|
Last revised: July 2008
Virology
Scope: The purpose of this guide is to provide quick access to print and electronic resources covering Virology. Parts of this guide are derived from "Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide" by Diane Schmidt, Elisabeth B. Davis, and Pamela F. Jacobs (2002). Email the subject area specialist at tharrod@umd.edu or call 301-405-7253 for more information.
Please fill out the survey at the bottom of the page.
Click here to learn more about the Virology specialization within the CBMG department.
To find books about cell and developmental biology in our catalog try searching for the following subject terms: Virology, Virus Diseases, Plant Viruses, Host-virus Relationships, Molecular Virology, etc
- All the Virology on the WWW
http://www.virology.net/ Online Resource
- Mazzone, H.M. CRC Handbook of Viruses: Mass-Molecular Weight Values and Related Properties
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, 1998. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Reference Call Number: QR389 .M39 1998
- Mahy, B.W.J. A Dictionary of Virology
San Diego, CA : Academic Press, c2001. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Reference Call Number: QR358 .M34 2001
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
http://www.els.net Online Resource
- Encyclopedia of Virology - Granoff, A. & Webster, R.G. (eds.)
San Diego : Academic Press, c1999. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Reference Call Number: QR358 .E53 1999
- Huasheng, D. English-Chinese Dictionary of Virology
Beijing : Zhongguo xue shu chu ban she : Beijing shi xin hua shu dian zong fa xing, 1987. Print Location: UMCP McKeldin Library East Asia Chinese Language Reference Call Number: QR358 .Y56 1987
- Hsiung, G.D. et al. Hsiung's Diagnostic Virology: As Illustrated by Light and Electron Microscopy
New Haven : Yale University Press, c1994. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Stacks Call Number: QR387 .H74 1994
- Virology LABFAX - Harper, D.R. (ed.)
Oxford : BIOS Scientific Publishers : Blackwell Scientific Publications ; San Diego, Calif. : Distributed in the U.S., its territories, dependencies, and Canada exclusively by Academic Press, c1993. Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Stacks Call Number: QR201.V55 V55 1993
(These are ranked by impact factor, also please note that our coverage of these journals is not always to the present)
- Journal of Virology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000514814 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QR360 .J68
- Retrovirology
http://www.retrovirology.com/home/ Online Resource
- Virology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000513213 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QR360 .V5
- Advances in Virus Research (Available in Print Only)
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000457540 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QR360 .A3
- Journal of General Virology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000510737 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QR360 .J6
- Journal of Viral Hepatitis (Available Online Only: Most Recent Year Not Available)
- Journal of Medical Virology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000679435 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: RC114.5 .J68
- Virus Research
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001230616 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QR355 .V57
- Current HIV Research (Available Online Only: Most Recent Year Not Available)
- Microbes and Infection
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=002488288 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QR180 .M53
- Journal of Neurovirology (Available Online Only: 1995-2000)
- Archives of Virology
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=000585877 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QR360 .A72
- Viral Immunology (Available in Print Only)
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001312249 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: RC114.5 .V58
- Virus Genes
http://catalog.umd.edu/docno=001598251 Print Location: UMCP Chemistry Periodical Stacks Call Number: QH434 .V57
This list represents only a portion of the Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics journals available from the University of Maryland, to search for more electronic journals accessible through our library, check the E-Journals list in Research Port - to search for print journals, check our Catalog.
return to top
- AIDS and Cancer Research
This database covers material from over 240 titles - topics covered include AIDS and cancer as well as related fields.
- Biological and Medical Sciences
Covers a range of biological subjects including: biomedical sciences and biotechnology as well as other areas of biology - this database is comprised of records from 6000 journals, books, conference proceedings, and other scholarly sources.
- BIOSIS Previews
Database covering the biological sciences including interdisciplinary areas such as medicine and biochemistry - made up of 5500 journals, books, conference proceedings, and other scholarly sources.
- Faculty of 1000
Listing of critical papers in biology as selected by 1600 international scientists, subdivided into various disciplines within biology.
- Papers First
Listing of over 2 million papers that have been presented at conferences from around the world.
- PubMed (Medline)
Database indexing articles from over 4500 journals from around the world - covers medical literature in a variety of fields as well as biomedical research.
- Science Direct
Indexing articles from 1800 journals (800 of which have full-text access), this database covers a range of sciences including biology.
- Virology and AIDS Abstracts
Indexes material from around the world covering the various subdisciplines within the field of virology
- Web of Science
This database indexes articles from over 17000 journals including 5700 from across the sciences - in addition this database makes it possible to track citations (i.e. who has cited whom and who was cited by whom).
These are just some of the databases that the University of Maryland College Park offers in Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics - to see more databases covering these areas of study, click on Biology and/or Cell Biology
return to top
- All the Virology on the WWW
http://www.virology.net/
A "one-stop shop" for virology resources available on the web
- Molecular Biology of an HIV Infection
http://www.galaxygoo.org/biochem/hiv/hiv_lifecycle.html
Animated movie which explains the molecular mechanisms that HIV utilizes to infect a cell
- Universal Virus Database
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/ICTVdb/ A rich resource of images and descriptions of viruses
- Virology Links (University of Maryland)
http://www.cbmg.umd.edu/research/virology/links.html
Contains links to many virology-related web resources
- West Nile Virus (CDC)
http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dvbid/westnile/index.htm
This website from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) features discussions of various health-related aspects of this infectious agent
- Yahoo Directory (Virology)
http://d3.dir.ac2.yahoo.com/Science/Biology/Microbiology/Virology/
Features links to many Virology resources available on the open web
return to top
return to top
|