Today: Michelle Smith Performing Arts 09:00AM - 05:00PM

University of Maryland Repetoire Orchestra: Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4

Tchaikovsky’s Fourth Symphony is one of the most famous and frequently performed pieces in the symphonic canon. Driven by a search for happiness while constantly struggling with Fate’s obstruction of the path, Tchaikovsky wrote that his fourth was a reflection on Beethoven’s Fifth Symphony. Join UMRO on their third concert of the season as they perform Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 4 in F Minor.

This concert also features three symphonic works by the American composer Charles Griffes: The White Peacock, Bacchanale and Clouds, as well as a performance of Sibelius’s Finlandia in honor of the composer’s 150th birthday. Learn more about these works and their composers in the Michelle Smith Performing Arts Library:

Pytor Ilyich Tchaikovsky - Symphony No. 4, Op. 36

Charles Griffes - The White Peacock

Charles Griffes - Bacchanale

Charles Griffes - Clouds

Jean Sibelius - Finlandia