Today: Michelle Smith Performing Arts CLOSED

Kronos Quartet: East Coast Premiere by Philip Glass

Thursday, October 24, 20138PM
Kay Theatre

Photograph of the Kronos QuartetTo pay tribute to the Kronos Quartet’s 40th anniversary, the Clarice Smith Performing Arts Center has co-commissioned legendary American composer Philip Glass to write a new work, String Quartet No. 6, that will be the centerpiece of this performance in its East Coast premiere.

Don't miss the MSPAL display chronicling Glass's time as a composer-in-residence with the Pittsburgh Public Schools, featuring archival materials from our Special Collections in the Performing Arts (display located in the main reading room.) For more about Kronos Quartet and Philip Glass, explore these MSPAL resources:

  • Recordings by Kronos Quartet
  • Highlights of this list include:
    Kronos Quartet Performs Philip Glass

    Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library — Paged Collections
    Call Number:
    MCD 2469
    Well known for his operas and other large-scale works, composer Philip Glass is at his most introspective in his pieces for chamber ensemble. This collection of string quartets includes several composed after Glass had already developed his signature motive-driven, motoric style and produced a significant body of work for dance, theater and film; as such, these works represent the adaptation of Glass’ representative technique to an intimate medium. Visit the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library to experience Philip Glass’ 2nd through 5th string quartets as recorded by the Kronos Quartet.

25 Years — Kronos Quartet
Location: Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library — Paged Collections
Call Number: MCD 4725
This 10-CD box set includes many legendary pieces for which this seminal chamber group is known, including almost twenty works that were composed specifically for the Kronos Quartet. Among the composers represented on this recording are Philip Glass, Morton Feldman, John Adams, Arvo Pärt, Terry Riley, Steve Reich and George Crumb, whose 1970 work Black Angels inspired violinist David Harrington to form the Kronos Quartet. 

  • Films featuring soundtracks performed by Kronos Quartet
  • Books including essays and other writings on Kronos Quartet
  • Recordings featuring the music of Philip Glass
  • Films with scores composed by Glass
  • Scores of works by Philip Glass, held in the collections of MSPAL
  • Books - writings by and about the composer
  • Don't miss Music by Philip Glass — Philip Glass, edited by Robert T. Jones
    Location: Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library — Stacks
    Call Number: ML410. G398A3 1987
    In his own words, Philip Glass describes his development as a composer from the days of his apprenticeship with Nadia Boulanger in Paris to the composition of his trio of operas, Einstein on the Beach, Satyagraha and Akhnaten. A must-read autobiography for any Philip Glass fan, Music by Philip Glass provides an intimate look at the world of opera production and gives background on some of Glass’ most well-known works from the composer’s perspective. This volume also includes a collection of photographs of Glass’ works in performance and photos and sketches from the composer’s personal collections.