the benefits of urban forests, selection and planting of trees; maintenance of the urban forest; planning and management; and urban forestry programs. The bibliography includes some links to full text documents. [Annotation courtesy of Jean Albrect.]
Landscape and Urban Planning, vol. 47, no. 1-2, pp. 1-18. LOCATION(S): Architecture Library, Bound Periodicals CALL NUMBER: G125.U71 2000 Article on forestry issues as they pertain to urban and community forestry in Sweden. Includes references.
Bioscience, vol. 40, no. 3, pp. 192-198. LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Folio section CALL NUMBER: QH1.A277 1990 Short article on general topics related to entomology and urban trees. Includes references.
Environment
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Reference Stacks [1st floor] CALL NUMBER: GE10.E68 1998
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, [1st floor] CALL NUMBER: GE10.E68 1998
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: TD173.5.W6 1989 Includes people, government and private agencies, institutions and databases useful for environmental research. Forestry
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Government Documents CALL NUMBER: LC DOC SD250.5.D57 1993
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: E160.S65 1992
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Stacks, Engineering Library CALL NUMBER: QH540.4.A44 1989 Includes relevant agencies and acronyms as well as current terminology.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: GE10.M66 2000
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Reference Stacks; Engineering Library Reference (1992, 2nd ed.) CALL NUMBER: QH540.4.M3 1980; GE10.M38 1992
LOCATION(S): MCKeldin Library Reference; Engineering Library Reference; Chemistry Library Reference CALL NUMBER: Q121.M3 1997
LOCATION(S): MCKeldin Library Reference Stacks CALL NUMBER: SD126.D535 1998
LOCATION(S): Engineering Library Reference section CALL NUMBER: TA9.W44 1997
LOCATION(S): Architecture Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB435.5.P48 1995 Includes sections on the selection of trees, disturbance minimization during construction and the preparation of a tree conservation plan.
LOCATION(S): ENG REF CALL NUMBER: TA145.C58 1987 Vol.5 Covers the environmental aspects of civil engineering, including trees and landscapes.
LOCATION(S): MCKREF STACKS CALL NUMBER: SB435.52.N58H36 2000 Urban forestry text with an interdisciplinary approach designed to introduce basic concepts.
LOCATION(S): MCK STACKS CALL NUMBER: SD565.M29 1995 Historical perspectives on a variety of community-owned woodlands in New England. Contains an extensive bibliography.
LOCATION(S): Architecture Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB436.S49 1989 Collection of articles promoting the use of trees to enhance the livability of communities. Appendices contain helpful information.
LOCATION(S): Architecture Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB436.B73 1995 Instructional text on arboriculture methodologies and techniques aimed at people designing and managing urban landscapes and planting and caring for trees. Includes references.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: HT166.W513 1994 Describes a holistic approach to urban planning and management and provides a picture of the city's impact upon the environment. Includes a glossary and references.
LOCATION(S): Architecture Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB436.U7 1995 Multidisciplinary approach to the development and management of urban forest landscapes, described in articles from a symposium on the subject. Some articles cite references.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB436.G73 1986 A basic introduction to urban forestry.
LOCATION(S): Architecture Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB436.M55 1997 Describes how to manage, establish and plan urban and community forests in the urban ecosystem.
LOCATION(S): Architecture Library Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB436.P45 1993 A reference guide for municipal street tree management.
Some of the following titles may be listed with SuDocs numbers. These are arranged in the Government Documents Unit of McKeldin Library.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Government Documents CALL NUMBER: SuDoc A 13.36/2:P 25
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Government Documents CALL NUMBER: SUDOC A 13.2:F 76/96 http://www.lpb.org/programs/forestseries/ Teacher's guide for the six-part documentary series on urban forestry by Louisiana Public Broadcasting. Includes a glossary.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Government Documents, Microfiche CALL NUMBER: A 13.88:NE-268
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Government Documents CALL NUMBER: SUDOC A 13.110/2:C 35
Avery Index covers a wide range of journal articles on landscape architecture, landscape design, city planning, and related subjects.
LOCATION(S): MCKREF STACKS, NETWRK WWW CALL NUMBER: Z5073.U572 Monthly index of over 2,000 sources, including books, journals, proceedings, pamphlets and government documents. Includes personal and corporate author indexes. When searching the electronic version of the database, AGRICOLA, it is helpful use the category code (CC=K000) for forestry.
Biology Digest is a compilation of abstracts and indexes of domestic and international literature in the area of life sciences. It is primarily intended for an audience at the high school or undergraduate college level. Its purpose is to aid in keeping students and instructors current on the latest developments in biological research. Each of over 20,000 records contains an original abstract averaging about 325 words. Key information such as methods involved and conclusions drawn from the respective research is retained.
