Today: McKeldin 10:00AM - 09:00PM

Performing arts databases available through the University of Maryland Libraries

The following databases are available to the UMD community with a valid Directory ID and password.

Dance: All | Dance: Education | Dance: Video |

Music: All | Music: Education | Music: Related Databases | Music: Scores | Music: Video |

Theatre: All | Theatre: Play Reviews | Theatre: Play Texts | Theatre: Theatre Research | Theatre: Video |

Audio | BibliographicalPlayscripts | Reference and eBooks | Scores | Video

Multidisciplinary and Related Databases


Dance: All

BBC Television Shakespeare Plays
Streamed productions of all 37 Shakespearean plays, originally produced by the British Broadcasting Company. These are traditional interpretations of the plays set in either Shakespeare's time or in the period of the events depicted. These versions have been enhanced for high definition online streaming and are available to view with captioning.

Dance in Video
Streaming video collection of dance performances including ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational as well as the forerunners of the forms and pioneers of modern concert dance. Browse by genre, performer, choreographer, company, role, ensemble and venue. Additional materials include interviews, documentary histories, and editorials. Features include creating playlists and video clips.

DELRdi: Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index
The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present. It contains extensive descriptions of 4,500+ literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other reports from over 200+ different publications and organizations and 147 university dance programs. In addition to providing basic citation information, the DELRdi provides detailed descriptive information on the methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the research documented in the index. The DELRdi is the culminating product of a four-year research project supported by the United States Department of Education (2001-2005).

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance

[mobile version]
Comprehensive database for research on all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide.

JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. 

Naxos Video Library
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries. Currently contains over 530 full-length videos.
(5 simultaneous user limit)
   
NY Public Lib Dance Catalog

Lists the holdings of the Dance Collection of the New York Public Library. The collections consists of books, periodical articles, video recordings, and other media. All forms of dance, from all cultures, in many languages are included.

Opera in Video
Currently provides streaming access to 40 full opera performances, most of which were originally released on the ArtHaus Musik label. A wide range of historical periods and styles is represented, and most of the operas included are considered standard repertoire. Opera in Video features an innovative interface that allows users to define and bookmark specific clips, which can be annotated, saved to a playlist, or linked to from a Web page or Blackboard. Opera in Video is expected to grow to include 250 operas.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. SPORTDiscus is ideal for researchers studying different aspects of kinesiology, fitness, health, and sport studies.

Theatre in Video
Streaming video collection of plays and documentaries. Includes "world's most important plays", live television broadcasts of New York productions in the 50s, contemporary revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, and multiple productions of some plays. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors along with excerpts of live performances. Browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields. Features include creating playlists and video clips of specific scenes, monologues, and staging.

^ back to top


Dance: Education

DELRdi: Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index

The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present. It contains extensive descriptions of 4,500+ literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other reports from over 200+ different publications and organizations and 147 university dance programs. In addition to providing basic citation information, the DELRdi provides detailed descriptive information on the methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the research documented in the index. The DELRdi is the culminating product of a four-year research project supported by the United States Department of Education (2001-2005).

Education Source
Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).

ERIC
Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
[mobile version]
Comprehensive database for research on all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide.

NY Public Lib Dance Catalog
Lists the holdings of the Dance Collection of the New York Public Library. The collections consists of books, periodical articles, video recordings, and other media. All forms of dance, from all cultures, in many languages are included.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text
This database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. Content areas range from sports physiology and sports psychology to physical education and recreation. SPORTDiscus is ideal for researchers studying different aspects of kinesiology, fitness, health, and sport studies.

^ back to top

 

Dance: Video

BBC Television Shakespeare Plays
Streamed productions of all 37 Shakespearean plays, originally produced by the British Broadcasting Company. These are traditional interpretations of the plays set in either Shakespeare's time or in the period of the events depicted. These versions have been enhanced for high definition online streaming and are available to view with captioning.
   
Dance in Video
Streaming video collection of dance performances including ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational as well as the forerunners of the forms and pioneers of modern concert dance. Browse by genre, performer, choreographer, company, role, ensemble and venue. Additional materials include interviews, documentary histories, and editorials. Features include creating playlists and video clips.

Naxos Video Library
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries. Currently contains over 530 full-length videos.
(5 simultaneous user limit)
   
Opera in Video
Currently provides streaming access to 40 full opera performances, most of which were originally released on the ArtHaus Musik label. A wide range of historical periods and styles is represented, and most of the operas included are considered standard repertoire. Opera in Video features an innovative interface that allows users to define and bookmark specific clips, which can be annotated, saved to a playlist, or linked to from a Web page or Blackboard. Opera in Video is expected to grow to include 250 operas.

Theatre in Video
Streaming video collection of plays and documentaries. Includes "world's most important plays", live television broadcasts of New York productions in the 50s, contemporary revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, and multiple productions of some plays. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors along with excerpts of live performances. Browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields. Features include creating playlists and video clips of specific scenes, monologues, and staging.

^ back to top

 

Music: All

African American Music Reference
A collection of online reference books, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes and discographies related to the history of African American music in all its guises: spirituals, jazz, blues, civil rights songs, hip hop and more.

African American Newspapers 1827-1998 (Choose as a subset of America’s Historical Newspapers)
Digitized and fully searchable collections of more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1760-1900
Based on the American Antiquarian Society’s landmark collection, this full-color digital edition offers fully searchable facsimile images of approx. 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.

American Song
American Song is a database of songs that users can listen to over the Internet. It will ultimately contain 50,000 tracks of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music and include country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing. The database includes repertoire such as the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more. Among notable recording artists represented are Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Peggy Seeger, Si Kahn, Lead Belly, Sleepy LaBeef, the New Lost City Ramblers, Otis Clay, Eddy "The Chief" Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, and Merle Travis.

Chicago Manual of Style Online, 16th edition
The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. 

Classical Music in Video
Streaming video collection of performances, masterclasses, and interviews. Performances include orchestral, choral, and chamber music. For operas, take a look at the separate database Opera in Video. Or, search Opera in Video and Classical Music in Video together through the database Music Online.

Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is a large multi-label database of Classical music recordings with a particular focus on content that meets the needs of educators and students. Audio tracks are supplemented by reference materials and backed by tools allowing users to create their own Playlists or to click on Themed Playlists that group tracks in various ways: e.g., by music textbook, composer, performer, style period, genre.

Classical Music Reference Library
Contains the full text to such standard reference sources as Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, Nicholas Slonimsky’s Music Since 1900, and Women Composers: Music Through the Ages, as well as several less ambitious, but useful works. This resource complements, and should be used in conjunction with Oxford Music Online, which is also available through the Database Finder.

Classical Scores Library
Currently contains 1,816 musical scores in PDF format, with that number expected to grow to 8,000. The current collection is especially strong in 18th and 19th century music, but includes works from the 15th century through the 21st century. Notably, the entire Boosey and Hawkes catalog will be contained within the resource. Many items have associated audio tracks in Classical Music Library (also available through ResearchPort) and the two resources work in tandem to provide simultaneous access to printed and recorded music.

Contemporary World Music
An online listening database featuring popular genres of world music, including worldbeat, Bollywood, reggae and more. This database complements Smithsonian Global Sound, which focuses more on traditional genres. Many excellent world music record labels, such as Lyrichord, Topic, and Budamusique, are represented.

Dissertations & Theses Global
This database (formerly titled Digital Dissertations) is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online
An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology. Contains more than 13,500 records, including the corrected and updated contents of the earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology.

DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)
A scholarly resource for recordings by American composers and performers. It provides CD quality streaming audio, complete and original liner notes, and essays from independent record labels and sound archives including New World Records, CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening, and Mutable Music labels.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. It is the online equivalent of the print Garland Encyclopedia, which has been the preeminent general reference work for research in ethnomusicology since its publication in 1997, with articles written by acknowledged experts in the field. The print version of the Garland Encyclopedia is available in the Performing Arts Library reference collection.

Jazz Music Library
Jazz Music Library is a streaming audio database featuring a variety of jazz styles and artists. The collection is particularly strong in the music of the 1950s and 1960s, as well as in music of later periods that grew out of the bebop/hardbop tradition; other periods and more experimental styles are represented more schematically. Notable represented record labels include: Audiophile, Concord Jazz, Contemporary Records, Fantasy, Jazzology, Milestone, Nessa Records, Original Jazz Classics, Pablo, and Prestige. Content is updated monthly.

JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.

Medici.tv
Medici.tv broadcasts over 100 live events a year from the most prestigious venues: Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Concertgebouw, Teatro alla Scala, Berliner Philharmonie, Salle Pleyel, Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Verbier Festival, Salzburger Festspiele, and more. Medici.tv also provides access to a large collection of classical music videos, with 1,500 original programs available on demand and with unlimited access, plus hundreds of new films each year.

Met Opera on Demand Student Access
Met Opera on Demand delivers instant access to more than 500 Met performances, including more than 75 past performances from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series as well as more than 400 classic full-length video and audio performances. (5 simultaneous users.)

MLA International Bibliography
[mobile version]
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries.

Music Index (EBSCO)
[mobile version]
The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.

Music Online
A comprehensive database featuring streaming audio and video, reference, and scores. Music Online allows users cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press.

Naxos Music Library
87,000 tracks for online listening, including Naxos classical, jazz, world-music and historical releases, and Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues. Naxos Historical, Nostalgia, and Jazz Legends recordings are not available in the United States due to the uncertain legal situation regarding pre-1972 sound recordings.

Naxos Video Library
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries. Currently contains over 530 full-length videos.
(5 simultaneous user limit.)
  
Opera in Video
Currently provides streaming access to 40 full opera performances, most of which were originally released on the ArtHaus Musik label. A wide range of historical periods and styles is represented, and most of the operas included are considered standard repertoire. Opera in Video features an innovative interface that allows users to define and bookmark specific clips, which can be annotated, saved to a playlist, or linked to from a Web page or Blackboard. Opera in Video is expected to grow to include 250 operas.

Oxford Music Online
Full-text access to the following standard reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. (11 simultaneous users.) All of these are also available in print in the reference section of the Performing Arts Library. Oxford Music Online is an excellent complement to Classical Music Reference Library (also available through ResearchPort) and the two resources should be used in tandem.

Project Muse
Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines.

RILM Music

[mobile version]
An international bibliography of nearly 500,000 scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 140 languages. RILM indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews and more.  

