Today: Michelle Smith Performing Arts CLOSED

University of Maryland Symphony Orchestra: Pictures at an Exhibition

Friday, October 10, 2014
8:00 PM
Dekelboum Concert Hall

Larissa Dedov, piano
Jose-Luis Novo, guest conductor

UMDSO in performance.The UMD Symphony Orchestra opens its season with Ravel’s arrangement of Pictures at an Exhibition. Originally written as a suite for piano by Modest Mussorgsky, Ravel’s masterful orchestration adds an aural dimension to the ten watercolors and drawings that are depicted in the work. UMD faculty artist Larissa Dedova joins UMSO to give the world premiere of faculty composer Mark Wilson’s Concerto for Piano and Orchestra. Of his work, Wilson says:

"Each movement is engaged in its own dramatic narrative and each is dedicated to a person that I have deeply loved. Although the piece employs classical proportions, it departs from most traditional approaches to the concerto medium in that solo and accompaniment roles are constantly shifting between the orchestra and the piano."

Visit the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library to learn more about the pieces, composers, performers, and themes featured on this program. (Please note, our streaming eMusic and eVideo collections are accessible 24/7 from anywhere in the world with a valid UMD directory ID and password.)

 Maurice Ravel's orchestration of Modest Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition

Interested in Mussorgsky's original piano setting?

And don't miss: