Today: McKeldin Begin 24 Hours at 11am
Campus ID Required 11pm-8am

Identifying Periodical Types

Please note: this page is no longer being updated by Teaching & Learning Services. For the most up-to-date resources, please visit our Research Help page or Resources for Undergraduates page

 

There are various levels of scholarship found between scholarly journals, trade publications, and popular magazines. This guide is intended to help you distinguish between these publications. Librarians can help you choose which periodical databases or indexes to use in researching your topic or ask for help at any UM Library Information Desk.

 

Table of Contents

 

 

Scholarly Journals

 

 

EXAMPLES:

American Ethnologist
Annual Review of Genetics
Cell
Journal of American History
Modern Theology
Science
Social Psychology Quarterly

© American Economic Association.
Reprinted with permission.

© Organization of American Historians
<http://www.oah.org/>.
Reprinted with permission

A scholarly journal (also known as peer-reviewed, juried, refereed, or professional) contains articles and research by scholars and experts in a specific field who wish to share their research with other professionals. Articles are usually based on original research and contain author credentials, abstracts and bibliographies. The following diagram illustrates some of the features that an article from a scholarly journal might have:

 

 

Trade Publications

 

EXAMPLES:

Advertising Age
American Builder (Home builders)
American Libraries (Librarians)
American Nurse
Food Technology (Food Industry)
Director (Funeral industry)
Landscape Architecture

Food Technology is a publication of the Institute of Food Technologists, Chicago, Illinois Provided with permission of American Libraries, the Journal of the American Library Association July/August 1994

A trade publication or trade paper is a commercial periodical restricted to the interests of a trade or industry and includes all or some of the following: current news items, product reviews and advertisements, new publication reviews, job advertisements, industry specific regulatory information, articles on new techniqoes/trends, patents, statistical data, upcoming events/meetings, etc.

 

Popular Magazines

 

EXAMPLES:

Discover
Newsweek
People
Rolling Stone
Sports Illustrated
Time
U.S. News and World Report
Vanity Fair

A popular magazine contains current events and general interest articles written by journalists and freelance writers for the general public. Author credentials, abstracts and bibliographies are usually not included. Popular magazines are typically published weekly or monthly. Use a general index or database to find articles in popular magazines.

 

Need More Help?

 

Check out the Periodical Comparison Chart and Ulrich's Periodicals Directory for more information.