Search the UMD Libraries website
Wednesday, December 2, 2015
McKeldin Open 24 hours. Ending Friday at 8pm


09:00AM - 08:00PM
Architecture 11:00AM - 04:00PM
08:00AM - 10:00PM
EPSL 08:00AM - 11:00PM
Media Services

in Hornbake

08:00AM - 10:00PM
Special Collections

in Hornbake

10:00AM - 08:00PM
MSPAL 08:30AM - 11:00PM
Shady Grove See here for hours

White Heat - October 1st, 2010

University of Maryland Symphony Orchestra James Ross, conductor James Stern, violin

Friday, October 1, 2010 8:00 pm - Dekelboum Concert Hall

The UMSO welcomes faculty artist James Stern for an evening of monumental works. White Heat features pieces by Sibelius and Tchaikovsky, as well as an original work by UM faculty composer Lawrence Moss:

   Streaming audio: Listen to playlists featuring the pieces on this program on Naxos Music Library and Classical Music Library

   Jean Sibelius - Concerto in D Minor for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 47

   Pytor Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 4, Op. 36

   Lawrence Moss - Talking Fanfares: A pairing of Leos Janácek's Sokol Fanfare and a new fanfare by Moss, this piece was written as a conversational response to Janácek’s work. This list includes works by Moss as well as recordings of Janácek "Sinfonietta", from which the Sokol Fanfare originates. Talking Fanfares is the first movement of a three-movement piece called Room Music which will be premiered in its entirety by the UM Wind Orchestra in Spring 2011.