Search the UMD Libraries website:
Saturday, October 25, 2014
McKeldin 10:00AM - 09:00PM


Architecture CLOSED
10:00AM - 08:00PM
EPSL 10:00AM - 08:00PM
Media Services

in Hornbake

12:00PM - 05:00PM
Special Collections

in Hornbake

MSPAL 12:00PM - 05:00PM
Shady Grove See here for hours

Aeolus Quartet: The Dark and Light of Nationalism

Sunday, February 17, 2013
Gildenhorn Recital Hall

In their first recital of the semester, Aeolus Quartet performs a program entitled The Dark and Light of Nationalism, exploring works by composers who were inspired by a love of their native lands. Known primarily as a composer of opera, Giacomo Puccini’s Crisantemi is a string tribute to Italy's Prince Amadeo di Savoia, Duke of Aosta; Jean Sibelius’s introspective Quartet in D Minor (“Voces intimae”) evokes images of icy Scandinavian terrain; and Antonin Dvorak’s Piano Quintet in A Major is reminiscent of Czech folk music. Learn more about these works and their composers in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library:

Giacomo Puccini - Crisantemi

Jean Sibelius - Quartet in D Minor, "Voces intimae"

Antonin Dvorak - Piano Quintet in A Major

Streaming Audio: Listen to a playlist of the works featured on this program streaming from Naxos Music Library

Listen now to excerpts from these pieces: