Navigation  
Bar
Guides to Information Resources

Veterinary Medicine

Scope:Veterinary medicine is concerned with the scientific study of the health and well-being of animals, particularly vertebrates, and with diagnosis, treatment and prevention of diseases. This is a selective guide to sources dealing with this subfield of agricultural science. Materials suggested in this guide can be found within the UM Libraries. Email the subject area specialist at sbaykouc (@umd.edu) or call (301) 405-9080 for more information.


Table of Contents

Locating References Using the Catalog

The libraries Catalog contains records of books and journal titles held at UM and other Maryland libraries.

Consult the Library of Congress Subject Headings or use such terms as:

    ANIMAL BEHAVIOR LIVESTOCK -- DISEASES
    ANIMAL DISEASES
    ANIMAL HEALTH
    POULTRY SCIENCE
    VETERINARY MEDICINE
    ZOONOSES

You may also want to search under individual animal's name.

CAB THESAURUS (2 volumes) Subject headings used in Bibliography of Agriculture (AGRICOLA) and the CAB databases. 2 Volumes.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z699.5.A5C13 1999

return to top

Bibliographies

Fenner, William R. Quick Reference to Veterinary Medicine. 2nd ed. Philadelphia: J. B. Lippincott Co., 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF771.Q53 1991

Gibb, Mike. Keyguide to Information Sources in Veterinary Medicine. London: Mansell Publishing, Ltd., 1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF610.8.G53 1990
History and scope of veterinary medicine, veterinary information:origins and utilization, directories, individuals, organizations and institutions, abstracting and indexing services and databases, reference books, bibliography of general works, large and small animals, and veterinary specialities, e.g. immunology, microbiology, etc.

Current Contents. Agriculture, Biology & Environmental Sciences. Philadelphia, Pa.: Institute for Scientific Information, Weekly. 1973- .
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Reference Stacks[Latest 6 months only.]
CALL NUMBER: S1.C87

return to top

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Black's Veterinary Dictionary. Lanham, MD:Barnes & Noble Books, 2001, 20th edition.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF609.B53 2001

Blood, Douglas C., and Virginia P. Studdert. Saunders Comprehensive Veterinary Dictionary. 2nd ed. London ; New York: WB Saunders, 1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF609.B566 1999

Brown, Christopher M., D. A. Hogg, and D. F. Kelly, eds. Concise Veterinary Dictionary. Oxford, Eng.: Oxford University Press, 1988.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF609.C66 1988

Handy-Marchello, Barbara. Veterinary Technician's Guide to Medical Terminology. Reston, Va.: Reston Pub. Co., 1984.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF610.H36 1984

Mack, Roy. Dictionary for Veterinary Science and Biosciences. German-English, English-German. Berlin:Paul Parey Scientific Publishers, 1988.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF609.D538 1988.

Beaver, Bonnie. The Veterinarian's Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior. Ames, IA:Iowa State University Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF756.7.B43 1994

Hurnik, J. F. et al. Dictionary of Farm Animal Behavior. 2nd ed.Ames, IA:Iowa State University Press, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF 756.7.H87 1995

return to top

Directories

American Veterinary Medical Association [AVMA] Directory and Resource Manual. Schaumburg, Ill: AVMA Div. of Membership and Field Services.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks (2004 only)
CALL NUMBER: SF611.A53

International Directory of Animal Health and Disease Data Banks. Washington, D.C.: National Agricultural Library, USDA, 1982.
LOCATION: Government Documents SU Docs
CALL NUMBER: A 1.38

return to top

Handbooks

Fenner, William R. Quick Reference to Veterinary Medicine. 2nd ed. Philadelphia, Pa.: Lippincott, 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF771.Q53 1991

Tilley, Larry P. and Francis W. K. Smith. The Five Minute Veterinary Consult:Canine and Feline. Baltimore, MD:Williams and Wilkins, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF991.T55 1997.

