Foreign Language Collections

Some collections are searchable using WorldCatUMD while others can be found by using the links below or by searching ArchivesUM.

Foreign Language Literature

Collection highlights

Iranian Political History Collection
The Modern Iranian Political History Collection consists of 20th century materials on the political environment in Iran during the rule of Mohammad Reza Shah Pahlavi and immediately following the 1979 Iranian Revolution.

French Pamphlets  (Digitization Project)
Contains approximately 12,000 pieces dating from 1620 to 1966, covering many key episodes in the history of France. The largest part of the collection is made up of 7000 pamphlets from the Revolutionary and Napoleonic eras, 1788-1815. These include government publications from the first ten years of the French Revolution, 1790-1799; over 1700 decrees and laws published from 1789 to 1795; and sixty-four Revolutionary journals in a series by Jacques-Rene Hebert of Pre Duchesne fame.

African and African American Pamphlet Collection
The African-American and African Pamphlet Collection consists of 20th century materials on African, African-American, and Caribbean culture and literature. The collection spans the years 1905-1979, although the majority of the pamphlets date from the 1960s and 1970s. The pamphlets are in English, French, and a variety of African languages, such as Swahili, Tsonga, Tswana and Xhosa.

German Expressionism
This collection includes a number of serial titles and approximately sixty individual items includes correspondence and manuscripts, of both prose and poetry, by forty individuals including Leonhard Frank, George Groz, Oskar Kokoscha, Else Lasker-Schuler, Ernst Toller, and Franz Werfel.

George Levitine Collection
Dr. Levitine's publications include numerous articles on Goya, emblems, and French art from the sixteenth to the nineteenth century. He gained a reputation as an authority on eighteenth-century French art. In 1987 he organized and edited the papers of a monumental symposium "Culture and Revolution: Cultural Ramifications of the French Revolution."

Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven
An avant-garde artist and poet associated with Djuna Barnes and the Dada movement. Her papers consist of correspondence, poetry, and biographical and autobiographical notes and manuscripts documenting her life and literary career. Among the significant correspondents are Djuna Barnes, Peggy Guggenheim, and Berenice Abbott.