Today: Michelle Smith Performing Arts CLOSED

UMDSO: Pathetique

Friday, December 6, 20138:00PM
Dekelboum Concert Hall

Music Director James Ross
Guest conductor John Devlin
Clarinet Emily Robinson

UMDSO in performance.The UMD Symphony Orchestra welcomes clarinetist and second-prize winner of the 2012 UMDSO Concerto Competition Emily Robinson to join them for a program entitled “Pathetique”. Ms. Robinson will perform Aaron Copland's Clarinet Concerto, and the UMDSO will round out the concert with renditions of Schubert's String Quartet in D minor, "Death and the Maiden," and Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 6, "“Pathetique.” Learn more about the pieces and composers featured on this program in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library:

Franz Schubert - String Quartet in D minor, "Death and the Maiden," D.810

Aaron Copland - Concerto for Clarinet and String Orchestra

  • Recordings
  • Scores
  • Books: A must-read for fans of Copland's clarinet concerto is Michael Steinberg's The Concerto: A Listener’s Guide (Location: Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library — Stacks, Call Number: ML1263 .S74 1998.)  For anyone with an interest in learning about the evolution of the concerto, Steinberg’s study of over 120 works in the genre is an excellent resource. This book explores the standard repertory, ranging from Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos of the 1720s to John Adams’ 1994 concerto for violin. This survey includes 18 of Mozart’s piano concerti, all of the concerti by Beethoven and Brahms, as well as major works by Mendelssohn, Schumann, Liszt, Rachmaninoff, Bartok, Stravinsky and many others. Of special interest is the section devoted to Copland’s concerto for clarinet, in which Steinberg examines the historical and personal contexts that surround the composition of this expressive and dramatic work.

Pyotr Il′yich Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 6 in B minor, "Pathetique," Op. 74

  • Recordings: Don't miss Peter Tchaikovsky, a recording featuring the Berliner Philharmoniker, conducted by Mstislav Rostropovich, and Leonard Bernstein leading the New York Philharmonic (Location: Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library — Paged Collections Room, Call Number: MCD 11829.) This Deutsche Grammophon release includes The Nutcracker Suite, Symphony No. 5, Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture, and Symphony No. 6, ‘Pathétique’, performed by the Berliner Philharmoniker and the New York Philharmonic. World-renowned conductors Mstislav Rostropovich and Leonard Bernstein lead these top-tier orchestras in performances that are moving and unforgettable. This recording is accompanied by a set of liner notes in English with German and French translations, penned by Kenneth Chalmers.
  • Scores
  • Books: a highlight of this list is Tchaikovsky, Symphony No. 6, (Pathétique) by Timothy L. Jackson (Location: Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library — Stacks, Call Number: ML410.C4 J33 1999.) Both the casual fan and the music aficionado will find this slim volume to be an excellent introduction to Tchaikovsky’s sixth and final symphony. Jackson covers a variety of topics related to this work, including chapters devoted to the background of the symphony and its early reception, an exploration of form and large-scale harmony, a look at the compositional genesis of and relationship between the Six Romances, Op. 73 and the Pathétique symphony, and the author’s hypothesis on the programmatic elements of the work. A must-read for any Tchaikovsky fan!

Streaming Audio: Listen to a playlist featuring pieces on this program, streaming through the Naxos Music Library database (accessible with your UMD username and password.)