Kirk and Bistner's Handbook of Veterinary Procedures and Emergency Treatment. 6th ed. Philadelphia: W. B. Saunders, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF748.B57 1995

Merck Veterinary Manual: A Handbook of Diagnosis, Therapy and Disease Prevention and Control for the Veterinarian. 7th ed. Rahway, N. J.: Merck, 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF745.M4 1991

Craigmill, Arthur L., et al. Handbook of Comparative Pharmacokinetics and Residues of Veterinary Therapeutic Drugs. Boca Raton, FL:CRC Press, 1994.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF917.C73 1994

Morgan, Rhea V. Handbook of Small Animal Practice. 3rd ed. Philadelphia, PA: W. B. Saunders, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF991.H228 1997

Anatomy

Beaver, Bonnie. Comparative Anatomy of Domestic Animals: A Guide. IA:Iowa State University Press, 1980.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF761.B43

Drugs

Murphy, Michael. A Field Guide to Common Animal Poisons. Ames, IA:Iowa State University Press, 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF757.5.M87 1996

Hawk, C. Terrance and Steven L. Leary. Formulary for Laboratory Animals.
Ames, IA:Iowa State University Press, 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF917.H25 1995

The Green Book The FDA's Approved Animal Drug List.
(http://www.fda.gov/cvm/greenbook/greenbook.html)

Papich, Mark G. Saunders Handbook of Veterinary Drugs
Philadelphia: Saunders, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks SF917.P36 2002

Plumb, Donald C. Veterinary Drug Handbook.
4th ed. Ames, IA:Iowa State University Press, 2002.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF917.P58 2002

Bishop, Yolande, ed. The Veterinary Formulary
4th ed. London: Pharmaceutical Press, 1998.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF916.5.V47 1998

Nutrition

Series Title: Nutrient Requirements of Domestic Animals. National Research Council (U.S.) Washington, D. C.:National Academy of Sciences, 1966- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF95.N32
To locate individual works in this series you must search individual titles.
e.g.Nutrient Requirements of Dogs. National Academy Press, 1985. (SF427.4.N38 1985)

Zoonoses

Hugh-Jones, Martin E. et al. Zoonoses: Recognition, Control, and Prevention. Ames, IA:Iowa State University Press, 1995.
LOCATION:McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:SF740.H84 1995.
Parasitic, fungal, bacterial, spirochaetal, and rickettsial, and viral zoonoses are diseases, the agents of which, are transmitted between vertebrate animals and people.

return to top

Textbooks

Hagan and Bruner's Microbiology and Infectious Diseases of Domestic Animals... 8th ed. Revised by J. F. Timoney, et al. Ithaca, N. Y.: Comstock, 1988.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF781.H3 1988

Adams, H. Richard, ed. Veterinary Pharmacology and Therapeutics. 8th ed.Ames, IA:Iowa State University Press, 2001.
LOCATION:McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:SF915.V49 2001

Chandler, E. A. et al. Feline Medicine and Therapeutics. 2nd. Ed. Oxford:Blackwell Scientific Publications, 1994.
LOCATION:McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:SF985.F45 1994.

Ettinger, Stephen J. Pocket Companion to the Fourth Edition of Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine. Philadelphia, PA:W. B. Saunders, 1996.
LOCATION:McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:SF911.E87 1996

Jones, Thomas C. et al. Veterinary Pathology. 6th ed. Baltimore, Md.:Williams and Wilkins, 1996.
LOCATION:McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:SF769.J65 1996

return to top

Selected Indexes and Abstracts

Because of licensing agreements, most of these databases can be used only by current faculty, staff, and students of the University of Maryland, College Park as indicated by UM only. These users can access them only through the campus network or through Research Port. Read more about remote access. Only those titles marked **** are freely available to anyone anywhere.

Agrindex. Monthly. 1975 - 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks (1975-1985 and 1988-1995)
CALL NUMBER: S18.A5
Agrindex serves as a comprehensive inventory of worldwide agricultural literature that reflects research results, food production, and rural development. Designed to help users identify problems involved in all aspects of world food supply, the file corresponds in part to AgrIndex, published monthly by the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) of the United Nations. Subject coverage focuses on many topics including; general agriculture; geography and history; education, extension and advisory work; administration and legislation; economics, development, and rural sociology; plant production; protection of plants and stored products; forestry; animal production; aquatic sciences and fisheries; machinery and buildings; natural resources, food science; home economics; human nutrition; pollution; and more.

