What is Research Port?
Research Port is the name of
the access point of more than 300 databases that the Libraries subscribe to.
Students, faculty, and staff are able to access these resources for free!
A database is an electronic catalog of articles, book
chapters, multimedia resources, and other types of information resources.
Research Port is an electronic portal that allows you to:
- Access subscription resources for your academic research from on and off
- Search for articles and other items in databases and e-journals.
- Save lists of your resources in My Research Port and also e-mail or save
- Access the full-text of articles electronically, in print, or through
Log in to Research Port
- Start at the UM Libraries’ home page:
- Click on Research Port.
To log in from off campus:
- Choose your campus affiliation. (e.g., University of Maryland, College Park)
- Enter your directory ID and password.
- Click Login.
You don't need to have a specific article or journal
in mind to be able to search Research Port. If you have a topic in mind, you can
search in one of the subject databases for sources on that topic.
Click the hyperlinked name of a database to search within it.
more information about the database.
Note: The database will open in
a new browser window/tab. If you don’t see it, check the browser’s toolbar.
Find Journal Titles
Find a Specific Article
After clicking on Research Port from the
Libraries’ home page, you will find this box on the right side of the first page
that comes up. If you have citation information for a specific article, use this
Here are some scenarios that might apply to you:
- You want to determine if the Libraries subscribe to a specific journal
(online or in print) and find out how you can access it.
- You have a partial citation and need to find the other elements (e.g. page,
volume, year, issue number).
Using My Lists
- My Lists allows you to save your preferences, searches and results and also
allows you to create customized lists of databases and e-journals.
- For more information on this feature, click on Help in the upper right
corner of the Research Port screen. Click Index and scroll down to the page My
- Ask library staff for help:
- Even when closed, librarians can help answer your question in the 24/7 Ask
Us Now! service.