|
Last revised: August 2008
Women's Studies
Scope: This is a selective guide of sources for the historical as well as the contemporary study of women, available at the University of Maryland Libraries.
Email the subject area specialist yluckert@umd.edu or call 301-405-9365 for more information.
To locate books, search Catalog. Books in the Library's Catalog are categorized according to Library of Congress
Subject Headings, copies of which are located near the online catalogs.
return to top
OTHER LIBRARIES' CATALOGS
- WorldCat
- Combined catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
- Center for Research Libraries
- Catalog of materials of scholarly interest available through interlibrary loan.
DATABASES
- Contemporary Womens Issues
Abstracts from journal articles, newsletters, research reports, government and international agencies, and fact sheets from 1992 to the present.
- Early Modern Women Database
This database provides annotated links to scholarly World Wide Web resources useful for the study of women in early modern Europe and the Americas. It focuses on the period ca. 1500 to ca. 1800.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- GenderWatch
Full text database comprised primarily of the many ongoing periodicals that deal with gender issues, including academic and scholarly journals, regional publications, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, booklets and reports. Contains archival material, in some cases as far back as 1974.
- Renaissance Women Writers Online
Full text of 100 works written by women between 1500 and 1700. Also includes contextual introductions and topical essays on women's life and writing in the Renaissance.A subset of Women Writers Online.
- ViVa
A current bibliography of articles about women's and gender history. Articles selected from European, American and Indian journals. Contains more than 5,500 articles published betwen 1975 to 2000 in 116 journals. Although there is some overlap with Historical Abstracts, ViVa indexes a number of journals not covered or are only partially covered by Historical Abstracts. In addition, it is more focused than Historical Abstracts or Women's Resource International.
- Women Writers Online
Full text of works written by women between 1400 and 1850. Includes novels, poems, drama, and non-fiction.
- Women's Studies International
Compiled from ten women's studies databases, primarily an index of the feminist press from 1972 to the present.
return to top
Other Related Databases
Women's Studies is a highly interdisciplinary subject. Thus a variety of resources can be used in researching topics related to women's studies. Besides various commercial and non for profit publishers, please don't overlook U.S. government publications. They include (but not limited to) surveys, studies, reports and statistical information related to multitude of women's issues. For more information please see University of Maryland Libraries Databases
General Databases
return to top
- Brennan, Shawn, ed. Women's Information Directory: A Guide to Organizations,
Agencies, Institutions, Programs, Publicaitions, Services, and Other Resources Conerned with
Women in the United States. 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1115.W64 1993
- Carter, Sarah and Maureen Ritchie. Women's Studies: A Guide to Information
Sources. 1990.
LOCATION: LIBSCH STACKS, MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: HQ1206.C27 1990
- Gale Ready Reference Shelf
Provides information on organizations and associations worldwide
- Hallgarth, Susan A. and Tina Kraskow, eds. WIP: A Directory of Work-in-Progress and
Recent Publications. 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1206.W76 1992
- Howard, Angela M. and Kavenik, Frances M., ed. Handbook of American Women's History. 2000.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUBMER: HQ1410.H36 2000
- Humm, Maggie. Dictionary of Feminist Theory. 2nd ed. 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1115.H86 1995
- Kramarae, Cheris and Paula A. Treichler. A Feminist Dictionary. 1985.
LOCATION: LIBSCH REF, McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1115.K73 1985
- Miller, Connia, with Corina Treitel. Feminist Research Methods: An Annotated
Bibliography. 1991.
LOCATION: LIBSCH STACKS, McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1180.M5 1991
- Oakes, Elizabeth and Kathleen E. Sheldon. Guide to Social Science Resources in
Women's Studies. 1978.
LOCATION: HBK STOR, MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: HQ1180.O2 1978
- Searing, Susan E. Introduction to Library Research in Women's Studies. 1985.
LOCATION: LIBSCH STACKS, MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: HQ1206.S425 1985
- Tierney, Helen, ed. Women's Studies Encyclopedia. 3 vol. 1989-1990.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1115.W645 1989
For additional information, see UM Libraries: Electronic Resources: Online Reference Shelf.
return to top
Bindocci, Cynthia Gay. Women and Technology: An Annotated Bibliography.
1993.
