Today: Michelle Smith Performing Arts 09:00AM - 05:00PM

Beethoven's Archduke

Beethovens Archduke, Saturday, February 21, 2015, 8PM, Gildenhorn Recital Hall

Saturday, February 21, 2015
8:00 pm
Gildenhorn Recital Hall

Violin David Salness
Cello Evelyn Elsing
Piano Mayron Tsong

Faculty artists David Salness and Mayron Tsong, as well as former School of Music cello professor Evelyn Elsing, come together to perform chamber music by Beethoven and Brahms.

In keeping with the superior quality of all those works he dedicated to his royal patron, Beethoven's Archduke Trio reigns supreme: this was Beethoven's finest effort for piano and strings, and arguably the greatest piano trio in the literature.

Written in 1882 when Brahms was 49 years old, the Piano Trio No. 2 in C Major, Op. 87 is a mature work that might effectively be regarded as Brahms’ first unequivocal masterpiece for the piano trio.

Learn more about the pieces, composers and performers featured on this program in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library:

Ludwig van Beethoven - Archduke Trio

Johannes Brahms - Piano Trio No. 2 in C Major, Op. 87

Don't miss these recordings by violinist David Salness, cellist Evelyn Elsing, and pianist Mayron Tsong!