RIPM Retrospective with RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals
RIPM is the primary research tool for accessing 19th- and early 20th- century periodical literature on music. The resource provides an annotated index to over 135 important journals, with more than half being available as full-text. New titles are added every 6 months. The journals covered are in 14 different languages and originate chiefly from Europe and North America.

RISM
RISM part A-II documents and describes music manuscripts created after 1600 by more than 19,500 composers, using up to 100 information fields for each. The MSS database links to Composer, Library Sigla, and Bibliographic Citations databases. Graphical images of musical incipits are included.

Rock's Backpages
The largest online database of popular music journalism, Rock’s Backpages provides access to over 25,000 full-text articles, reviews, and interviews from music and mainstream publications dating from the early 1960s through the present. These primary source writings and recordings feature over 2,500 artists and are fully searchable by name, date, genre, and keyword. RBP’s library includes exclusive and previously unpublished content, and is comprised of material from a wide range of publications from the US and the UK, including well-known names like Rolling Stone, Creem, New Musical Express, as well as online and print punk zines that date from as far back as the 1980s, includingYour Flesh and Forced Exposure. RBP also features a library of over 350 audio interviews, made up of conversations with Jimi Hendrix, the Beastie Boys, Mary J. Blige, The Ramones, Johnny Cash, Etta James, Bob Marley, Al Green, Kurt Cobain and more.

Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound includes published recordings of the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and archival audio collections of Folkways Records, and of Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk Musical Magazine, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also included are field recordings collected on the South Asian subcontinent made available from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Music recorded around the African continent in the mid-20th century by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music is here, as are nature sounds, spoken stories, and memoirs. Album cover art and liner notes have been scanned into the database.

^ back to top


Music: Education

Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is a large multi-label database of Classical music recordings with a particular focus on content that meets the needs of educators and students. Audio tracks are supplemented by reference materials and backed by tools allowing users to create their own Playlists or to click on Themed Playlists that group tracks in various ways: e.g., by music textbook, composer, performer, style period, genre.

Dissertations & Theses Global
This database (formerly titled Digital Dissertations) is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Education in Video
Online streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. More than 1,000 video titles totaling 750+ hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms give education students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles.

ERIC
Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents.

JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.

MLA International Bibliography
[mobile version]
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries.

Music Index (EBSCO)
[mobile version]
The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.

Oxford Music Online
Full-text access to the following standard reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. (11 simultaneous users.) All of these are also available in print in the reference section of the Performing Arts Library. Oxford Music Online is an excellent complement to Classical Music Reference Library (also available through ResearchPort) and the two resources should be used in tandem.

Project Muse
Full text of recent issues of over 240 journals from 40 scholarly publishers. Covers the fields of literary studies, history, the visual & performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many other arts and humanities and social science disciplines.

PsycINFO (EBSCO)
[mobile version]
PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.

RILM Music
[mobile version]
An international bibliography of nearly 500,000 scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 140 languages. RILM indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews and more.
  
RIPM Retrospective with RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals

RIPM is the primary research tool for accessing 19th- and early 20th- century periodical literature on music. The resource provides an annotated index to over 135 important journals, with more than half being available as full-text. New titles are added every 6 months. The journals covered are in 14 different languages and originate chiefly from Europe and North America.

RISM
RISM part A-II documents and describes music manuscripts created after 1600 by more than 19,500 composers, using up to 100 information fields for each. The MSS database links to Composer, Library Sigla, and Bibliographic Citations databases. Graphical images of musical incipits are included.

^ back to top


Music: Related Databases

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection: UK Newspapers
Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom.

African American Newspapers 1827-1998 (Choose as a subset of America’s Historical Newspapers)
Digitized and fully searchable collections of more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries.

America: History and Life with Full-Text
Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide.

American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1760-1900
Based on the American Antiquarian Society’s landmark collection, this full-color digital edition offers fully searchable facsimile images of approx. 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900.

British Periodicals
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

Chicago Manual of Style Online, 16th edition
The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819
Based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819, provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.

Ethnographic Video Online
Comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – over 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world, and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. All videos and transcripts have been indexed and are fully searchable and browsable.

Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-text of the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Chicago Tribune (1849-1986); Chicago Defender‎ (1909-1975); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908-2001); Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934-1991); Detroit Free Press (1831-1922); St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922); Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934-2005); Philadelphia Tribune‎ (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); New York Tribune (1841-1922); New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922-1993); Hartford Courant (1764-1984); Norfolk Journal and Guide‎ (1916-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1989); San Francisco Chronicle‎ (1865-1922); Wall Street Journal‎ (1889-1997); Washington Post‎ (1877-1998).

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (archives 1,3,6,8 are available)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials – monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more – from the “long” nineteenth century (1789-1914.) The UM Libraries have purchased four of the archives which can be searched together or separately: British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Photography: The World Through The Lens; and Women: Transnational Networks.

Readers’ Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Full-text, searchable information from 44 Readers’ Guide annuals. Includes the complete text of the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 on and subject heading matching that enables searching of historical subjects using modern terminology.