LOCATION: ENGIN REF, MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: T36.B56 1993
Cardinale, Susan. Anthologies By and About Women: An Analytical Index
1982.
LOCATION: LIBSCH STACKS, McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: HQ1111.C35 1982
DeCoste, F. C. Feminist Legal Literature: A Selective Annotated Bibliography.
1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: K644.A12D43 1991
Doughan, David. Feminist Periodicals, 1855-1984: An Annotated Critical Bibliography
of British, Irish, Commonwealth and International Titles. 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUBMER: HQ1154.D68 1987
Garber, Linda. Lesbian Sources: A Bibliography of Periodical Articles, 1970-1990.
1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.5.G37 1993
Gilbert, Victor Francis. Women's Studies: A Bibliography of Dissertations
1870-1982. 1985.
LOCATION: MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: HQ1180.G55 1985
Huls, Mary Ellen. United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1990: A
Comprehensive Bibliography. 2 vols. 1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1410.H84 1993
Loeb, Catherine. Women's Studies: A Recommended Core Bibliography,
1980-1985. 1987.
LOCATION: LIBSCH REF, MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: HQ1180.L63 1987
Maggiore, Dolores J. Lesbianism: An Annotated Bibliography and Guide to the
Literature, 1976-1991. 1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ75.6.U5M253 1992
Redfern, Bernice. Women of Color in the United States: A Guide to the Literature.
1988.
LOCATION: MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: HQ1410.R425 1988
Shult, Linda, et al., eds. Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A Bibliography. 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: HQ1233.W65 1991
Sims-Wood, Janet L. The Progress of Afro-American Women: A Selected Bibliography
and Resource Guide. 1980.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: E185.86.S6 1980
Steadman, Susan M. Dramatic Re-Visions: An Annotated Bibliography of Feminism and
Theatre, 1972-1988. 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, PA LIB REF
CALL NUMBER: PN1590.W64S74 1991
return to top
- Addis, Patricia K. Through a Woman's I: An Annotated Bibliography of American
Women's Autobiographical Writings, 1946-1976. 1983.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: CT3260.A32 1983
- Bataille, Gretchen M., ed. Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary.
1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E98.W8B38 1993
- Echols, Anne, and Marty Williams. An Annotated Index of Medieval Women.
1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: CT3220.A56 1992
- Faust, Langdon Lynne, ed. The American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide
from Colonial Times to the Present. 1988.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: PS147.A42 1988
- Golemba, Beverly E. Lesser-Known Women : A Biographical Dictionary.
1992.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: CT3203.G57 1992
- James, Edward T., et al., eds. Notable American Women 1607-1950: A Biographical
Dictionary. 3 vols. 1971.
LOCATION: ENGIN REF, HBK STOR, LIBSCH REF, McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: CT3260.N57
- Palmisano, Joseph M., ed. Notable Hispanic American Women. Book II. 1998.
LOCATION: MCK STACKS
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75N68 1998
- Salem, Dorothy C., ed. African American Women: A Biographical Dictionary.
1993.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E185.96.A45 1993
- Sicherman, Barbara, et al., eds. Notable American Women: The Modern Period: A
Biographical Dictionary. 1980.
LOCATION: ENGIN REF, LIBSCH REF, McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER:CT3260.N573
- Smith, Jessie Carney, ed. Notable Black American Women. 1992.
LOCATION: LIBSCH REF, McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: E185.96.N68 1992
- Smith, Jessie Carney, ed. Notable Black American Women. Book II. 1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E185.96.N68 1996
- Telgen, Diane, and Jim Kemp, eds. Notable Hispanic American Women. 1993
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: E184.S75N68 1993
- Uglow, Jennifer S., ed. The Continuum Dictionary of Women's Biography.
1999.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: CT3202.C66 1999
For additional information, see UM Libraries: Electronic Resources: Online Reference Shelf: Biographical.
return to top
- Fast, Timothy. Women's Atlas of the United States. 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: G1201.E1G5 1995
- Schmittroth, Linda, ed. Statistical Record of Women Worldwide. 2nd ed.
1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1150.S73 1995
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Provides statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Comprised of data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations.
- Taeuber, Cynthia, ed. Statistical Handbook on Women in America. 2nd ed.
