Search the UMD Libraries website:
Thursday, August 28, 2014
McKeldin 08:00AM - 05:00PM

Art

10:00AM - 04:00PM
Architecture 10:00AM - 04:00PM
Chemistry
08:00AM - 05:00PM
EPSL 08:00AM - 05:00PM
Media Services

in Hornbake

08:00AM - 05:00PM
Special Collections

in Hornbake

10:00AM - 05:00PM
MSPAL 09:00AM - 05:00PM
Shady Grove See here for hours

University Libraries' Guide for Undergraduate Students

Check out these library services:

Library hours and Late Night Study: www.lib.umd.edu/hours

Learn when the Libraries are open from the homepage. McKeldin Library offers you a safe and quiet 24-hour late night study service Sunday to Thursday nights from 11:00pm-8:00am in mid-September to December and mid-February to May.  Bring your UMD I.D. card.

Research assistance from librarians: www.lib.umd.edu > Get Help

Chat online with a librarian 24/7, email, call, visit any library Information & Reference Services desk, and/or by make an appointment with a librarian who has subject expertise in your major.

Terrapin Learning Commons (TLC): www.lib.umd.edu > Services

Visit the TLC on the 2nd floor of McKeldin Library.  It offers, in one location, all you need to succeed: technology, services, information & a place to meet your group.  The TLC also now has a plotter (a large format poster printer) for you to use.  Use it on your own, or have the staff of the Tech Desk in the TLC assist you.

Access, borrow, request: www.lib.umd.edu > Services

Find out what you have access to at the University Libraries, learn how to check-out and return items, and learn the various ways an item can be requested.

Book paging and branch delivery: www.lib.umd.edu/access/request-catalog

You can request a book from any of the 8 University libraries and have it delivered to the branch of your choice. Or request that a book be pulled from the shelf and pick it up at the same library!

Interlibrary loan: www.lib.umd.edu > Services

You can obtain books, articles & other materials not owned by the University System of Maryland Libraries to support your research by requesting materials through Interlibrary Loan.

Computers, copy, print, scan: www.lib.umd.edu > Services > Computing

Library computers (PCs and Macs) are equipped with all OIT supported software.  Using scanners is free.  To print and make photocopies in the libraries, open a Terrapin Express Account at: terpexp.umd.edu, then use your UMD ID card to copy/print in B&W and in color.

Laptop and wireless access to the University’s network and printers: www.lib.umd.edu/tl/guides/laptops

Simply turn on your laptop and access the Web by logging on to the campus network with your UMD directory I.D and password.  Print wirelessly to library printers too, for a small fee.

Equipment for loan: www.lib.umd.edu > Services

Borrow laptops, tablets, e-readers, netbooks, laptop and phone chargers, headphones, and more from McKeldin Library’s TLC Tech desk (2nd floor).  Bring your UMD I.D. card to borrow equipment.

Individual and group study rooms: www.lib.umd.edu > Services

All campus libraries offer quiet individual and group study spaces.  Ask staff to direct you to these locations.

Library award for Undergraduate Research: www.lib.umd.edu/libraryaward

Every spring semester you have the chance to turn your research project into a cash prize.  Up to three awards of $1,000 each will be awarded to undergraduates who impress us with their research.

Check out these library resources:

Eight (8) campus libraries at your service: www.lib.umd.edu > 8 Libraries

  • Art Library
  • Architecture Library
  • Chemistry (White Memorial) Library
  • Engineering & Physical Sciences Library
  • Hornbake Library (i.e., Archives, Maryland Room, Nonprint Media, Special Collections)
  • McKeldin Library (i.e. main library)
  • Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library
  • Priddy Library @ Universities at Shady Grove (located in Rockville, MD)

Libraries’ WorldCat UMD: www.lib.umd.edu

Available 24/7, WorldCat UMD provides you with access to print, electronic, archival, and audio/visual materials held by the campus libraries, and beyond! 

Research Port(al) to database: researchport.umd.edu

Available 24/7, this gateway provides you with access to a variety of databases and electronic journals.

Subject (research) guides: www.lib.umd.edu > Get Help

 Produced by librarian subject specialists, subject guides are designed to recommend the best books, articles, journals, non-print sources, websites, etc. to you to help launch your research.

Learn about how to cite sources: www.lib.umd.edu > Get Help

Acknowledging or citing other people's words and ideas indicates to your instructor that you have conducted thorough background research on your topic and are operating from an informed perspective; this increases your credibility. Find out how to cite sources using APA, MLA, and the Chicago Manual of Style.

Special & rare collections: www.lib.umd.edu > 8 Libraries

The University Libraries acquire, preserve, and make available special collections to promote scholarship and learning among campus, state, national, and international communities. These include:

Archival & Manuscript Collections
Digital Collections
Government Documents

Maps
Media Collections
Rare and Special Book Collections

Digital collections: digital.lib.umd.edu

Search these collections to discover how they may inspire and support your research and education.

Popular Reading collection & Graphic Novels: www.lib.umd.edu/mckeldin/popular-reading

Looking for something to read just for fun? We have a rotating collection of books and audiobooks by popular authors, available on the first floor of McKeldin. We're also building our collection of graphic novels (lib.guides.umd.edu/comics).

Employment opportunities: www.lib.umd.edu/hr/home

Check out which jobs are available in the University Libraries. Drop by the Libraries’ Office of Human Resources (McKeldin Library, 7th floor) to fill out an application. Bring your UMD I.D. card.