^ back to top


Music: Scores

Classical Scores Library
Currently contains 1,816 musical scores in PDF format, with that number expected to grow to 8,000. The current collection is especially strong in 18th and 19th century music, but includes works from the 15th century through the 21st century. Notably, the entire Boosey and Hawkes catalog will be contained within the resource. Many items have associated audio tracks in Classical Music Library (also available through ResearchPort) and the two resources work in tandem to provide simultaneous access to printed and recorded music.

^ back to top


Music: Video

Classical Music in Video
"Streaming video collection of performances, masterclasses, and interviews. Performances include orchestral, choral, and chamber music. For operas, take a look at the separate database Opera in Video. Or, search Opera in Video and Classical Music in Video together through the database Music Online.

Met Opera on Demand Student Access
Met Opera on Demand delivers instant access to more than 500 Met performances, including more than 75 past performances from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series as well as more than 400 classic full-length video and audio performances. (5 simultaneous users.)

Naxos Video Library
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries. Currently contains over 530 full-length videos.
(5 simultaneous user limit.)

Opera in Video
Currently provides streaming access to 40 full opera performances, most of which were originally released on the ArtHaus Musik label. A wide range of historical periods and styles is represented, and most of the operas included are considered standard repertoire. Opera in Video features an innovative interface that allows users to define and bookmark specific clips, which can be annotated, saved to a playlist, or linked to from a Web page or Blackboard. Opera in Video is expected to grow to include 250 operas.

^ back to top

 

Theatre: All

Asian American Drama

Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Asian American Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
Provides online access to more than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening. Specialized indexing at the track level for over half of these recordings links individual segments of plays to specific academic disciplines and subject keywords. This allows researchers to find relevant scenes that touch on subjects in the humanities, social sciences, theatre, hard sciences, law, medicine, and virtually every other field of study. 

BBC Television Shakespeare Plays
Streamed productions of all 37 Shakespearean plays, originally produced by the British Broadcasting Company. These are traditional interpretations of the plays set in either Shakespeare's time or in the period of the events depicted. These versions have been enhanced for high definition online streaming and are available to view with captioning.

Black Drama Second Edition
Contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. Black Drama, Second Edition allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.
   
Black Drama: 1850 to Present

Database of full-text African-American plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes extensive indexing, production and performance information, images and more.When complete, Black Drama will contain the full text of 1,200 plays. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images.

Dance in Video
Streaming video collection of dance performances including ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational as well as the forerunners of the forms and pioneers of modern concert dance. Browse by genre, performer, choreographer, company, role, ensemble and venue. Additional materials include interviews, documentary histories, and editorials. Features include creating playlists and video clips.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance

[mobile version]
Comprehensive database for research on all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide.

Internet Shakespeare Edition
Scholarly, fully annotated texts of Shakespeare's plays, multimedia explorations of the context of Shakespeare's life and works, and records of his plays in performance.

Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It contains over 133,465 pages.

LION (Literature Online)
A full text collection of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose written in the English language from the 8th century to the present with complementary criticism and reference resources. Includes English poetry from the 8th century to the present, American, African-American and Canadian poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English fiction from the sixteenth to the nineteenth century, American fiction from 1789-1875, non-fictional literary prose in English from the 16th to the early 20th centuries, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and American drama from 1762 to 1860. Criticism and reference works include the MHRA's Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature with links to the complete full text of over 100 literature journals, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, The Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English, the Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism, the Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century, the Encyclopedia of the Novel, the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story, The Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature, the King James Bible, links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 1,380 authors, and biographies for nearly 2,000 of the most-studied authors. 

Literature Criticism Online
Electronic version of 12 titles in Gale’s popular Literature Criticism reference series, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Drama Criticism.

MLA International Bibliography
[mobile version]
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries.

Naxos Video Library
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries. Currently contains over 530 full-length videos.
(5 simultaneous user limit).

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (archives 1,3,6,8 are available)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials – monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more – from the “long” nineteenth century (1789-1914.) The UM Libraries have purchased four of the archives which can be searched together or separately: British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Photography: The World Through The Lens; and Women: Transnational Networks.
   
North American Indian Drama Second Edition

North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. North American Indian Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

North American Theatre Online
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll add more than 20,000 new records. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources. Through this interface, one can also search Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, Asian American Drama, North American Women's Drama, and Latino Drama.

North American Women's Drama
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More than 30% of the plays in the collection have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. North American Women's Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Opera in Video
Currently provides streaming access to 40 full opera performances, most of which were originally released on the ArtHaus Musik label. A wide range of historical periods and styles is represented, and most of the operas included are considered standard repertoire. Opera in Video features an innovative interface that allows users to define and bookmark specific clips, which can be annotated, saved to a playlist, or linked to from a Web page or Blackboard. Opera in Video is expected to grow to include 250 operas.

Theatre in Video
Streaming video collection of plays and documentaries. Includes "world's most important plays", live television broadcasts of New York productions in the 50s, contemporary revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, and multiple productions of some plays. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors along with excerpts of live performances. Browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields. Features include creating playlists and video clips of specific scenes, monologues, and staging.

Theatre in Video: Volume II
Streaming video collection of plays and documentaries. Includes "world's most important plays", live television broadcasts of New York productions in the 50s, contemporary revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, and multiple productions of some plays. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors along with excerpts of live performances. Browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields. Features include creating playlists and video clips of specific scenes, monologues, and staging.
   