Animal Behavior Abstracts. Quarterly. 1982 - 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: QL750.B541
(Continues Animal Behaviour Abstracts 1973-1981)
This abstracting index is published monthly. It covers all areas of animal behavior, including aggression, learning, social behavior, perception, orientation, foraging, navigation and motion and biological rhythms. Indexes include author and subject with the subject index containing taxonomic names. These indexes are cumulated annually. Included in Cambridge Scientific Abstracts UM only.

Bibliography of Agriculture. 1942 - . Monthly.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z5073.U572
The National Agricultural Library staff and its cooperators scan over 2,000 titles which include literature from worldwide sources in the field of agriculture and allied sciences as well as forestry, and ecology. Sources include journal articles, government documents, special reports, books, patents, etc. Monthly subject, personal and corporate author indexes are provided. The subject and author indexes cumulate annually. Entries in these indexes identify the item by an accession number. Full citations are arranged numerically by these accession numbers under broad subject headings in the Main Entry section.
Searchable back to 1970 through Firstsearch via the UM Libraries Home Page as Agricola. UM only

Biological Abstracts. 1926/27- .
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks (latest year), McKeldin Stacks, Chemistry Microfilm(1927-1975)
CALL NUMBER: QH301.B37
Coverage includes virtually all aspects of the biological sciences. Each issue contains author, biosystematic, generic, and subject indexes which are cumulated semi-annually. Over 10,000 journals and other serial titles are indexed. Most entries include an abstract of the article. An in-depth search of the journal literature on mammalogy or ornithology should include searches in both sections of Biological Abstracts as well as Zoological Record (see below).
Available online as BIOSIS Previews UM only.

CAB AbstractsUM only
1972-
Similar in scope to AGRICOLA but more comprehensive, nearly 10,000 international journals in over 35 languages are scanned for articles relating to all aspects of agriculture and related fields including animal science, animal nutrition, and veterinary medicine. Books, reports, proceedings, and patents are also included. Provides online access to the following print sources:

  • Dairy Science Abstracts. 1939 - 1998. Monthly.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: SF221.I36
    (MCK has incomplete holdings prior to 1980.)

  • Index Veterinarius. 1933 -1995. Monthly.
    LOCATION: MCK FOLIO
    CALL NUMBER: Z6674.I5
    (MCK has incomplete holdings prior to 1970.)

  • Poultry Abstracts. Monthly. 1978 - 1998.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
    CALL NUMBER: SF481.P64

    Veterinary Bulletin. 1960 - 1998. Monthly.
    LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks (1960-1985), McKeldin Reference Stacks (1986-1998)
    CALL NUMBER: SF601.V52

Index Medicus. 1960 - . Monthly.
LOCATIONS: McKeldin Folio, Chemistry Bound Periodicals(1990-1997), Government Documents Quick Reference(current issues), Government Documents Microfiche(1995- .)
CALL NUMBER: Z6660.I422, GOVDOC HE 20.3612
Cumulates annually as Cumulative Index Medicus. Preceded by similar publications under various titles. A comprehensive index to the world's medical literature, covering more than 2,500 periodicals in the fields of medical and health sciences as well as representative journals in related fields. The list of journals indexed appears in each January issue. Available online as PubMed****, 1966-.

PubMed(1966- )****
Comprehensive database for biomedicine. Citations, abstracts, and link-out to some full-text at publisher's Web sites. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this database indexes more than 5,000 medical journals and basic science journals related to medicine. Updated weekly. [Further information]

Science Citation Index Expanded via Web of Science 1945 - .UM only
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodical Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z7401.S365 1961-1995
This unique source indexes over 3,300 international journals in the basic and biomedical sciences. What makes this source unique is that it includes indexing for all of the references of each original paper indexed. This feature is based on the assumption that there is a subject relationship between a paper and the books and papers cited in its bibliography. It is an excellent way to find more current related information from an earlier known work.

To learn more about how to search Web of Science, see their Tutorial

Zoological Record. 1978 - . UM only
LOCATION: MCK FOLIO(1870-1994)
CALL NUMBER: Z7991.Z87
(Continues Record of Zoological Literature, 1864-1869)
Comprehensive guide to the literature of zoology. Indexed by author, subject, geographic region, paleontology, and systematics.

return to top

Nomenclature

SNOMED International: The Systematized Nomenclature of Human and Veterinary Medicine. Cote, Roger A., ed. 3rd Ed. 4 vols. Northfield, IL: College of American Pathologists; Schaumburg, IL: American Veterinary Medical Association, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z695.1.V4S66 1993
Also called: Systematized Nomenclature of Human and Veterinary Medicine
(See Z695.1.V4S662 for introductory material and section introductions.)