Information about articles in over 5,500 life sciences journals. Also covers content summaries, books and meeting abstracts, papers and posters. Major areas covered include biochemistry, the digestive system, food and industrial microbiology, food technology, metabolism, nutrition, and physiology. Print version(s): Biological Abstracts.(1926-1997) MCK STACKS QH301.B37 Biological Abstracts/RRM. Reports, reviews and meetings. (1980-1997) MCK FOLIO QH301.B3713 Bioresearch Index. (1967-1979) MCK FOLIO QH301.B3712 Bioresearch Titles. (1965-1966) MCK FOLIO QH301.B371
Similar in scope to AGRICOLA but more comprehensive, over 10,000 international journals in more than 75 languages are scanned for articles relating to all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Books, reports, proceedings, theses and patents are also indexed. Covers nutrition, nutrition education, nutrition research (human and animal models), diet and diet therapy, nutritional disorders, nutritive value of food, food composition, food crops, foodstuffs, food supply, aid, and policy, food toxins and allergies, and the biochemistry and physiology of food. Unlike FSTA, CAB does not cover the processing of food crops into consumer products with the exception of sugar technology. Extension literature is excluded.
LOCATION(S): MCKREF STACKS CALL NUMBER: QH540.C871 Indexes over 2,000 journals monthly, organized by subject headings. Includes many non-English language sources.
LOCATION(S): MCKREF STACKS CALL NUMBER: QH540.E27 Covers 600 journals, books, and conference proceedings on all ecological topics. Organized by subject. Contains subject and author indexes.
Continues Applied Ecology Abstracts. 1975-1979. MCK REF AH540.A66. LOCATION(S): MCKREF STACKS, NETWRK WWW CALL NUMBER: QH540.A661 Covers topics on the interactions between living things and their environment. Over 5,000 journals as well as other sources are indexed. Each issue contains author and subject indexes that are cumulated annually.
LOCATION(S): MCKREF STACKS CALL NUMBER: GF1.E553 Provides access to books, periodical and newspaper articles, and conference proceedings. Contains a cumulated index.
LOCATION(S): MCK FOLIO CALL NUMBER: Z7171.E6 Compiled from over 600 environment related periodicals. Includes a separate annual index. Organized by broad subject headings.
LOCATION(S): ENG REF CALL NUMBER: Z916.B473 Especially useful for locating USDA publications, this title provides access to publications available through the National Technical Information Service. This type of publication, sometimes known as gray literature, is often not published or distributed through other channels, and can include conference proceedings, technical reports, manuals, databases, software, and other types of information. Keyword, author and corporate author indexes are available for each volume.
LOCATION(S): MCKREF STACKS 1987 - ., CHEM (current issues in CHEM PER AREA) CALL NUMBER: Z7403.I42 1987 FOLIO The major source for finding literature reviews. Over 3,000 journals and other review publications, including books, are indexed. Each issue has 4 indexes: author, permuterm subject, corporate, and research front specialty.
LOCATION(S): MCKREF STACKS, NETWRK WWW CALL NUMBER: TD172.P65 Covers waste treatment, freshwater pollution, other relevant subjects. Over 2,500 journals, conference proceedings and government reports are indexed. Includes author indexes.
This unique source indexes over 3,300 international journals in the basic and biomedical sciences. Nearly 100 of these journals are specific to fields related directly to nutrition. This source unique because is it includes indexing for all of the references of each original paper indexed. This feature is based on the assumption that there is a subject relationship between a paper and the books and papers cited in its bibliography. It is an excellent way to find more current related information from an earlier known work.
Internet Resources
World Wide Web Sites and Documents
Most journals listed are peer reviewed and research oriented. Because this topic is often in the news, it may be appropriate to include news-oriented and popular periodicals in your research.
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks; or, find title through E-journal tab in Research Port - UM only. CALL NUMBER: SD1.A552
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks; or, find title through E-journal tab in Research Port - UM only. CALL NUMBER: HM206.E5
LOCATION(S): MCK STACKS; or, find title through E-journal tab in Research Port - UM only. CALL NUMBER: SD1.F666
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks; or, find title through E-journal tab in Research Port - UM only. CALL NUMBER: QH541.5.F6F6
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks; or, find title through E-journal tab in Research Port - UM only. CALL NUMBER: HC68.J6
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: SD1.S63
LOCATION(S): Architecture Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: G125.U71
LOCATION(S): Architecture Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB469.L3
LOCATION(S): Architecture Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: SB469.L33
LOCATION(S): Find title through E-journal tab in Research Port - UM only.
LOCATION(S): Architecture Library, Folio section; or, find title through E-journal tab in Research Port - UM only. CALL NUMBER: SB469.L352
LOCATION(S): Find title through E-journal tab in Research Port - UM only. SEARCH PHRASE: sn:0829-318X or sn:0829318X
LOCATION(S): McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks CALL NUMBER: G125.U7
Dwyer, John F., David J. Nowak, Mary Heather Noble, and Susan M. Sisinni. Connecting People with Ecosystems in the 21st Century: An Assessment of Our Nation's Urban Forests. [Portland, Or.]: U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Forest Service, Pacific Northwest Research Station, [2000].
|
||
|
|