Twentieth Century North American Drama Second Edition
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,905 plays by 419 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of scholars and the playwrights themselves. Twentieth Century North American Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

World Shakespeare Bibliography
Provides abstracts and indexing of books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.

^ back to top


Theatre: Play Reviews

Academic Search Complete
[mobile version]
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.

America: History and Life with Full-Text
Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text bilingual (English/Spanish) database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
[mobile version]
Comprehensive database for research on all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide.

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included.

LION (Literature Online)
A full text collection of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose written in the English language from the 8th century to the present with complementary criticism and reference resources. Includes English poetry from the 8th century to the present, American, African-American and Canadian poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English fiction from the sixteenth to the nineteenth century, American fiction from 1789-1875, non-fictional literary prose in English from the 16th to the early 20th centuries, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and American drama from 1762 to 1860. Criticism and reference works include the MHRA's Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature with links to the complete full text of over 100 literature journals, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, The Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English, the Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism, the Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century, the Encyclopedia of the Novel, the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story, The Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature, the King James Bible, links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 1,380 authors, and biographies for nearly 2,000 of the most-studied authors. 

Literature Criticism Online
Electronic version of 12 titles in Gale’s popular Literature Criticism reference series, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Drama Criticism.

World Shakespeare Bibliography
Provides abstracts and indexing of books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.

^ back to top


Theatre: Play Texts

America: History and Life with Full-Text
Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide.

Asian American Drama
Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Asian American Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Black Drama Second Edition

Contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. Black Drama, Second Edition allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Black Drama: 1850 to Present
Database of full-text African-American plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes extensive indexing, production and performance information, images and more.When complete, Black Drama will contain the full text of 1,200 plays. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images.

Internet Shakespeare Edition
Scholarly, fully annotated texts of Shakespeare's plays, multimedia explorations of the context of Shakespeare's life and works, and records of his plays in performance.

Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It contains over 133,465 pages.

North American Indian Drama Second Edition

North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. North American Indian Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

North American Theatre Online
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll add more than 20,000 new records. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources. Through this interface, one can also search Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, Asian American Drama, North American Women's Drama, and Latino Drama.

North American Women's Drama
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More than 30% of the plays in the collection have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. North American Women's Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Twentieth Century North American Drama Second Edition
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,905 plays by 419 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of scholars and the playwrights themselves. Twentieth Century North American Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

^ back to top


Theatre: Theatre Research

Academic Search Complete
[mobile version]
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books.

America: History and Life with Full-Text
Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide.

Asian American Drama
Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% of these plays have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Asian American Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Black Drama: 1850 to Present
Database of full-text African-American plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes extensive indexing, production and performance information, images and more.When complete, Black Drama will contain the full text of 1,200 plays. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images.

Black Drama Second Edition
Contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. Black Drama, Second Edition allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Education Source
Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).

ERIC
Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents.

Historical Abstracts with Full-Text
[mobile version]
Core international history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. It also provides indexing for over 1700 journals from 1964 to the present.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
[mobile version]
Comprehensive database for research on all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide.

Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Latino Literature brings together more than 100,000 pages pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Among the gems of the collection are nearly 800 items (poems, novels, and plays) that have never been published before. Researchers will also find numerous Chicano folk tales and audio files of selected poems and plays. It contains over 133,465 pages.

LION (Literature Online)
A full text collection of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose written in the English language from the 8th century to the present with complementary criticism and reference resources. Includes English poetry from the 8th century to the present, American, African-American and Canadian poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English fiction from the sixteenth to the nineteenth century, American fiction from 1789-1875, non-fictional literary prose in English from the 16th to the early 20th centuries, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and American drama from 1762 to 1860. Criticism and reference works include the MHRA's Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature with links to the complete full text of over 100 literature journals, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, The Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English, the Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism, the Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century, the Encyclopedia of the Novel, the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story, The Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature, the King James Bible, links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 1,380 authors, and biographies for nearly 2,000 of the most-studied authors. 

Literature Criticism Online
Electronic version of 12 titles in Gale’s popular Literature Criticism reference series, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Drama Criticism.

MLA International Bibliography
[mobile version]
Indexes journals, books, essay collections, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies published worldwide in the areas of literary criticism, language, linguistics, rhetoric, and folklore of all countries.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (archives 1,3,6,8 are available)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials – monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more – from the “long” nineteenth century (1789-1914.) The UM Libraries have purchased four of the archives which can be searched together or separately: British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Photography: The World Through The Lens; and Women: Transnational Networks.
   
North American Indian Drama Second Edition

North American Indian Drama contains 244 plays by 48 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. North American Indian Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

North American Theatre Online
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll add more than 20,000 new records. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources. Through this interface, one can also search Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, Asian American Drama, North American Women's Drama, and Latino Drama.

North American Women's Drama
North American Women's Drama contains 1,517 plays by 330 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. More than 30% of the plays in the collection have never been published before. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. North American Women's Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Twentieth Century North American Drama Second Edition
Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,905 plays by 419 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of scholars and the playwrights themselves. Twentieth Century North American Drama allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

^ back to top


Theatre: Video

BBC Television Shakespeare Plays
Streamed productions of all 37 Shakespearean plays, originally produced by the British Broadcasting Company. These are traditional interpretations of the plays set in either Shakespeare's time or in the period of the events depicted. These versions have been enhanced for high definition online streaming and are available to view with captioning.