Serials (Selected Titles)

Check the Catalog for holdings and locations on the College Park campus. These titles and others are indexed in many of the indexes and abstracting services listed above.

    Advances in Veterinary Science, 1953-1995, SF745.A39
    American Journal of Veterinary Research,1940-, SF601.A3
    British Veterinary Journal, 1949-1996, SF601.B7
    Canadian Veterinary Journal, 1968-, SF601.C3
    Journal of Equine Veterinary Science, 1988-, SF951.J67
    Poultry Science, 1921/22-1935,1937-, SF481.P77
    Veterinary Record, 1888-, SF601.V43
    Veterinary Research Communications, 1987 (Vol.11)-, SF601.V47

return to top

Yearbooks

Animal Health Yearbook. Annual. Rome: FAO, WHO and OIE. 1957 - .
LOCATIONS: McKeldin periodical stacks (1959-1994)
McKeldin reference stacks (1995 only)
CALL NUMBER: SF600.F2

return to top

History

Stalheim, Ole H. V. Guide to Collections of Papers Pertaining to American Veterinary History. Ames, Iowa: Ohvee, Inc., 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF623.G85 1996

Smithcors, J. Fred and Ann Smithcors. Five Centuries of Veterinary Medicine; A Short-Title Catalog of the Washington State University Veterinary History Collection. Pullman, WA:Washington State University Press, 1997.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:SF607.F58 1997

Career Information

Simmons, M.L. Career Guide to the Animal Health Field. 2nd ed. Media, PA:Harwal, 1984.
LOCATION: Storage (place Hold to obtain)
CALL NUMBER: SF756.28.S55 1984

Crawford, Jane D.The Preveterinary Planning Guide. 3rd ed. Bethesda, Md: Betz Pub. Co., 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Stacks
CALL NUMBER: SF756.35.C73 1995
Has very informative appendices, including: Career Related Work Opportunities for Health Career Students, Films and Videotapes, Geographical Listing of Veterinary Colleges in the U.S. and Canada, Health Career Listings, U.S. Government Unites that Relate to Vet. Med., Economic Statistics, and Veterinary Medical and Regional Organizations.

Swope, Robert E. et al.Opportunities in Veterinary Medicine Careers. Lincolnwood IL: VGM Career Horizons, 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Index table
CALL NUMBER: SF756.28.S96 1993

Veterinary Medical School Admission Requirements.
Bethesda, MD.:Betz Pub. Co., 2002
LOCATION: McKeldin Reference Index Table
Non-circulating (does not check out)
CALL NUMBER: S533.V472

Web Pages of the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges
See below under the Internet Resources section of this Guide.

return to top

Internet Resources

  • AltVetMed
    (www.altvetmed.org/)
    Information on complementary and alternative therapies in veterinary medicine.

  • American Veterinary Medical Association
    (www.avma.org)

  • Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges
    (www.aavmc.org)

  • Center for Veterinary Medicine (U.S. Food and Drug Administration)
    (www.fda.gov/cvm)

  • Consultant A Diagnostic Support System for Veterinary Medicine maintained by Dr. Maurice E. White, Cornell Veterinary Medicine.
    (www.vet.cornell.edu/consultant/consult.asp)
    Database that suggests possible causes for clinical signs and symptoms and provides synopsis of the cause, including, a general description, species affected, signs/symptoms associated with it, and a list of recent literature references.

  • Martindale's Health Science Guide 2007 (Martindale's Health Science Guide-2000)
    (http://www.martindalecenter.com/HSGuide.html)

  • NETVET
    (http://netvet.wustl.edu)

  • National Animal Poison Control Center and NAPCC Animal Product Safety Service
    (www.napcc.aspca.org)
    Phone: 1-800-548-2423 or 1-900-680-0000
    Non-Profit service of the University of Illinois College of Veterinary Medicine.

    return to top

  •  

    © 2006 University Libraries. University of Maryland. College Park, MD 20742-7011, (301) 405-0800
    Last modified: January, 2007

    Send us your comments | Privacy Policy
    University of Maryland Libraries Home Catalog Research Port Ask us! How do I...? Site index Search