Today: McKeldin 08:00AM - 06:00PM

Subject Specialists

University of Maryland Librarian Subject Specialists may be consulted for help in locating information in their areas of expertise, and may be available to conduct instruction sessions for university courses. Students and faculty at the Universities of Shady Grove (USG) and at University System of Maryland (USM) Institutions need to contact reference librarians at Shady Grove Library.


Subject | Specialist | College or School | Library Location

  1. A
  2. |
  3. B
  4. |
  5. C
  6. |
  7. D
  8. |
  9. E
  10. |
  11. F
  12. |
  13. G
  14. |
  15. H
  16. |
  17. I
  18. |
  19. J
  20. |
  21. K
  22. |
  23. L
  24. |
  25. M
  26. |
  27. N
  28. |
  29. O
  30. |
  31. P
  32. |
  33. Q
  34. |
  35. R
  36. |
  37. S
  38. |
  39. T
  40. |
  41. U
  42. |
  43. V
  44. |
  45. W
  46. |
  47. X
  48. |
  49. Y
  50. |
  51. Z

A

Akbar-Williams, Tahirah

Education and Information Studies Librarian

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarians / Research & Learning

301-405-9195

takbarwi@umd.edu

4109 McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Education
  • Library Science and Information Studies
  • African American Studies

Archer, Joanne

Head, Access & Outreach Services for Special Collec

Special Collections and University Archives

301-405-6319

jarcher@umd.edu

2216A Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Digital Collections

B

Barker, Andrew

Performing Arts Librarian

Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library / Research & Learning

301-314-0535

dbarker@umd.edu

2511B Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center at Maryland

Research Subjects:

  • Theatre
  • Dance
  • Performance Studies

Baykoucheva, Svetla

Chemistry and Life Sciences Librarian

STEM Libraries / Research & Learning

301-405-9080

sbaykouc@umd.edu

1526 Chemistry Building

Research Subjects:

  • Biochemistry
  • Chemistry
  • Biology
  • Entomology
  • Cell Biology and Molecular Genetics
  • Life Sciences
  • Neuroscience and Cognitive Science (NACS)
  • Behavior, Ecology, Evolution and Systematics (BEES)

Blake, Benjamin

Special Collection Librarian for Labor Studies

Special Collections and University Archives

301-405-9096

bblake12@umd.edu

2208 Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Labor and Workplace Archives

C

Corlett-Rivera, Kelsey

Head of Research Commons

Research Commons / Research & Learning

301-405-9116

kcr1@umd.edu

4119A McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • French Language and Literature
  • Germanic Studies
  • Latin American Studies
  • Portuguese Language and Literature
  • Spanish Language and Literature
  • Italian Studies

Cossard, Patricia

Art Librarian

Art Library / Research & Learning

301-405-9065

pcossard@umd.edu

2213A Parren J. Mitchell Art-Sociology Building

Research Subjects:

  • Archaeology
  • Sociology
  • Art and Art History

D

Diaz, Zaida

Interim Head, Humanities & Social Sciences

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarians / Research & Learning

301-405-9156

zdiaz@umd.edu

5101D McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Business
  • Economics

E

Eidson, Jennifer

Assistant Labor Collections Archivist

Special Collections and University Archives

301-314-1296

jeidson@umd.edu

2210 Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Labor and Workplace Archives

F

Frank, Cynthia

Architecture & Visual Resource Librarian

Architecture Library / Research & Learning

301-405-6321

cfrank@umd.edu

1102 E Architecture Building

Research Subjects:

  • Architecture
  • Real Estate Development
  • Historic Preservation
  • Urban Studies and Planning

G

Gammons, Rachel

Head, Teaching and Learning Services

Teaching and Learning Services / Research & Learning

301-405-9120

rgammons@umd.edu

4120 McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Undergraduate Studies

Griner, Lily

Business, Agricultural Economics & Economics Libn

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarians / Research & Learning

301-405-9278

griner@umd.edu

4109 McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Business
  • Economics

H

Hawk, Amanda

Athletics Archivist

Special Collections and University Archives

301-314-3287

ahawk@umd.edu

2208 Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Archives (University of Maryland)
  • Intercollegiate Athletics
  • University of Maryland History

Henry, Michael

Prog Mgmt Spec

Special Collections and University Archives

301-314-0397

mlhenry@umd.edu

3210 Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Broadcasting
  • Radio and Television

Henry, Stephen

Head, Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library

Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library / Research & Learning

301-405-9256

shenry@umd.edu

2511 Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center at Maryland

Research Subjects:

  • Ethnomusicology
  • Music
  • Music Education

Herron, Patricia

English, Latin American & Latina/o Studies, Linguistics and Second Language Acquisition

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarians / Research & Learning

301-405-9280

herron@umd.edu

5101D McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • English Language and Literature
  • Latin American Studies
  • Latina/o Studies
  • Linguistics
  • Second Language Acquisition

Howell, Chuck

Librarian for Journalism & Communication Studies

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarians / Research & Learning

301-314-0401

chuckh@umd.edu

5101 McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Journalism
  • Communication
  • Hearing and Speech Sciences
  • Philosophy

I

Inge, Lindsay

First Year Experience Librarian

Teaching and Learning Services / Research & Learning

301-405-9254

linge@umd.edu

4100A McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Undergraduate Studies

J

Jackson, Carleton

Head of Media Services

Library Media Services

301-405-9226

carleton@umd.edu

0300 Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Film Studies

K

Kohl, Amber

Coordinator

Special Collections and University Archives

301-405-9214

amberk@umd.edu

1202A Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Literary Manuscripts
  • Rare Books