Dance in Video
Streaming video collection of dance performances including ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational as well as the forerunners of the forms and pioneers of modern concert dance. Browse by genre, performer, choreographer, company, role, ensemble and venue. Additional materials include interviews, documentary histories, and editorials. Features include creating playlists and video clips.
  
Naxos Video Library
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries. Currently contains over 530 full-length videos.
(5 simultaneous user limit).

Opera in Video
Currently provides streaming access to 40 full opera performances, most of which were originally released on the ArtHaus Musik label. A wide range of historical periods and styles is represented, and most of the operas included are considered standard repertoire. Opera in Video features an innovative interface that allows users to define and bookmark specific clips, which can be annotated, saved to a playlist, or linked to from a Web page or Blackboard. Opera in Video is expected to grow to include 250 operas.

Theatre in Video
Streaming video collection of plays and documentaries. Includes "world's most important plays", live television broadcasts of New York productions in the 50s, contemporary revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, and multiple productions of some plays. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors along with excerpts of live performances. Browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields. Features include creating playlists and video clips of specific scenes, monologues, and staging.

^ back to top

 

Audio

American Song

American Song is a database of songs that users can listen to over the Internet. It will ultimately contain 50,000 tracks of American roots music and pre-1960 American popular music and include country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, and shape note singing. The database includes repertoire such as the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more. Among notable recording artists represented are Woody Guthrie, Pete Seeger, Peggy Seeger, Si Kahn, Lead Belly, Sleepy LaBeef, the New Lost City Ramblers, Otis Clay, Eddy "The Chief" Clearwater, Nanci Griffith, The Lilly Brothers, and Merle Travis.

Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection
Provides online access to more than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening. Specialized indexing at the track level for over half of these recordings links individual segments of plays to specific academic disciplines and subject keywords. This allows researchers to find relevant scenes that touch on subjects in the humanities, social sciences, theatre, hard sciences, law, medicine, and virtually every other field of study.

Classical Music Library
Classical Music Library is a large multi-label database of Classical music recordings with a particular focus on content that meets the needs of educators and students. Audio tracks are supplemented by reference materials and backed by tools allowing users to create their own Playlists or to click on Themed Playlists that group tracks in various ways: e.g., by music textbook, composer, performer, style period, genre.

Contemporary World Music
An online listening database featuring popular genres of world music, including worldbeat, Bollywood, reggae and more. This database complements Smithsonian Global Sound, which focuses more on traditional genres. Many excellent world music record labels, such as Lyrichord, Topic, and Budamusique, are represented.

DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music)

A scholarly resource for recordings by American composers and performers. It provides CD quality streaming audio, complete and original liner notes, and essays from independent record labels and sound archives including New World Records, CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening, and Mutable Music labels.

Jazz Music Library
Jazz Music Library is a streaming audio database featuring a variety of jazz styles and artists. The collection is particularly strong in the music of the 1950s and 1960s, as well as in music of later periods that grew out of the bebop/hardbop tradition; other periods and more experimental styles are represented more schematically. Notable represented record labels include: Audiophile, Concord Jazz, Contemporary Records, Fantasy, Jazzology, Milestone, Nessa Records, Original Jazz Classics, Pablo, and Prestige. Content is updated monthly.

Naxos Music Library
87,000 tracks for online listening, including Naxos classical, jazz, world-music and historical releases, and Marco Polo and Da Capo catalogues. Naxos Historical, Nostalgia, and Jazz Legends recordings are not available in the United States due to the uncertain legal situation regarding pre-1972 sound recordings.

Smithsonian Global Sound
Smithsonian Global Sound includes published recordings of the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and archival audio collections of Folkways Records, and of Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk Musical Magazine, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Also included are field recordings collected on the South Asian subcontinent made available from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Music recorded around the African continent in the mid-20th century by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music is here, as are nature sounds, spoken stories, and memoirs. Album cover art and liner notes have been scanned into the database.

^ back to top

 

Bibliographical

DELRdi: Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index

The Dance Education Literature and Research descriptive index (DELRdi) is an index of literature and research from 1926 to the present. It contains extensive descriptions of 4,500+ literary works including theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other reports from over 200+ different publications and organizations and 147 university dance programs. In addition to providing basic citation information, the DELRdi provides detailed descriptive information on the methodology, techniques, and characteristics of the research documented in the index. The DELRdi is the culminating product of a four-year research project supported by the United States Department of Education (2001-2005).

Dissertations & Theses Global
This database (formerly titled Digital Dissertations) is the an authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities. Full text is available from 1997 to the present. It also contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online
An international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology. Contains more than 13,500 records, including the corrected and updated contents of the earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
[mobile version]
Comprehensive database for research on all aspects of theatre, performance and dance. Indexes articles, books, book articles, dissertations, and newspapers published worldwide.

Music Index (EBSCO)
[mobile version]
The Music Index, produced by Harmonie Park Press, is the single most comprehensive subject-author guide to music periodical literature. The Music Index has been available in print since 1949. The Music Index online coverage spans from 1976 to the present and contains surveyed data from 775 international music periodicals from over 40 countries, with English translations from 22 languages.

