University Libraries' Guide for Graduate Students
Check out these library services:
Library hours and Late Night Study: www.lib.umd.edu
Learn when the Libraries are open from the homepage. McKeldin Library offers you a safe and quiet 24-hour late night study service Sunday to Thursday nights from 11:00pm-8:00am in mid-September to December and mid-February to May. Bring your UMD I.D. card.
Research assistance from librarians: www.lib.umd.edu > Get Help
Get help by chatting online with a librarian 24/7, emailing, calling, visiting any library Information & Reference Services desk, and/or making an appointment with a librarian who has subject expertise in your major. Consider contacting Research Data Services to support your studies.
Teaching this year? www.lib.umd.edu/ues/guides/assignment
Librarians can help you develop effective assignments & learning outcomes for the classes you teach.
Interlibrary loan: www.lib.umd.edu > Services > Interlibrary Loan
You can obtain books, articles & other materials not owned by the University System of Maryland Libraries to support your research by requesting materials through Interlibrary Loan.
Borrowing privileges: www.lib.umd.edu > Services > Access, Borrow, Request
Apply for special borrowing privileges to allow you to borrow materials from other research institutions.
Book paging and branch delivery: www.lib.umd.edu/access/request-catalog
You can request a book from any of the 8 University libraries and have it delivered to the branch of your choice. Or request that a book be pulled from the shelf and pick it up at the same library!
Laptop and wireless access to the University’s network and printers: www.lib.umd.edu > Computing > Use My Laptop
Simply turn on your laptop and access the Web by logging on to the campus network with your UMD directory I.D and password. Print wirelessly to library printers too, for a small fee.
Equipment for loan: www.lib.umd.edu > Services > Equipment for Loan
Borrow laptops, tablets, e-readers, netbooks, laptop and phone chargers, headphones, and more from McKeldin Library’s TLC Tech desk (2nd floor). Bring your UMD I.D. card to borrow equipment.
Graduate Student Lounge: Terrapin Learning Commons (TLC): www.lib.umd.edu > Services > Terrapin Learning Commons
Visit the TLC on the 2nd floor of McKeldin Library. It offers, in one location, all you need to succeed: technology, services, information & a place to meet your group. The TLC also now has a plotter (a large format poster printer) for you to use. You can use it on your own, or have the staff of the Tech Desk in the TLC help you use it! The Lounge is located in MCK 2105; bring your UMD I.D card to get access.
Individual and group study rooms: www.lib.umd.edu > Services > Reserve a Room or Carrel
All campus libraries offer quiet individual and group study spaces. Ask staff to direct you to these locations.
Check out these library resources:
Eight (8) campus libraries at your service: www.lib.umd.edu > 8 Libraries
- Art Library
- Architecture Library
- Chemistry (White Memorial) Library
- Engineering & Physical Sciences Library
- Hornbake Library (i.e., Archives, Maryland Room, Nonprint Media, Special Collections)
- McKeldin Library (i.e. main library)
- Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library
- Priddy Library @ Universities at Shady Grove (located in Rockville, MD)
Libraries’ WorldCat UMD catalog: www.lib.umd.edu
Available 24/7, WorldCat UMD provides you with access to print, electronic, archival and audio/visual materials held by the campus, the 16 University System of Maryland & Allied Institutions libraries, and much more!
Research Port(al) to database: www.researchport.umd.edu
Available 24/7, this gateway provides you with access to thousands of databases and electronic journals.
Subject (research) guides: www.lib.umd.edu > Get Help > Subject Guides
Produced by librarian subject specialists, subject guides are designed to recommend the best books, articles, journals, non-print sources, websites, etc. to you to help launch your research.
Graduate Writing Center Office: www.gradwritingfellows.umd.edu
Coming to McKeldin Library in Fall 2013, Writing Fellows will be available for one-on-one consultations with graduate students in the new Graduate Student Writing Center Office, McKeldin Library, 5th floor, room 5101B.
Learn about how to …
- Get research and publishing support for your work: drum.lib.umd.edu
- Find theses & dissertation in the Libraries: lib.guides.umd.edu/MDdissertations
- Place materials on course reserves in ELMS/Canvas: www.lib.umd.edu > Services
- Learn about how the Federal Depository Program may help you: www.lib.umd.edu > Services
- Learn about maps & geographic information services: www.lib.umd.edu/mckeldin
Special & rare collections: www.lib.umd.edu/special
The University Libraries acquire, preserve, and make available special collections to promote scholarship and learning among campus, state, national, and international communities. Check them out! These include:
Archival & Manuscript Collections
Digital collections: http://digital.lib.umd.edu/
Search these collections to discover how they may inspire and support your teaching and research.
Computers, copy, print, scan: www.lib.umd.edu > Computing > Copy, Print, Scan
Library computers (PCs and Macs) are equipped with all DIT supported software. Using scanners is free. To print and make photocopies in the libraries, open a Terrapin Express Account at: terpexp.umd.edu, then use your UMD ID card to copy/print in B&W and in color.