Today: Michelle Smith Performing Arts CLOSED

UMD Chamber Singers: Images of the Christmas Feast

Sun, Dec 15, 20133:00PM Dekelboum Concert Hall

Evelyn Elsing, cello Mark Hill, oboe Kenneth Slowik and Edward Maclary, conductors

This performance is part of the 2013-2014 Music in Mind series.

Members of the UMD Chamber Singers in performance.The UMD Chamber Singers celebrates the sounds of the season with a program entitled Images of the Christmas Feast. Christmas story has a rich history of images and associations that have evolved through the ages. Celebrating this heritage with a selection of works by composers from the Middle Ages to the present, this Music in Mind concert for choir and orchestra explores the commonalities of “light” in Jewish and Christian celebrations of the season with music of Ernst Bloch, Aaron Copland and Arcangelo Corelli (from the “Christmas Concerto”).

Images of Mary and the infant and Jesus in our literary and musical history appear in works of Claudio Monteverdi, Hugo Distler and Francis Poulenc, as well as J.S. Bach’s beloved “Wachet auf” (“Sleepers wake”) cantata, a work with deep metaphorical connections to the season of Advent.

The Music in Mind series celebrates the role of music in our culture and our lives, explores sources of inspiration and points of intersection in musical traditions, and presents music in a context that encourages reflection and discovery.

Learn more about the pieces and composers featured on this program in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library:

Giovanni Bassano, arr. Robert Gibson - "Hodie Christus Natus Est: from Concerti Ecclesiastici, Libro Secondo
UMD Chamber Singers and Orchestra

Johann Sebastian Bach - Sinfonia BWV 156
Mark Hill, oboe

Ernst Bloch - Prayer
Evelyn Elsing, cello
String Orchestra

Michael Praetorius - Es ist ein Ros entsprungen

Hugo Distler - "Es ist ein Ros entsprungen" from The Christmas Story, Op. 10

Anton Bruckner - Ave Maria

Claudio Monteverdi - "Ave maris stella," Vespers of 1610

Robert Gibson - Ave maris stella
UMD Chamber Singers

Federico Mompou, arr. Robert Gibson - "Lento" (VII) from Musica Callada (Silent Music), Book I (for piano)

Arcangelo Corelli - Concerto Grosso, Op. 6, No. 8 in G minor
String Orchestra

Johann Sebastian Bach - Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme BWV 140
Amy Broadbent, soprano
Jack Colver, tenor
Bryan Vanck, bass
UMD Chamber Singers and Orchestra

Don't miss recordings by UMD faculty artists, held in the collections of MSPAL:

Mark Hill, oboe
Evelyn Elsing
, cello
Kenneth Slowik
, cello and viola da gamba
Edward Maclary
, conductor
Robert Gibson, composer: recordings and scores