NY Public Lib Dance Catalog
Lists the holdings of the Dance Collection of the New York Public Library. The collections consists of books, periodical articles, video recordings, and other media. All forms of dance, from all cultures, in many languages are included.

RILM Music
[mobile version]
An international bibliography of nearly 500,000 scholarly writings on music and related disciplines in 140 languages. RILM indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, festchriften, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings and videos, reviews and more.
  
RIPM Retrospective with RIPM Online Archive of Music Periodicals

RIPM is the primary research tool for accessing 19th- and early 20th- century periodical literature on music. The resource provides an annotated index to over 135 important journals, with more than half being available as full-text. New titles are added every 6 months. The journals covered are in 14 different languages and originate chiefly from Europe and North America.

RISM
RISM part A-II documents and describes music manuscripts created after 1600 by more than 19,500 composers, using up to 100 information fields for each. The MSS database links to Composer, Library Sigla, and Bibliographic Citations databases. Graphical images of musical incipits are included.

World Shakespeare Bibliography
Provides abstracts and indexing of books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.

^ back to top

 

Playscripts

LION (Literature Online)

A full text collection of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama, and prose written in the English language from the 8th century to the present with complementary criticism and reference resources. Includes English poetry from the 8th century to the present, American, African-American and Canadian poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English fiction from the sixteenth to the nineteenth century, American fiction from 1789-1875, non-fictional literary prose in English from the 16th to the early 20th centuries, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and American drama from 1762 to 1860. Criticism and reference works include the MHRA's Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature with links to the complete full text of over 100 literature journals, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, The Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English, the Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism, the Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century, the Encyclopedia of the Novel, the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story, The Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature, the King James Bible, links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 1,380 authors, and biographies for nearly 2,000 of the most-studied authors. 

Black Drama: 1850 to Present
Database of full-text African-American plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Includes extensive indexing, production and performance information, images and more.When complete, Black Drama will contain the full text of 1,200 plays. Many of the works are rare, hard-to-find, or out of print. Nearly a quarter of the collection will consist of previously unpublished plays by writers such as Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Femi Euba, Amiri Baraka, Randolph Edmonds, Zora Neale Hurston, and many others.Each play is extensively and deeply indexed, allowing both keyword and multi-fielded searching. The plays are accompanied by reference materials, significant ancillary information, a rich performance database, and images.

Black Drama Second Edition
Contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. Black Drama, Second Edition allows in-depth browsing and searching of both the bibliographic and the full-text elements within the database.

Internet Shakespeare Edition
Scholarly, fully annotated texts of Shakespeare's plays, multimedia explorations of the context of Shakespeare's life and works, and records of his plays in performance.

^ back to top


Reference and eBooks

African American Music Reference

A collection of online reference books, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes and discographies related to the history of African American music in all its guises: spirituals, jazz, blues, civil rights songs, hip hop and more.

Classical Music Reference Library
Contains the full text to such standard reference sources as Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, Nicholas Slonimsky’s Music Since 1900, and Women Composers: Music Through the Ages, as well as several less ambitious, but useful works. This resource complements, and should be used in conjunction with Oxford Music Online, which is also available through the Database Finder.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. It is the online equivalent of the print Garland Encyclopedia, which has been the preeminent general reference work for research in ethnomusicology since its publication in 1997, with articles written by acknowledged experts in the field. The print version of the Garland Encyclopedia is available in the Performing Arts Library reference collection.

North American Theatre Online
North American Theatre Online is a comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of the Canadian and American Theatre. It includes some 40,000 pages of major reference materials, together with records to approximately 30,000 plays, 57,000 people, 5,400 theatres, 22,000 productions, and 2,500 production companies. Each year we'll add more than 20,000 new records. The collection also includes approximately 10,500 images, playbills, postcards, scrapbooks and other resources. Through this interface, one can also search Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, Asian American Drama, North American Women's Drama, and Latino Drama.

Oxford Music Online
Full-text access to the following standard reference sources: The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music. (11 simultaneous users.) All of these are also available in print in the reference section of the Performing Arts Library. Oxford Music Online is an excellent complement to Classical Music Reference Library (also available through ResearchPort) and the two resources should be used in tandem.

^ back to top

 

Scores

Classical Scores Library

Currently contains 1,816 musical scores in PDF format, with that number expected to grow to 8,000. The current collection is especially strong in 18th and 19th century music, but includes works from the 15th century through the 21st century. Notably, the entire Boosey and Hawkes catalog will be contained within the resource. Many items have associated audio tracks in Classical Music Library (also available through ResearchPort) and the two resources work in tandem to provide simultaneous access to printed and recorded music.

^ back to top

 

Video

BBC Television Shakespeare Plays
Streamed productions of all 37 Shakespearean plays, originally produced by the British Broadcasting Company. These are traditional interpretations of the plays set in either Shakespeare's time or in the period of the events depicted. These versions have been enhanced for high definition online streaming and are available to view with captioning.
   
Dance in Video
Streaming video collection of dance performances including ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational as well as the forerunners of the forms and pioneers of modern concert dance. Browse by genre, performer, choreographer, company, role, ensemble and venue. Additional materials include interviews, documentary histories, and editorials. Features include creating playlists and video clips.

Music Online
A comprehensive database featuring streaming audio and video, reference, and scores. Music Online allows users cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press. 

