Today: McKeldin 8:00AM - 11:00PM - Late Night Study begins Sunday 2/6

Ruth Laredo Collection

Ruth Meckler Laredo was born on November 20, 1937 in Detroit, Michigan. Following early piano studies with her mother, she continued her training with Rudolf Serkin at the Curtis Institute of Music in Philadelphia. Laredo graduated in 1960 with a Bachelor of Music degree. The same year she married Bolivian violinist Jaime Laredo. [The couple was divorced in 1974.] During the next several years both musicians made numerous joint appearances throughout the world. In 1962 Ruth Laredo made her debut in New York with the American Symphony Orchestra conducted by Leopold Stokowski. Since then she has played all over the United States with many orchestras including the National Symphony, Boston Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra and the Indianapolis Symphony. She has also played in many foreign countries, giving tours in Japan, Holland, and Germany, among others. Ruth Laredo has been a regular participant at the Marlboro Festival in Vermont, collaborating with numerous colleagues in virtually all major chamber works involving the piano. Picture of Ruth Laredo, pianist

Laredo has been particularly identified with the music of Sergei Rachmaninoff and Alexander Scriabin. She has recorded the complete solo piano works of Rachmaninoff for Columbia/CBS/Sony. As a result of these recordings, she was commissioned by C. F. Peters to edit an edition of the twenty four Rachmaninoff Preludes. She has also earned a reputation as a specialist in Scriabin, having recorded all ten of his sonatas (for Connoisseur Society) along with other smaller works, and including this music frequently on her recital programs. In addition, Ms. Laredo has made recordings of works by Ravel, Debussy, Barber, Chopin, Beethoven, Tchaikovsky and many other composers.

Laredo won several awards throughout her career including a Grammy nomination, and was chosen as one of five pianists to perform at Carnegie Hall for its 90th anniversary celebration.

Laredo died on May 25, 2005.



Here are found programs, reviews, advertisements, promotional materials and like documents that are related to specific performances of Ruth Laredo. The materials are organized chronologically by date, and span the period 1960 through 1990. This series is located in boxes 1 through 10.


Here are found reviews, advertisements and promotional materials that are related to commercial sound recordings made by Ms. Laredo. The materials are organized alphabetically by composer and are located in box 1 I.


This series consists of 119 items and is divided into three categories:

  • correspondence to Ms. Laredo  
  • outgoing correspondence from Ms. Laredo
  • miscellaneous correspondence

This series is located in box 12.


Here are found various documents that have been divided into the following subseries:

  • Subseries 1: Festivals 
  • Subseries 2: Radio and Television
  • Subseries 3: Laredo's Professional Activity
  • Subseries 4: Laredo's Writings
  • Subseries 5: Laredo's Academic Affiliations
  • Subseries 6: Unrelated Articles

This series is located in boxes 13 through 16.