Today: McKeldin Open 24 Hours
Campus ID Required 11pm-8am

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra with Gabriel Kahane - Gabriel's Guide to the 48 States

Saturday, April 20, 2013
8:00 pm
Dekelboum Concert Hall

Photo of members of the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra2011-2012 UMD School of Music Artists-in-Residence Orpheus Chamber Orchestra return to the stage of the Clarice Smith Center to perform new works by composer Gabriel Kahane. Classically trained but with modern pop-folk influences, Kahane is Orpheus Chamber Orchestra's first Composer-in-Residence. This performance will feature a new work entitled Gabriel's Guide to the 48 States, as well as a performance of Arnold Schoenberg's Transfigured Night, op. 4. Learn more about the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Gabriel Kahane, and Arnold Schoenberg in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library:

Gabriel Kahane

Arnold Schoenberg - Verklärte Nacht ('Transfigured Night'), op. 4

  • Recordings
  • Scores
  • Books - Explore critical commentary on Schoenberg's Transfigured Night and learn about Schoenberg's life and works.

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra

  • Recordings by the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, held in the collections of the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library 
  • Books - Read more about this conductor-less orchestra and their rise to popularity.

Streaming Audio:

Listen to recordings of Schoenberg's Transfigured Night and works by Gabriel Kahane through Naxos Music Library and Alexander Street Press's Classical Music Library.