L

Lindquist, Eric

History, American Studies, & Classic Librarian

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarians / Research & Learning

301-314-7266

ericl@umd.edu

5101D McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • American Studies
  • Classics
  • History
  • Asian American Studies
  • Religion
  • History of Science

Luckert, Yelena

Director, Research and Teaching

Research & Learning

301-405-9365

yluckert@umd.edu

4101 McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Israel Studies
  • Jewish Studies
  • Hebrew Language and Literature
  • Slavic Languages and Literature

M

Manildi, Donald

IPAM Curator

Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library / Research & Learning

301-405-9224

godowsky@umd.edu

2511 Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center at Maryland

Research Subjects:

  • International Piano Archives
  • Piano Music

Markowitz, Judith

Gov/Politics, Public Policy, Women's Studies Lib.

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarians / Research & Learning

301-314-1316

judym@umd.edu

4109 McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Public Policy
  • Government and Politics
  • Women's Studies
  • General Reference Collections
  • LGBT Studies

McDonald, Celina

Government Documents & Criminology Librarian

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarians / Research & Learning

301-405-3643

cnichol5@umd.edu

4109 McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Law
  • U.S. Government Publications
  • Criminology and Criminal Justice

McElrath, Douglas

Director, Special Collections & Univ Archives

Special Collections and University Archives

301-405-9210

dmcelrat@umd.edu

1202D Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Maryland Maps
  • Maryland State Publications
  • Rare Books
  • Maryland History and Politics
  • National Trust for Historic Preservation Library Collection

Miller, James

Patents and Trademarks Librarian

STEM Libraries / Research & Learning

301-405-9152

jmiller2@umd.edu

1403L William E. Kirwan Hall

Research Subjects:

  • Patents and Trademarks

Montori, Carla

Head, Preservation

Preservation

301-405-9343

cmontori@umd.edu

B0217A McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Preservation of Library and Archives Materials

N

Novara, Elizabeth

Historical Manuscripts Curator

Special Collections and University Archives

301-314-2712

enovara@umd.edu

2208C Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Maryland History and Politics
  • Maryland Maps
  • Historical Manuscripts

Novara, Vincent

Curator, Special Collections in Performing Arts

Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library / Research & Learning

301-405-9220

vnovara@umd.edu

1517B Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center at Maryland

Research Subjects:

  • Special Collections in Performing Arts
  • Jim Henson Collection

O

O'Neal, Kelley

Spatial Data & Maps Librarian

Research Commons / Research & Learning

301-405-9260

kelleyo@umd.edu

4233 McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Geography
  • GIS and Maps

R

Ritchie, Stephanie

Agriculture and Natural Resources Librarian

STEM Libraries / Research & Learning

301-405-9153

sritchie@umd.edu

1403L William E. Kirwan Hall

Research Subjects:

  • Agriculture
  • Animal and Avian Sciences
  • Landscape Architecture
  • Nutrition and Food Science
  • Plant Sciences
  • Veterinary Medicine
  • University of Maryland Extension
  • Geology
  • Environmental Sciences

S

Schnitker, Laura

Acting Curator, Mass Media & Culture

Special Collections and University Archives

301-405-9255

lschnitk@umd.edu

3210 G Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Broadcasting
  • Radio and Television

Sigman, Jessica

Stem Librarian

STEM Libraries / Research & Learning

301-405-9142

jsigman1@umd.edu

1403L William E. Kirwan Hall

Research Subjects:

  • Astronomy
  • Physics
  • Meteorology

Sly, Jordan

Psychology and Special Populations Librarian

Humanities & Social Sciences Librarians / Research & Learning

301-405-9290

jsly@umd.edu

4109 McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Psychology
  • Anthropology

Soergel, Elizabeth

EPSL Librarian

STEM Libraries / Research & Learning

301-405-9147

esoergel@umd.edu

1403 William E. Kirwan Hall

Research Subjects:

  • Aerospace Engineering
  • Bioengineering
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Fire Protection Engineering
  • Materials Science and Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Sorrell, Cynthia

Assistant Head, Collection Development

Division Head's Office

301-405-9125

csorrell@umd.edu

3100F McKeldin Library

Research Subjects:

  • Arabic Studies
  • Persian Studies

Speck, Jason

Head, Collection Management for Special Collections

Special Collections and University Archives

301-405-9297

jgspeck@umd.edu

2208C Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Intercollegiate Athletics
  • University of Maryland History

T

Tatsumi, Yukako

Curator, Prange Collection & E.Asian Studies Libn

East Asia/Prange / Special Collections and University Archives

301-314-1768

yukako@umd.edu

4200 Hornbake Library

Research Subjects:

  • Asian Languages and Cultures
  • Chinese Language and Literature
  • Japanese Language and Literature

Tchangalova, Nedelina

Physical Sciences & Public Health Librarian

STEM Libraries / Research & Learning

301-405-9151

nedelina@umd.edu

1403 William E. Kirwan Hall

Research Subjects:

  • Behavioral and Community Health
  • Environmental Health
  • Epidemiology and Biostatistics
  • Kinesiology
  • Public Health
  • Disability Studies
  • Family Science
  • Health and Medicine

Z

Zdravkovska, Nevenka

Head, STEM Libraries

STEM Libraries / Research & Learning

301-405-9144

nevenka@umd.edu

1403 William E. Kirwan Hall

Research Subjects:

  • Computer Science
  • Mathematics
  • Technical Reports
  • Marine Estuarine Environmental Science (MEES)