National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) — The first collegiate chapter for the state of Maryland was chartered at College Park on July 7, 1975.

National Academy of Sciences — More than 20 members of the University of Maryland faculty have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences, one of the highest scientific honors given in the United States. Recent inductees include: Roberta Rudnick (Professor of Geology, 2010); Neil Gehrel (Adjunct Professor of Astronomy, 2010); Sylvester James "Jim" Gates, Jr. (Professor of Physics, 2013).

National Basketball Association (NBA) coaches — Two former Terrapins have coached in the NBA: Gene Shue, for the Baltimore and Washington Bullets, Philadelphia 76ers, San Diego and Los Angeles Clippers, and John Lucas, for the San Antonio Spurs, Philadelphia 76ers, and Cleveland Cavaliers.

Randy White

Randy White

National Football League (NFL) Hall of Fame — Two Terrapins have been inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame—Randy White (Dallas Cowboys) and Stan Jones (Chicago Bears, Washington Redskins).

National Football League (NFL) coaches — Four Terrapin players and three former University of Maryland head coaches have gone on to head coaching positions in the National Football League: players Dick Modzelewski, Dick Nolan, Mike Tice, and Ron Waller, and coaches Bobby Ross, Lou Saban, and Clark Shaughnessy.

National Humanities Medal — President Bill Clinton awarded a National Humanities Medal to art professor emeritus David C. Driskell at D.A.R. Constitution Hall on December 20, 2000. Driskell, a leading authority on African American art, taught at Maryland for over 20 years. The National Humanities Medal recognizes those who expand, support and contribute to this country's understanding of the humanities.

NATO, U.S. Ambassador to — University of Maryland faculty member Ivo Daalder was sworn in as the U.S. Ambassador to NATO on May 15, 2009. Prior to his selection as the NATO ambassdaor, Dr. Daalder taught in the UMD School of Public Policy and served as a member of President Bill Clinton's National Security Council staff from 1995 to 1996.

Navy vessel — The USS Booth is the only known U.S. Navy vessel named for a University of Maryland alumnus. The Booth, a Destroyer Escort, honors Ensign Robert Sinclair Booth (Class of 1936), the first Terp killed in World War II. Ensign Booth was aboard the USS Arizona when it was attacked and sunk at Pearl Harbor, December 7, 1941.

Neutral buoyancy tank — Facility maintained by the A. James Clark School of Engineering to conduct product testing and simulate weightless conditions in outer space. It is the only such facility on a university campus in the United States.

Diamondback Typesetter at Work
Diamondback typesetter at work

Newspaper — Students began publishing a campus newspaper in 1910. The paper was originally called the The Triangle, and it changed names several times until it became The Diamondback on June 9, 1921. The Diamondback is also part of an athletic tradition at the university. At home basketball games, students pretend to read the paper as the visiting team is introduced, then they ball up the papers and toss them down into the first few rows of seats. Current issues of the paper and its digital archive are available at Diamondback Online.

New York Film Festival — Michael Olmert, member of the Class of 1980 and lecturer at the University of Maryland, won a gold medal at the 2003 New York Film Festival for his work on the BBC production "Walking with Cavemen."

"Night - Day" — Sculpture resembling Stonehenge along the path between Holzapfel and H. J. Patterson Halls sculpted by Kenneth Campbell, art professor emeritus, who taught stone carving for fifteen years. Created in 1972, the pieces represent the various stages of "enlightenment." See Sculptures for more information about sculptures on campus.

Nobel Prize winners — Herbert A. Hauptman, who earned his Ph.D. from Maryland in 1955, was a co-recipient in chemistry in 1985; Juan Ramón Jiménez, a professor of modern languages from 1948 to 1951, received the 1956 prize in literature; Raymond Davis, Jr., who received his bachelor's and master's degrees in chemistry from the university in 1937 and 1939 respectively, was a co-recipient of the prize for physics in 2002; William Phillips—who won the Nobel Prize in 1997 for his work in atomic physics—is the first Nobel Laureate to be appointed to a full-faculty position in the history of the University of Maryland. Thomas Schelling, emeritus distinguished university professor in the Department of Economics and the School of Public Policy, won the Nobel Prize in economics in 2005 for his research in game theory.  The following year, adjunct professor John C. Mather won the Nobel Prize in physics for his measurements of cosmic background radiation immediately after the birth of the Universe; he shared the award with George F. Smoot of the University of California, Berkeley.

Nyumburu Cultural Center — Constructed in 1996 next to the Adele H. Stamp Student Union; name means "Freedom House" in Swahili. Nyumburu serves as the campus's center for black social, cultural, and intellectual interaction. The center sponsors lectures and forums, art exhibits, and instruction in dance, music, and creative writing; hosts guest artists and scholars; and publishes the Black Explosion newspaper.