Naxos Video Library
Streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, and documentaries. Currently contains over 530 full-length videos.
(5 simultaneous user limit)
   
Opera in Video
Currently provides streaming access to 40 full opera performances, most of which were originally released on the ArtHaus Musik label. A wide range of historical periods and styles is represented, and most of the operas included are considered standard repertoire. Opera in Video features an innovative interface that allows users to define and bookmark specific clips, which can be annotated, saved to a playlist, or linked to from a Web page or Blackboard. Opera in Video is expected to grow to include 250 operas.

Theatre in Video
Streaming video collection of plays and documentaries. Includes "world's most important plays", live television broadcasts of New York productions in the 50s, contemporary revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, and multiple productions of some plays. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors along with excerpts of live performances. Browse by genre, artist, time period, place, and other fields. Features include creating playlists and video clips of specific scenes, monologues, and staging.

^ back to top

 

Multidisciplinary and Related Databases

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection: UK Newspapers
Part of the British Library Newspapers collection, 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers is a full-text, fully searchable digital archive of nearly 1,270 newspapers and news pamphlets from the United Kingdom. 

Academic Search Complete
[mobile version]
Multi-disciplinary database providing information for nearly every area of academic study. Includes an enormous collection of the most valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, as well as additional journals, magazines, newspapers and books. 

America: History and Life with Full-Text
Core American history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. Information on articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations on U.S. and Canadian history from prehistory to the present. Covers more than 2000 international worldwide.

British Periodicals
British Periodicals provides access to the searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.

Chicago Manual of Style Online, 16th edition
The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books.

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 1801-1819
Based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819, provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. 

Education Source
Around 1,800 journals (full-text) and over 550 books and monographs in the field of Education. Access to conference papers and indexing and abstracts from thousands of journals. Book reviews and article citations (roughly 5 million).

Education in Video
Online streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. More than 1,000 video titles totaling 750+ hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms give education students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles.

ERIC

Provides access to information from over 1000 education and education-related journals as well as a variety of non journal materials, or ERIC documents.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text bilingual (English/Spanish) database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press.

Ethnographic Video Online
Comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior – over 750 hours and 1,000 films at completion. The collection covers every region of the world, and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. All videos and transcripts have been indexed and are fully searchable and browsable.

Foundation Directory
The Foundation Directory online is the leading resource in the world of philanthropy. It provides everything about U.S. foundations and their millions of grants around the world. Search up to nine databases at once — grantmakers, companies, grants, 990s, RFPs, philanthropy news, foundation-sponsored publications, nonprofit literature, and jobs. Includes descriptions of more than 100,000 Community Foundations; Corporate Giving Programs, Operating Foundations, Private Grantmaking Foundations (independent and company-sponsored foundations); and Grantmaking Public Charities.

Historical Abstracts with Full-Text
[mobile version]
Core international history database now includes unique full-text coverage of nearly 200 journals and 100 books. It also provides indexing for over 1700 journals from 1964 to the present.

Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-text of the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945); Chicago Tribune (1849-1986); Chicago Defender‎ (1909-1975); Boston Globe (1872-1979); Christian Science Monitor‎ (1908-2001); Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934-1991); Detroit Free Press (1831-1922); St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-1922); Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934-2005); Philadelphia Tribune‎ (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier‎ (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); New York Tribune (1841-1922); New York Amsterdam News‎ (1922-1993); Hartford Courant (1764-1984); Norfolk Journal and Guide‎ (1916-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Baltimore Sun (1837-1989); San Francisco Chronicle‎ (1865-1922); Wall Street Journal‎ (1889-1997); Washington Post‎ (1877-1998). 

JSTOR
Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years. 

LexisNexis Academic
Full-text database that offers a wide range of news, political, legal, business, and reference information in full-text format. Primary source of newspaper articles, including those from the Washington Post and the New York Times. Federal code, regulations, and case law, plus state codes and case law are also included.

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (archives 1,3,6,8 are available)
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a growing collection of archives which brings together rare primary source materials – monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs and more – from the “long” nineteenth century (1789-1914.) The UM Libraries have purchased four of the archives which can be searched together or separately: British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Photography: The World Through The Lens; and Women: Transnational Networks. 

PsycINFO (EBSCO)
[mobile version]
PsycINFO is the most comprehensive index in psychology and related fields, with more than 1.7 million citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters and books, technical reports, and dissertations. Its holdings include material from 1,700 periodicals in over 30 languages.

Readers’ Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Full-text, searchable information from 44 Readers’ Guide annuals. Includes the complete text of the Wilson Library Bulletin from 1914 on and subject heading matching that enables searching of historical subjects using modern terminology.

^ back to top

Contact Us

Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library
8270 Alumni Dr.
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-1630 USA

Directions and Parking Information

General Information and Front Desk
(301) 405-9217

Reference
(301) 405-9256

International Piano Archives at Maryland
(301) 405-9224

Special Collections in Performing Arts
(301) 405-9220, Curator
(301) 314-7614, Workroom
Submit a question to SCPA

 

For the contact information of a particular staff member, please visit the PAL staff page.

 

Ideas welcome!

Help us make The Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library even better with your suggestions, whether it be for materials purchases, technology, furniture, you name it...we want to hear about it! Submit your suggestion here.