1996.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: HQ1420.T34 1996
- The World's Women, 1970-1990: Trends and Statistics. 1991.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Folio, See Catalog for others
CALL NUMBER: HQ1154.W675 1991
- The World's Women, 1995: Trends and Statistics. 1995.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1154.W675 1995
For additional information, see UM Libraries: Electronic Resources: Online Reference Shelf: Statistics.
return to top
- Archives U.S.A.
- Cline, Cheryl. Women's Diaries, Journals, and Letters: An Annotated Bibliography.
1989.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: CT3230.C5 1989
- Cornell University Libraries. The Cornell University Collection of Women's Rights
Pamphlets on Microfiche. 1974.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Periodicals Room - Microfiche
CALL NUMBER: HQ1154.C671
- Cornell University Libraries. The Cornell University Collection of Women's Rights
Pamphlets on Microfiche [Index]. 1974.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1154.C671
- Guide and Index to Women's Diaries. Segment I, New England Women: A Readex
Microfilm Collection from the Files of the American Antiquarian Society. 1984.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1418.A43 Index
- Guide to American Women's Diaries. Segment II, Southern Women. 1988.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1418.A441 1988
- Herstory: Microfilm Collection; Table of Contents. 1972.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1426.H4 Index
- Hildenbrand, Suzanne, ed. Women's Collections: Libraries, Archives, and
Consciousness. 1986.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z688.W65W64 1986
- Hindig, Andrea, ed. Women's History Sources: A Guide to Archives and Manuscript
Collections in the United States. 2 vols. 1978.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks, McKeldin Library Folio
CALL NUMBER: HQ1410.W69
- History of Women, Guide to the Microfilm Collection. 1983.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ1121.H53
- Index to Personal Names in the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections,
1959-1984. 2 vols. 1987.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: Z6670.U5I53 1988
- Sex Research: Early Literature from Statistics to Erotica: Guide to the Microfilm
Collection. 1983.
LOCATION: McKeldin Library Reference Stacks
CALL NUMBER: HQ60.S482 1983
The Special Collections Division holds a number of unique manuscripts and archival collections
related to women. Such collections include both personal papers, which often consist of an
individual's correspondence, diaries, and draft manuscripts, and the papers of various women's
organizations, such as the Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW). For
more complete information on what is available in these collections, consult staff in the
Maryland Room, Hornbake Library. See also Archives UM, Collections by Subject: Women's Studies
INTERNET RESOURCES
- University of Maryland, Women's Studies Database. The University of Maryland Women's studies Web site serves those people interested in the women's studies profession and general women's studies issues. The site contains information about upcoming conferences and calls for papers, subject bibliographies, history and government information, links to syllabi, film reviews, pathfinders and other links to scholarly resources.
- University of Wisconsin System, Women's Studies Librarian's Office
- Librarians' Index to the Internet (LII). Women. Part of the larger LII directory of reliable Internet souces. The sites are selected and evaluated by librarians.
- FeMiNa. Searchable directory of Web sites for, by, and about women. Topics covered include business, education, entertainment, health and motherhood.
- University of California - Santa Barbara, Voice of the Shuttle Gender Studies Page. Includes the following sections: general resources; women's studies and feminist theory; gay, lesbian, and queer studies; men's movements and men's studies; and cybergender and techgender.
- ACRL's Women's Studies Section, WSSLINKS: Women and Gender Studies. Broad categories divided into topical areas. Provides links to a variety of resources, including bibliographies, reports, other publications; organizations; directories, etc.
- Rutgers University, Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP). This site includes full-text research reports, fact sheets, and links to other sites related to women and politics.
- International Institute of Social History, Women's History
- University of Michigan Global Feminisms. The 'Global Feminisms Project' is a collaborative international project that examines the history of feminist activism, women's movements and academic women's studies in China, India, Poland, and the United States.
- The Women's Library, London, Social Science Information Gateway: Women's Studies
- The Women's Library, London,
Genesis: Developing Access to Women's History Sources in the British Isles
- Harvard University Library Open Collections Program, Women Working, 1870 - 1930
- Library of Congress,
American Memory
- Women's Studies Programs, Departments, and Research Centers. Links to departments, programs, and research centers worldwide.
return to top
HELPFUL GUIDES
return to top
|