Search the UMD Libraries website:

History Collections

Covering both American and world history, these collections also span history. Strengths include French Revolutionary period and 19th century American history, especially the Civil War and travel books and other documentaries of voyages around the world. Some collections are searchable using WorldCatUMD while others can be found by using the links below or by searching ArchivesUM.

History

Collection Highlights

French Pamphlet Collection  (Digitization Project)
Dating from 1620 to 1966, this collection of pamphlets spans may important episodes in French History with the majority of the holdings covering the time between the Revolutionary and Napoleonic eras, 1788-1815. Other significant collecting areas include pamphlets produced during the Fronde (1649-1652) and 19th century French plays. Learn more about a current effort to digitize this collection.

Eikon  Basilike
Guide to the Eikon Basilike and related materials held by Special Collections and University Archives.

Daniel Webster Pamphlet Collection
Consists of 132 documents, including published legal arguments, various public orations and discourses, speeches delivered by Webster on the floor of the United States House and Senate, and orations given by others about Webster and his life. The collection encompasses one of Webster's earliest orations (1801), and an extensive collection of eulogies delivered after Webster's death in 1852. The collection also includes Webster's most celebrated speeches, as well as his lesser-known orations. The collection is arranged in chronological order by the date of presentation or publication.

Pompeii
A guide to assist researchers in identifying resources related to Pompeii in Special Collections at UMD.

African and African-American Pamphlet Collection
Contains pamphlets dated from 1905 through 1979 about African, African-American and Caribbean culture and literature. The majority of the holdings date from the 1960s through the 1970s. 

Dr. George Levitine Collection
(European iconography, French art history) A collection of 2,000 volumes dating from the 16th to the 19th centuries with particularly strong holdings in the areas of emblematic deices and iconography.

German Expressionist Serials Collection
Containing 68 titles spanning the first half of the 20th century, these serials exhibit the German Expressionism movement in the visual arts, literature and theatre.