Today: McKeldin Open 24 hours - Campus ID required 11pm-8am

List of Databases

General Databases for East Asia Studies

Asia-Studies.com brings together thousands of full-text reports covering 53 countries on a multitude of business, government, economic, and social issues.

Section of the Asia-Studies Full-text Online database that focuses on the traditional Humanities aspects of Asian Studies: Arts, Culture, History, Language, Literature, Philosophy, Religion. Includes peer reviewed journals, peer reviewed e-journals, scholarly institutional publishers, working ...

References Western-language books, journal articles, and conference proceedings, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in Asian Studies.

CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. The consortium acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching and makes them available to member institutions through ILL.

Provides access to approximately 20,000 foreign doctoral dissertations (dissertations from universities outside the U.S. and Canada) in North American research libraries. Note that no new records are being added to this database. To view or search current dissertations, please access the CRL catalog

Provides access to over 6,000 newspaper titles published outside the United States. These materials may be borrowed from CRL through the UM Libraries' Interlibrary Loan Department.

Electronic archive of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Includes complete runs of journals with full-text of all articles published prior to the most current five years.


Databases for Chinese Studies

CAJ is the most comprehensive, full-text database of Chinese journals in the world. CAJ Series F, G, H, and J contain more than 3,200 journals. In subject areas of literature, philosophy, history, archeology, music, arts, sports, folk custom, language; politics military, and law; education etc.

PerioPtath is an online index and a periodical article delivery service. It contains the article information of approximately 2,600 titles of Chinese and Western language periodicals published in Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau from 1991.

The network includes three bibliographic databases: NBINet Union Catalog (Taiwan), Chinese Publications in China and Chinese rare books.

The system contains over 280,000 records of dissertations and theses in all subject fields. Each record includes bibliographic information as well as abstract, table of contents and reference. Quan quo bo shuo shi lun wen zi xun wang: Dissertation and Thesis Abstract System (Taiwan)

China Infobank is one of the most authoritative sources of China related information and currently comprises over 7 million business reports and articles - a figure which is increasing daily. It provides a range of economic, business, scientific and governmental data to business and research.

The comprehensive dictionary of Chinese.


Databases for Japanese Studies

Includes JITSU (Chinese character dictionary), NIKKOKU (Shogakkan Japanese language dictionary online), NIHON REKISHI CHIMEI TAIKEI Encyclopedia of Japanese historical and geographical names), KOKUSHI DAIJITEN WEB (Encyclopedia of Japanese history), WEB NIHON KINDAI BUNGAKKAN (WEB apanese modern literature), along with all the contents of the Japan Knowledge Classic, and can be searched with a single click making research easy.

Rosters of the forced interment of people of Japanese descent during World War II chart one of the darker chapters in American history.

The database covers Japanese literary works translated into other languages from 1945 to 1990s. It is searchable by author, title of work, translator or other key words in Japanese or roman letters. Short stories are listed individually by their own title rather than in the anthology.

The database covers Japanese literary works translated into other languages from 1945 to 1990s. It is searchable by author, title of work, translator or other key words in Japanese or roman letters. Short stories are listed individually by their own title rather than in the anthology.

Comprehensive directory of useful websites for Japanese Studies in the world, divided by subject categories. It gives addresses and telephone numbers of each organization.

Compiled by the publisher Koseisha, this database indexes Japanese periodical articles for the period of 1868 to the present. It also includes locally published journals from 1948 to the present not indexed by the National Diet Library of Japan. The contents of the Koseisha database are regularly updated.

Japan's Occupation Period (1945-1949) magazine/newspaper database. Article-level index to magazines and newspapers in the Gordon W. Prange Collection, University of Maryland Libraries.

Legendary movie director, Kurosawa Akira's materials can now be seen for the first time in the Kurosawa Digital Archive. Totaling 27,431 items, the archive contains scripts, production notes and photos, scenes of which are from masterpieces such as "The Seven Samurai." Ryukoku University helped to digitize the materials.


Databases for Korean Studies

DBpia provides full text databases including more than one million articles from about 2,000 Korean scholarly journals in 12 different fields of society, literature, economics & business, medical science, humanities, theology, law & administration, arts, engineering, natural science, and education.